The Corsair User Forums  

Go Back   The Corsair User Forums > Corsair Product Discussion > Cooling

Notices

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Rate Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 11-09-2019, 06:30 PM
Discunnaye Discunnaye is offline
Registered User
Discunnaye's PC Specs
 
Join Date: Nov 2019
Location: Australia
Posts: 5
POST ID # = 1023496
Discunnaye Reputation: 10
Important LL120 Fans - Lighting Animations frozen on certain fans.

I bought the Light loop series fans and attempted to use them in conjunction with some of my previous corsair fans. I quickly discovered that this was not going to work as the fans on the fan hub needed to be the same type.

I recently purchased more light light fans and now have a total of 6 Light Loop Fans. The fans work as intended upon startup and then after a while the animation selected gets "stuck" on certain fans. The animation will freeze and the solid colour it got stuck on will not change no matter what animation I choose. Only restarting the PC fixes this. It is not unique to 1 fan the issue occurs randomly on all fans. Most of the time on all 5 fans except slot 1. sometimes only 1/10 of 1 fan is affected and the rest of the fan continues the animation. ( see attached picture most fans stuck on blue )

I have a similar issue before I got all 6 light loop fans but assumed that this was a incompatibility issue. issue is still persisting after purchasing additional light loop fans. Since purchasing more Light Loop Fans I have clean installed windows. Never installed Corsair Link ( or any other lighting program asus, msi, etc.) Installed the fans and clean installed iCue software and updated the firmware on my Lighting node Pro.

Please let me know if you have any suggestions i would really like the full lighting effects of these fans to work as I spent a bit of time and money getting them.
Attached Images
File Type: jpg IMG_1047.jpg (2.05 MB, 14 views)

Last edited by Discunnaye; 11-09-2019 at 11:30 PM.
Reply With Quote


  #2  
Old 11-10-2019, 12:05 AM
DevBiker's Avatar
DevBiker DevBiker is offline
CORSAIR Beta Team
DevBiker's PC Specs
 
Join Date: Feb 2017
Location: Republic of Texas
Posts: 7,854
POST ID # = 1023515
DevBiker Reputation: 88
Default

This is usually caused by a loss of control signal. What I'd suggest is rearranging the fans on the hub. In particular, it could be fan #1 or fan #2 - the control signal is chained from one fan to the next so 1 bad fan can take the rest out.
__________________
Please click "Edit System Specs" and fill out your system info.

This comment is provided "as-is", without warranty of any kind, express or implied, including, but not limited to, the sanity or mental fitness of the author. The author is not a Corsair employee, does not represent Corsair, and no comment should be construed as an official statement from Corsair.

Helpful Links and FAQs:
AIO FAQ | RGB FAQ |
HydroX FAQ | RGB Cables |
iCUE Tips & Tricks

Reply With Quote


  #3  
Old 11-10-2019, 12:39 AM
Discunnaye Discunnaye is offline
Registered User
Discunnaye's PC Specs
 
Join Date: Nov 2019
Location: Australia
Posts: 5
POST ID # = 1023516
Discunnaye Reputation: 10
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by DevBiker View Post
This is usually caused by a loss of control signal. What I'd suggest is rearranging the fans on the hub. In particular, it could be fan #1 or fan #2 - the control signal is chained from one fan to the next so 1 bad fan can take the rest out.
Ok i understand. currently fan number 6 is stuck on the rest of the fans are operating as per normal. what would be the best way to trouble shoot which fan is failing. as readjusting nodes 1 and 2 would not really resolve the issue with fan 6. i also have a spare node pro and 6 port fan hub. do you suggest i replace these or are you adamant that the fans are the root cause?
Reply With Quote


  #4  
Old 11-10-2019, 01:29 AM
DevBiker's Avatar
DevBiker DevBiker is offline
CORSAIR Beta Team
DevBiker's PC Specs
 
Join Date: Feb 2017
Location: Republic of Texas
Posts: 7,854
POST ID # = 1023517
DevBiker Reputation: 88
Default

Ah, it's fan 6? I thought it was all of them; must've misread.
So ... swap fan 6 with fan 5. If it's the fan, then both fan 5 and 6 will hang.

And no, not adamant, not yet. Strongly suspect the fan would be more accurate.
__________________
Please click "Edit System Specs" and fill out your system info.

This comment is provided "as-is", without warranty of any kind, express or implied, including, but not limited to, the sanity or mental fitness of the author. The author is not a Corsair employee, does not represent Corsair, and no comment should be construed as an official statement from Corsair.

Helpful Links and FAQs:
AIO FAQ | RGB FAQ |
HydroX FAQ | RGB Cables |
iCUE Tips & Tricks

Reply With Quote


  #5  
Old 11-10-2019, 01:35 AM
Discunnaye Discunnaye is offline
Registered User
Discunnaye's PC Specs
 
Join Date: Nov 2019
Location: Australia
Posts: 5
POST ID # = 1023518
Discunnaye Reputation: 10
Default

I can try that. yeah the issue is not consistent to any particular fan. sometimes its 2 through 5. sometimes its 6 only. other times its the bottom half of 3 and the top half of 3 functions as expected. I will go ahead and swap 5 and 6. Because 6 seems to be the most consistent issue.

EDIT.

Swapping fan port 5 and 6. the second last fan which is now in port 6 has no lights at all. and the one on port 5 is frozen.

Last edited by Discunnaye; 11-10-2019 at 01:43 AM.
Reply With Quote


  #6  
Old 11-10-2019, 01:57 AM
Discunnaye Discunnaye is offline
Registered User
Discunnaye's PC Specs
 
Join Date: Nov 2019
Location: Australia
Posts: 5
POST ID # = 1023520
Discunnaye Reputation: 10
Default

Well after coming to the conclusion that fan 6 was the issue. i removed fan six and did not plug it in. The result i now only have fans 2 and 3 working with lighting and the original issue still persists. the animation is stuck on only 1/3 of fan 3 will update the animation. I find it very hard to believe that 2 or more of my fans are faulty. what are your thoughts?

Edit
Are earlier build light loop fans incompatible with newer build fans. The purchases were 8 months apart for the newer fans?

Last edited by Discunnaye; 11-10-2019 at 06:02 AM.
Reply With Quote


  #7  
Old 11-10-2019, 04:25 PM
DevBiker's Avatar
DevBiker DevBiker is offline
CORSAIR Beta Team
DevBiker's PC Specs
 
Join Date: Feb 2017
Location: Republic of Texas
Posts: 7,854
POST ID # = 1023565
DevBiker Reputation: 88
Default

So ... did you hot swap the fans? Personally, I've never had it happen but the Corsair folks have indicated that it could cause issues.
But let's look at this. Now that you've removed fan 6, how is iCUE configured? What happens if you reconfigure it for 6 LL Fans?

And no, earlier build shouldn't be any different than newer ones.
__________________
Please click "Edit System Specs" and fill out your system info.

This comment is provided "as-is", without warranty of any kind, express or implied, including, but not limited to, the sanity or mental fitness of the author. The author is not a Corsair employee, does not represent Corsair, and no comment should be construed as an official statement from Corsair.

Helpful Links and FAQs:
AIO FAQ | RGB FAQ |
HydroX FAQ | RGB Cables |
iCUE Tips & Tricks

Reply With Quote


  #8  
Old 11-10-2019, 05:03 PM
Discunnaye Discunnaye is offline
Registered User
Discunnaye's PC Specs
 
Join Date: Nov 2019
Location: Australia
Posts: 5
POST ID # = 1023567
Discunnaye Reputation: 10
Default

Yes At this time I am only moving the Positions in the fan hub not physically moving the fans themselves. I also replaced the fan hub out of curiosity as you suspected issue still persists.

Yeah i reconfigured iCue software each time for the appropriate amount of fans and even restarted but the animations were still stuck and certain fans were not working.

Yes I did swap 5 and 6 and as stated I lost lighting to fans 1,4,5 and 6. Which led me to believe that 5 and 6 were not the issue.

Thank you for confirming that the fans are compatible.

I did more troubleshooting and in the end I have taken out both Fans 1 and 2 and removed these from the Hub all together. As unlikely as it sounds I believe both of them to be faulty as I was having issues with them the second they were introduced.

So to be absolutely sure I am going to verify that I do not receive any faults for several days with the 4 fans running as is.

Last question I have is technically if I put the faulty fan at the back of the chain it shouldn't affect the rest right only that fan at the back should have issue right?
Reply With Quote


Reply

Tags
fans, issue, light loop, support

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 07:05 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2019, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.