The Corsair User Forums  

Go Back   The Corsair User Forums > Corsair Product Discussion > Cases

Notices

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Rate Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 08-22-2019, 04:56 PM
ozzpoz ozzpoz is offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Aug 2019
Posts: 8
POST ID # = 1015428
ozzpoz Reputation: 10
Default Some 220T advise please.

Hi. I'm looking for a bit of advise , I'm planning on a build using the Corsair icue 220t , Corsair vengeance pro rgb RAM and a hydro H100i 240 AiO, Asus Rog strix B540 gaming F motherboard. I'm also using a gigabyte 2070 super which is 286.5mm long. Can you confirm if there is enough clearance to fit the AiO either at the front or the top. I obviously don't want it hitting the GPU or RAM. If not could you tell me what the max GPU length is with a AiO is fitted. Or alternative mounting or components for example would the hydro 120mm fit on the back. Or just forget about a AiO and use the stock prism . Thank you.
Reply With Quote


  #2  
Old 08-22-2019, 07:46 PM
c-attack c-attack is online now
Registered User
c-attack's PC Specs
 
Join Date: Jun 2014
Posts: 9,626
POST ID # = 1015443
c-attack c-attack Reputation: 107
Default

I think the top is a risk. The 220T is like a lot of recent cases -- a mid tower with a shallow top. Others have reported RAM collisions with taller modules like Vengeance Pro or certainly Dominators. I think the motherboard top ATX 4/8 plug and VRM heat shield are probably even more insurmountable.

I don't see a lot of argument against front mounting in a case with no drives to block flow and a clear exit path right out the top. The product page has an illustration of this and a 240 or 360mm radiator would be a good choice. Putting a 120mm in the rear slot if likely to be substantially less successful, both in drastically reducing radiator surface area and putting in in the path of the GPU waste heat (rear exhaust). Best results are going to be front intake.

Now the real trick is max GPU length is listed at 300mm, but presumably this includes fans only. Less 30mm for the radiator puts it at 270mm and there is the quaundry indeed. Unfortunately, I don't always trust the maximum GPU length listed. What we really need here is a 220T owner to take a measurement. Hopefully a few will see this.
Reply With Quote


  #3  
Old 08-23-2019, 07:26 PM
Sheatyy Sheatyy is offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Aug 2019
Posts: 1
POST ID # = 1015519
Sheatyy Reputation: 10
Default

Hello,
i've done alot of research and watched every case build & video/picture of this case. unfortunately the RGB pro RAM will NOT fit up top with the AIO. your Ram should be 34MM high or less to fit (the RGB pro ram is 54MM high. i went with the white Corsair Vengeance LPX 32gb instead of the RGB pro and i'll be building about 2 weeks from now. hope this helps! it sucks but everything else in my build is RGB and the Low profile LPX ram i got is white so it should match fine plus it was a little cheaper.
Reply With Quote


  #4  
Old 09-17-2019, 06:14 AM
ozzpoz ozzpoz is offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Aug 2019
Posts: 8
POST ID # = 1018436
ozzpoz Reputation: 10
Default

for anyone interested, the GPU fit, just, but i think it looks good, works well and temps are all very low .
Attached Images
File Type: jpg pc1.jpg (2.68 MB, 255 views)
File Type: jpg pc2.jpg (3.25 MB, 283 views)
Reply With Quote


  #5  
Old 10-30-2019, 09:14 AM
Vodkabeef Vodkabeef is offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Oct 2019
Posts: 1
POST ID # = 1022703
Vodkabeef Reputation: 10
Default

Hello ozzpoz, it turned out that it fit alright, how much space left for gpu? because i will be doing the same build at i wanted to put the Gigabyte aorus 2080 which is 290mm length do you think it will fit?
Reply With Quote


  #6  
Old 10-30-2019, 06:40 PM
ozzpoz ozzpoz is offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Aug 2019
Posts: 8
POST ID # = 1022742
ozzpoz Reputation: 10
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Vodkabeef View Post
Hello ozzpoz, it turned out that it fit alright, how much space left for gpu? because i will be doing the same build at i wanted to put the Gigabyte aorus 2080 which is 290mm length do you think it will fit?

Hi. I used the gigabyte 2070 super which is 286.5mm, and it only just fit. I wouldn't go any bigger than that. The 2080 at 290mm will touch the rad. . You could put the rad on the top, but that would depend on the motherboard and ram your using. Hope that helps.
Reply With Quote


  #7  
Old 11-14-2019, 04:22 AM
lkl24 lkl24 is offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Nov 2019
Posts: 2
POST ID # = 1023879
lkl24 Reputation: 10
Default

Hi there, can the 30.5cm gpu fit in this case? Although the corsair website said the max GPU length is 30cm, it seem like there still have some space if i doesn't use liquid cooling, from your photos. Thank you!
Reply With Quote


  #8  
Old 11-14-2019, 04:54 AM
ozzpoz ozzpoz is offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Aug 2019
Posts: 8
POST ID # = 1023881
ozzpoz Reputation: 10
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by lkl24 View Post
Hi there, can the 30.5cm gpu fit in this case? Although the corsair website said the max GPU length is 30cm, it seem like there still have some space if i doesn't use liquid cooling, from your photos. Thank you!
Hi. Without the radiator you'll gain enough room. I can double check when I get home this evening what the max length is without a rad. . When I emailed Corsair about the max GPU length they said the 300mm max was with a radiator installed. Although I think it's a bit smaller than that unless my rad is thicker than some others.
Reply With Quote


  #9  
Old 11-15-2019, 06:00 AM
lkl24 lkl24 is offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Nov 2019
Posts: 2
POST ID # = 1023985
lkl24 Reputation: 10
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by ozzpoz View Post
Hi. Without the radiator you'll gain enough room. I can double check when I get home this evening what the max length is without a rad. . When I emailed Corsair about the max GPU length they said the 300mm max was with a radiator installed. Although I think it's a bit smaller than that unless my rad is thicker than some others.
Thank you dude!
Reply With Quote


  #10  
Old 11-15-2019, 07:01 PM
ozzpoz ozzpoz is offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Aug 2019
Posts: 8
POST ID # = 1024062
ozzpoz Reputation: 10
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by lkl24 View Post
Thank you dude!
Hi. I've had a look tonight, . My Rad is 25mm wide and specs list my GPU is 286.5mm.. so that's 311.5mm . If you include the small gap in-between my rad and GPU that makes the max about 313mm.

I can't get in fully with a rule or tape to measure the space but it does look less than my specs say.
And without taking my GPU out to see if the sizes in the specs are correct I couldn't guarantee your GPU would fit.
To be on the safe side of things I'd probably stay under the listed 300mm max.

Sorry I can't be more help.
Reply With Quote


Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 07:13 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2019, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.