The Corsair User Forums  

Go Back   The Corsair User Forums > Corsair Product Discussion > iCUE Software

Notices

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Rate Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 11-09-2019, 11:00 AM
Aescleal Aescleal is offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Nov 2019
Posts: 8
POST ID # = 1023469
Aescleal Reputation: 10
Default iCue doesn't detect

Hi, I bought a new Corsair CL-9011110-WW Fan Controller Commander Pro Temperature Monitor. Hopes are it will control my out-of-control case and cpu fans.
Plugged in, it slows things down nicely, but it's not variable speed at all. Turns out, I can't seem to get connected to the Fan Controller at all.

Seems the iCue software can't connect to it maybe?

I have two USB headers on my motherboard. They are 8-pin headers (rare I know).
Is there a way to get this working? Or did I just through my money away? This was such a great idea, until I put eyes on the usb plug on the fan controller.

(( sorry if I'm posting in the wrong place, please redirect me if necessary ))

Last edited by Aescleal; 11-09-2019 at 11:51 AM.
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 11-09-2019, 12:34 PM
DevBiker's Avatar
DevBiker DevBiker is offline
CORSAIR Beta Team
DevBiker's PC Specs
 
Join Date: Feb 2017
Location: Republic of Texas
Posts: 7,874
POST ID # = 1023472
DevBiker Reputation: 88
Default

What motherboard do you have?
__________________
Please click "Edit System Specs" and fill out your system info.

This comment is provided "as-is", without warranty of any kind, express or implied, including, but not limited to, the sanity or mental fitness of the author. The author is not a Corsair employee, does not represent Corsair, and no comment should be construed as an official statement from Corsair.

Helpful Links and FAQs:
AIO FAQ | RGB FAQ |
HydroX FAQ | RGB Cables |
iCUE Tips & Tricks

Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 11-09-2019, 02:20 PM
Aescleal Aescleal is offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Nov 2019
Posts: 8
POST ID # = 1023478
Aescleal Reputation: 10
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by DevBiker View Post
What motherboard do you have?
Hi DevBiker.
It's an older board that I inherited, and didn't know much about.
IEI, KINO-QM670-R20
https://www.icpamerica.com/uploads/p..._UMN_v1.00.pdf Page 38 - USB Connector Pinout Location
I've always used it as a home server, great for Plex and file server, but after updating the BIOS (big mistake), the PWM fan control stopped working. And since it's an old discontinued board... no support. And yes, I did walk back the BIOS, but it didn't help. That's why I chose to get a fan controller, and this one sounds great. The controller was meant to buy me a couple more years before I have to upgrade to a new motherboard.
I didn't realize how proprietary this motherboard is. I inherited it...

Last edited by Aescleal; 11-09-2019 at 02:49 PM.
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 11-10-2019, 10:34 PM
Aescleal Aescleal is offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Nov 2019
Posts: 8
POST ID # = 1023590
Aescleal Reputation: 10
Default

Ugh, I'm at wits end. Sorry.
Is there maybe a 9-pin (male) to usb cable that may work for this? Is it even possible to just plug the usb end into a normal usb port and make it work, or does it have to be plugged into the header? This board has a couple each usb 2.0 and 3.0 ports.
At first, I thought maybe there was a hardware reason it had to be plugged into the header, but now I'm thinking it was because it's meant to be housed internally. It would be nice, at least in my case, if I could house it externally and plug it into one of my usb ports.
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 11-11-2019, 12:53 AM
DevBiker's Avatar
DevBiker DevBiker is offline
CORSAIR Beta Team
DevBiker's PC Specs
 
Join Date: Feb 2017
Location: Republic of Texas
Posts: 7,874
POST ID # = 1023595
DevBiker Reputation: 88
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Aescleal View Post
Ugh, I'm at wits end. Sorry.
Is there maybe a 9-pin (male) to usb cable that may work for this? Is it even possible to just plug the usb end into a normal usb port and make it work, or does it have to be plugged into the header? This board has a couple each usb 2.0 and 3.0 ports.
At first, I thought maybe there was a hardware reason it had to be plugged into the header, but now I'm thinking it was because it's meant to be housed internally. It would be nice, at least in my case, if I could house it externally and plug it into one of my usb ports.
You can; you'd need an adapter. The CoPro actually uses 2 USB ports (the full header). One of them is for the controller part of the device and the other one is for the second USB Hub. If you aren't interested in the hub, then you really only need a single port.
__________________
Please click "Edit System Specs" and fill out your system info.

This comment is provided "as-is", without warranty of any kind, express or implied, including, but not limited to, the sanity or mental fitness of the author. The author is not a Corsair employee, does not represent Corsair, and no comment should be construed as an official statement from Corsair.

Helpful Links and FAQs:
AIO FAQ | RGB FAQ |
HydroX FAQ | RGB Cables |
iCUE Tips & Tricks

Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 11-11-2019, 05:36 PM
Aescleal Aescleal is offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Nov 2019
Posts: 8
POST ID # = 1023659
Aescleal Reputation: 10
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by DevBiker View Post
You can; you'd need an adapter. The CoPro actually uses 2 USB ports (the full header). One of them is for the controller part of the device and the other one is for the second USB Hub. If you aren't interested in the hub, then you really only need a single port.
Hi @DevBiker. Can you show me what a CoPro is? I don't find anything like a USB adapter by that name from Google.

Would this work? https://www.amazon.com/gp/product/B0...L3FGVKZE&psc=1

I'm hoping if I plug the header end into the iCue Fan Controller and the USB A end into a USB 2.0 port, the Fan Controller will be visible and I'll be able to manage the Fan Controller.

You see, as is right now, I can't manage the Controller, presumable because the USB header isn't able to read any feedback from the Fan Controller over the 8-pin header. I'm worried that buying yet another "thing" that doesn't work is just pouring more money into a failed project. But if Windows 10 can read the Fan Controller through the USB 2.0 port on the back of my computer, then maybe it'll be okay.
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 11-11-2019, 05:48 PM
c-attack c-attack is offline
Registered User
c-attack's PC Specs
 
Join Date: Jun 2014
Posts: 9,645
POST ID # = 1023661
c-attack c-attack Reputation: 107
Default

That one should work and I use that exact cable to connect my AX1200i to the back instead of to the Commander Pro and so I can quickly disconnect/connect it for other reasons.

CoPro is an inferior short-hand reference to the Commander Pro. It lacks both the sophistication and elegance of "C-Pro" used by those with higher reputations. This is just one more example of why those who use it should switch.
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 11-11-2019, 07:38 PM
Aescleal Aescleal is offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Nov 2019
Posts: 8
POST ID # = 1023674
Aescleal Reputation: 10
Default

Great, thanks DevBiker and c-attack!

Okay, so let me get this right.
I'd plug the USB header plug from the Commander Pro into this new cable https://www.amazon.com/gp/product/B0...L3FGVKZE&psc=1
Then, that can be plugged into any USB 2.0 A port on my computer case.

Please Please Please correct me if I'm wrong here than....
This will in-turn allow Windows to recognize the Commander Pro as a device, and I can then manage the Commander Pro and set my own fan speeds to each fan plugged into the CoPro?
That'd be great, and sounds like what I'm looking for.
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 11-11-2019, 07:49 PM
c-attack c-attack is offline
Registered User
c-attack's PC Specs
 
Join Date: Jun 2014
Posts: 9,645
POST ID # = 1023675
c-attack c-attack Reputation: 107
Default

Yes, that will allow you to plug it into any Type A port. The 9 pin thing can be a little confusing. Make sure you line up the red wires on each end when you connect them. Hard to see in the pictures. Much easier when in your hands.

Hopefully this gets the device recognized. It's hard to know why it is not currently, but internal hubs can be finicky.

Once recognized, you should have individual control over the fans from within iCUE.
Reply With Quote
  #10  
Old 11-11-2019, 08:24 PM
Aescleal Aescleal is offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Nov 2019
Posts: 8
POST ID # = 1023682
Aescleal Reputation: 10
Default

Best news all day thanks (to both of you)!
I just ordered the cable.
:)
Reply With Quote
  #11  
Old 11-24-2019, 09:18 PM
Aescleal Aescleal is offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Nov 2019
Posts: 8
POST ID # = 1025082
Aescleal Reputation: 10
Default

So, this totally works. Awesome news. 100% worth the wait.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 01:08 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2019, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.