The Corsair User Forums  

Go Back   The Corsair User Forums > Corsair Enthusiasts Section > System Builds, Modding, Custom Components, and Picture Gallery

Notices

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 10-29-2019, 03:00 PM
StellaMan StellaMan is offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jan 2017
Posts: 7
POST ID # = 1022643
StellaMan Reputation: 10
Default Self Build starts 3 times before staying on, but with no video

I have a self-build PC here (not built by me) that is performing very strangely. When it is turned on it starts up, everything turns and fans spin, but then it shuts down and the last code that I can see is 39, though I suspect there may be another that flashes quickly. It then goes throught the exact same process and shuts down with a code 39 again, but on the third boot, it stays on, however, there is nothing displayed on the screen and the Motherboard is showing a code 18 ... any ideas very welcome, please !!!

The MB is an ASUS ROG Maximus XI Hero Z390, I have removed the GEFORCE RTX2080 video card and gone to on-board graphics but it's made no difference.

Last edited by StellaMan; 10-30-2019 at 07:24 AM. Reason: To add specs
Reply With Quote


  #2  
Old 10-30-2019, 12:12 AM
DevBiker's Avatar
DevBiker DevBiker is offline
CORSAIR Beta Team
DevBiker's PC Specs
 
Join Date: Feb 2017
Location: Republic of Texas
Posts: 7,845
POST ID # = 1022682
DevBiker Reputation: 88
Default

Those codes are specific to your BIOS and motherboard. Without that information there's nothing that we can do. And we'd do what you could do yourself - look in the manual. They should have a list of debug codes there. If not, contact the motherboard vendor for support.
__________________
Please click "Edit System Specs" and fill out your system info.

This comment is provided "as-is", without warranty of any kind, express or implied, including, but not limited to, the sanity or mental fitness of the author. The author is not a Corsair employee, does not represent Corsair, and no comment should be construed as an official statement from Corsair.

Helpful Links and FAQs:
AIO FAQ | RGB FAQ |
HydroX FAQ | RGB Cables |
iCUE Tips & Tricks

Reply With Quote


  #3  
Old 10-30-2019, 07:22 AM
StellaMan StellaMan is offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jan 2017
Posts: 7
POST ID # = 1022698
StellaMan Reputation: 10
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by DevBiker View Post
Those codes are specific to your BIOS and motherboard. Without that information there's nothing that we can do. And we'd do what you could do yourself - look in the manual. They should have a list of debug codes there. If not, contact the motherboard vendor for support.
Fair point !!! Will update specs ...
Reply With Quote


  #4  
Old 10-30-2019, 12:44 PM
JonKrmr JonKrmr is offline
Registered User
JonKrmr's PC Specs
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Posts: 144
POST ID # = 1022711
JonKrmr Reputation: 10
Default

Could be memory related. It appears those POST codes relate to memory and memory training. I would test the memory installed.
Reply With Quote


  #5  
Old 10-30-2019, 05:08 PM
StellaMan StellaMan is offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jan 2017
Posts: 7
POST ID # = 1022736
StellaMan Reputation: 10
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by JonKrmr View Post
Could be memory related. It appears those POST codes relate to memory and memory training. I would test the memory installed.
Thank you, apparently there were similar problems before he replaced the MB, which is why I went down the GPU route, Memory was next but unfortunately I'm having to take things slowly at the moment as we have a puppy running wild in the house !!!

Memory modules to be tested next ... thanks
Reply With Quote


  #6  
Old 10-30-2019, 07:13 PM
StellaMan StellaMan is offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jan 2017
Posts: 7
POST ID # = 1022746
StellaMan Reputation: 10
Default

Strange results, I took all 4 modules out and restarted & got an error code of 53 ... I would have expected 55 by the manual ... "Memory Not Installed" ... odd

I'm now swapping RAM sticks around and getting the original problem ...

Enough is enough now, I need to go to bed, but this is really odd !!!
Reply With Quote


Reply

Tags
boot, code, error, fail, windows

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 12:06 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2019, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.