The Corsair User Forums  

Go Back   The Corsair User Forums > Corsair Product Discussion > Keyboards and Mice

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Rate Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 01-17-2018, 01:30 PM
Likesmoke Likesmoke is offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jan 2018
Posts: 4
POST ID # = 935925
Likesmoke Reputation: 10
Default Strafe Keyboard FW Issue.

Hi everyone.

Recently I got a "faulty" Corsair Strafe Keyboard from my brother.
Problem was that keyboard was apparently bricked, no lights, nothing.
CUE complains about connection issue and always get stuck on 3% during flash.
After opening ticket, they send me zip file with few firmwares.
-Strafe_BLD014_App133RC.bin
-STRAFE_ISP_V204.bin
-STRAFE_ISP_V205.bin
and this instructions:
Please follow the directions below:

Quote:
1: Unplug your keyboard from the computer.

2: Locate the small pinhole underneath your keyboard. For some, this will be located near the polling rate switch by the cable. On others, it will be located underneath on the tilt legs on the bottom of the keyboard.

3: Using a small paperclip or push-pin, press down on the button inside the pinhole.

4: Plug your mouse back into the computer, while holding down the pinhole button.

5: Once it is plugged back in, your computer should recognize a drive called CRP_Disabled. Please open this.

6: Download the firmware file from the ticket. If it is compressed into a .RAR file, please extract this file to an easily found location on the computer.

7: Delete the file FIRMWARE.BIN from the CRP_DISABLED drive, and then place the file with ISP in it’s name to the CRP_Disabled drive.

8: Once you have performed the steps above, please unplug your keyboard and then plug it back in. The device will then return to normal. Please test to see if the issue reappears. If it does, please inform us on the ticket for further troubleshooting.

After few tries my keyboard is no longer "death", at least now I can "use" my keyboard and type :), but with 3 lights flashing all type (CAPS, MAYUS and BLOQ) and laterals light turned on.
Also CUE still complaining about keyboard status. Now it reports FW version 0.14 and bootloader 0.00, also now CUE allow me to flash FW.

I tried in 4 diff pc with same result.

Do you know if there is any way to fix this?, maybe diff FW or previous version?.
I'm asking here just because I would like to avoid send back keyboard to corsair since apparently it looks like software problem.

Thanks and regards.
Reply With Quote


  #2  
Old 01-17-2018, 06:03 PM
Corsair Nick's Avatar
Corsair Nick Corsair Nick is offline
Corsair Employee
 
Join Date: Feb 2016
Posts: 922
POST ID # = 935979
Corsair Nick Reputation: 39
Default

Do you have the Strafe Red LED, or RGB? You can also provide the part number off the back as well. There are two different Strafe keyboards, and each one has their own firmware.
Reply With Quote


  #3  
Old 01-17-2018, 06:38 PM
Likesmoke Likesmoke is offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jan 2018
Posts: 4
POST ID # = 935990
Likesmoke Reputation: 10
Default

Hi @Corsair Nick, thanks for your quick response.
Keyboard is Strafe Red LED. P/N CH-9000092-ES
Reply With Quote


  #4  
Old 01-17-2018, 09:29 PM
PositiveVibes PositiveVibes is offline
Registered User
PositiveVibes's PC Specs
 
Join Date: Jan 2018
Posts: 1
POST ID # = 936007
PositiveVibes Reputation: 10
Default

This is currently happening to me. I just purchased the Strafe LED red - s/n : 290817197305. Also purchased Scimitar RGB mouse. Plugged mouse in first, then keyboard. Do I have to open a support ticket to try to correct the issue?
Reply With Quote


  #5  
Old 01-21-2018, 08:25 AM
Toasted Toasted is offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Apr 2011
Posts: 19,344
POST ID # = 936495
Toasted Toasted Reputation: 108
Default

@Likesmoke

Use STRAFE_ISP_V205.bin and see whether that helps.

@PositiveVibes

Do you have the files for the hard reset? If not, you will need to create a support ticket,
Reply With Quote


  #6  
Old 01-22-2018, 03:26 PM
Likesmoke Likesmoke is offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jan 2018
Posts: 4
POST ID # = 936798
Likesmoke Reputation: 10
Default

Thanks for the response @Toasted, but using STRAFE_ISP_V205.bin still not solved the problem.
I'm trying to find previous fw since maybe this happened becouse it was upgrade from FW 1.XX to 2.05.
-Do you know if there is any way to grab logs from keyboard? (Update: Found here AppData\Local\Corsair\HID\logs )
-Do you have previous fw versions?.

Thanks and kindly regards.

Last edited by Likesmoke; 01-22-2018 at 03:33 PM. Reason: Logs Paths found
Reply With Quote


  #7  
Old 01-30-2018, 08:21 PM
qzzhao qzzhao is offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jan 2018
Posts: 1
POST ID # = 938189
qzzhao Reputation: 10
Default

You can try this method:
Performing a soft-reset:
1.Unplug the keyboard
2.With the keyboard unplugged, hold down the ESC key.
3.While holding down the ESC key, plug the keyboard back into the computer.
4.After about 5 seconds, release the ESC key.
If done correctly, your keyboard's lighting will flash.
Reply With Quote


  #8  
Old 02-19-2018, 04:27 PM
Likesmoke Likesmoke is offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jan 2018
Posts: 4
POST ID # = 941402
Likesmoke Reputation: 10
Haha!

Quote:
Originally Posted by qzzhao View Post
You can try this method:
Performing a soft-reset:
1.Unplug the keyboard
2.With the keyboard unplugged, hold down the ESC key.
3.While holding down the ESC key, plug the keyboard back into the computer.
4.After about 5 seconds, release the ESC key.
If done correctly, your keyboard's lighting will flash.
I tried and didn't work, anycase thanks for the advice.
After all, I sent my kb back to Corsair, now waiting to receive a new one.
Reply With Quote


  #9  
Old 09-10-2019, 01:52 AM
dyskharel dyskharel is offline
Registered User
dyskharel's PC Specs
 
Join Date: Sep 2019
Posts: 2
POST ID # = 1017594
dyskharel Reputation: 10
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Corsair Nick View Post
Do you have the Strafe Red LED, or RGB? You can also provide the part number off the back as well. There are two different Strafe keyboards, and each one has their own firmware.
Me also need some firmware badly. Hope you can respond as soon as possible.

STRAFE RED Led
P/N: CH-9000226-NA

A reply will be much appreciated.

I already submit a ticket but I need the keyboard asap. Thanks

Ticket no.: 2000837732

Last edited by dyskharel; 09-10-2019 at 03:32 AM. Reason: Additional info
Reply With Quote


  #10  
Old 09-10-2019, 06:22 PM
Corsair Nick's Avatar
Corsair Nick Corsair Nick is offline
Corsair Employee
 
Join Date: Feb 2016
Posts: 922
POST ID # = 1017698
Corsair Nick Reputation: 39
Default

I talked to technical support, and you should receive a response shortly regarding your inquiry. If you don't hear back, feel free to PM me.
Reply With Quote


  #11  
Old 09-11-2019, 01:38 PM
Sh4rk Sh4rk is offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Posts: 16
POST ID # = 1017800
Sh4rk Reputation: 10
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by dyskharel View Post
Me also need some firmware badly. Hope you can respond as soon as possible.

STRAFE RED Led
P/N: CH-9000226-NA

A reply will be much appreciated.

I already submit a ticket but I need the keyboard asap. Thanks

Ticket no.: 2000837732
Quote:
Originally Posted by Corsair Nick View Post
I talked to technical support, and you should receive a response shortly regarding your inquiry. If you don't hear back, feel free to PM me.
@dyskharel please can you share the file if you get it. I have the same issue and no help from support apart from have you tried turning it on and off again...
Reply With Quote


Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 11:20 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2019, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.