The Corsair User Forums  

Go Back   The Corsair User Forums > Corsair Product Discussion > Memory

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Rate Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 05-25-2012, 02:29 PM
Grap Grap is offline
Registered User
Grap's PC Specs
 
Join Date: May 2012
Location: London
Posts: 3
POST ID # = 580628
Grap Reputation: 10
Default Same product reference but different version

Hi,

My PC was working perfectly until very recently when I decided to upgrade my RAM (my MB is an ASUS P5E3). Here is the detail:

For many years, I had 2 memory sticks with this reference: CM3X1024-1333C9 (version 1.1) . It appears that this was recognised only as @ 1066 (7 7 7 20) but as it was working properly that was fine for me and didn't change anything.

This week I decided to increase my RAM and to avoid any issues I bought 2 new memory stick with the exact same reference (version 2.4).
The issue is that this time they are recognised @1333 (9 9 9 24)

As a consequence I have now 4 memory sticks (1Go) with the same reference but
- 2 are @1066 (7 7 7 20)
- 2 are @1333 (9 9 9 24)

I was considering to force the frequency in the BIOS but then I have no idea on what the other parameters should be ...

So, any idea on how to fix this would be more than welcome.

Thank you
regards
Reply With Quote


  #2  
Old 05-25-2012, 05:39 PM
RAM GUY's Avatar
RAM GUY RAM GUY is offline
Corsair Product Guru
 
Join Date: Apr 2001
Location: Fremont, CA
Posts: 118,268
POST ID # = 580664
RAM GUY Reputation: 10
Default

You cannot run the Memory Frequency faster than the CPU FSB with that MB so we would need to know the CPU you have installed?
And I would not suggest mixing these but if you do more then likely you will have to run them at DDR1066 and set the memory Voltage to 1.6-1.7 Volts and increase the NB Voltage +.1 Volts as well and if Command Rate is listed set it to 2T and set the timings to AUTO but if its not stable set them manually to Cas 8-8-8-24.
__________________
Support accounts and tickets can be created at https://support.corsair.com.
Reply With Quote


  #3  
Old 05-25-2012, 06:23 PM
Grap Grap is offline
Registered User
Grap's PC Specs
 
Join Date: May 2012
Location: London
Posts: 3
POST ID # = 580677
Grap Reputation: 10
Default

Thank you RAM Guy for your prompt response.
My CPU is an Intel Duo e8400 @ 3Ghz

It's a bit unfair that I can not mix these memory sticks given that they are in theory exactly the same and I just spent £32 pounds for it (I had never heard about version before that day)

I'll try your suggestion. Just to be sure on the NB Voltage, it was set to AUTO so I don't know what the starting point should be. Should I start at the minimum (1.25 if I remember)
Reply With Quote


  #4  
Old 05-29-2012, 04:01 PM
Grap Grap is offline
Registered User
Grap's PC Specs
 
Join Date: May 2012
Location: London
Posts: 3
POST ID # = 581272
Grap Reputation: 10
Default

Given the lack of information when I bought my memory and the fact that the exact same product reference could come with different voltage and could be non compatible, , I have sent back this product to Amazon and asked for a full refund

I just regret the time I have spent on this question.
Reply With Quote


  #5  
Old 05-29-2012, 04:19 PM
RAM GUY's Avatar
RAM GUY RAM GUY is offline
Corsair Product Guru
 
Join Date: Apr 2001
Location: Fremont, CA
Posts: 118,268
POST ID # = 581289
RAM GUY Reputation: 10
Default

I am sorry to hear that, did you at least try the modules before you sent them back?
__________________
Support accounts and tickets can be created at https://support.corsair.com.
Reply With Quote


Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 03:38 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2019, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.