The Corsair User Forums  

Go Back   The Corsair User Forums > Corsair Product Discussion > Corsair Link

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Rate Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 09-19-2019, 09:39 AM
Turtletours Turtletours is offline
Registered User
Turtletours's PC Specs
 
Join Date: Sep 2019
Posts: 5
POST ID # = 1018681
Turtletours Reputation: 10
Default Issue controlling fans with Link 4

Hi all,

first post here after my first pc build, which was 90% successful! Only issue i am facing is with my fan control...

I have a H115i and 2 additional ML120 pro fans, along with 1 120mm fan which came with the case which is a 3 pin corsair fan.

Pump cable is connected to CPU_FAN header. 3 other fans connected to SYS_FAN headers. H115i USB cable is connected to J_USB1 header. The fact i can control the RGB and pump profiles through iCue makes me believe its not the USB cable, and is an issue with Link.

I have iCue and Link installed and can control the RGB of my pump and RAM fine, i can also change the default profiles of the pump between balanced/extreme etc. using iCue.

With Link V4.9.9.3 i cannot control or configure curves for any of the fans.

I have created stable fan curves using the BIOS but as i would like to overclock my CPU being able to manage fan curves within Windows is essential.

I have removed and reinstalled Link a number of times, and checked the USB driver which is up to date and enabled. So I'm really at a loss as to what the issue could be!
Attached Images
File Type: jpg link.JPG (123.3 KB, 15 views)
File Type: jpg icue.JPG (85.5 KB, 12 views)

Last edited by Turtletours; 09-19-2019 at 09:45 AM. Reason: added fan connetctions
Reply With Quote


  #2  
Old 09-19-2019, 11:14 AM
c-attack c-attack is offline
Registered User
c-attack's PC Specs
 
Join Date: Jun 2014
Posts: 9,195
POST ID # = 1018689
c-attack c-attack Reputation: 107
Default

iCUE is the replacement program for Link, specifically the merger of Link (internal devices) with CUE 2 (peripherals). Link has no functionality when iCUE is running and it should give you a message to that effect. There are a handful of legacy devices that are not iCUE compatible, but this is not one of them.

In iCUE, go to the Performance Tab for the cooler and uncheck the all devices slider. That should create a "+" symbol that will then allow you to create a new "cooling mode" or custom curve. In order to apply a fan curve in iCUE, click the curve on the left (it will highlight yellow) then click all the fans on the right you want to apply it to. Those will ring yellow.
Reply With Quote


  #3  
Old 09-19-2019, 12:11 PM
Turtletours Turtletours is offline
Registered User
Turtletours's PC Specs
 
Join Date: Sep 2019
Posts: 5
POST ID # = 1018697
Turtletours Reputation: 10
Default

Hi,

Thanks for clarifying that, i didnt know iCue replaces Link.

Once question i have is - In the attached pic, does the "pump" device include the 2 fans attached to the radiator? If so does that mean that "fan 1" and "fan 2" are the 4 pin fans i have? I presume a 3 pin fan wont show up here?

I have ordered another ML120 pro to replace the 3 pin fan which came with the case.

Is it the case that setting the fan curve in the BIOS gives you more control?
Attached Images
File Type: jpg icue devices.JPG (108.0 KB, 8 views)
Reply With Quote


  #4  
Old 09-19-2019, 04:37 PM
DevBiker's Avatar
DevBiker DevBiker is offline
CORSAIR Beta Team
DevBiker's PC Specs
 
Join Date: Feb 2017
Location: Republic of Texas
Posts: 7,505
POST ID # = 1018724
DevBiker Reputation: 88
Default

Fan1 and Fan2 are the two fans on the cooler. These are only for the fans attached to the cooler directly.
And no, 3 pin fans won't work. They'll show an RPM but they'll run at full speed all the time.

Setting the fan curve in the BIOS doesn't affect the fans attached to the cooler. So no, it won't give you more control. Also, the fans on the cooler shouldn't have the package temperature as the source; it should be the coolant temperature. Please see the Liquid Cooler FAQ for a detailed explanation as to why.
__________________
Please click "Edit System Specs" and fill out your system info.

This comment is provided "as-is", without warranty of any kind, express or implied, including, but not limited to, the sanity or mental fitness of the author. The author is not a Corsair employee, does not represent Corsair, and no comment should be construed as an official statement from Corsair.

Reply With Quote


  #5  
Old 09-19-2019, 05:21 PM
Turtletours Turtletours is offline
Registered User
Turtletours's PC Specs
 
Join Date: Sep 2019
Posts: 5
POST ID # = 1018731
Turtletours Reputation: 10
Default

So is the only way to control all corsair fans in a case with a commander unit?
Reply With Quote


  #6  
Old 09-19-2019, 05:41 PM
DevBiker's Avatar
DevBiker DevBiker is offline
CORSAIR Beta Team
DevBiker's PC Specs
 
Join Date: Feb 2017
Location: Republic of Texas
Posts: 7,505
POST ID # = 1018733
DevBiker Reputation: 88
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Turtletours View Post
So is the only way to control all corsair fans in a case with a commander unit?
If you want to control fan speeds in iCUE, yes. Neither Link nor iCUE will control fans connected to the motherboard.
__________________
Please click "Edit System Specs" and fill out your system info.

This comment is provided "as-is", without warranty of any kind, express or implied, including, but not limited to, the sanity or mental fitness of the author. The author is not a Corsair employee, does not represent Corsair, and no comment should be construed as an official statement from Corsair.

Reply With Quote


  #7  
Old 09-19-2019, 06:31 PM
c-attack c-attack is offline
Registered User
c-attack's PC Specs
 
Join Date: Jun 2014
Posts: 9,195
POST ID # = 1018744
c-attack c-attack Reputation: 107
Default

Also note the Commander Pro can control 3 pin DC or 4 pin PWM and you can adjust individually for each of the 6 fan headers. You could cancel the new fans and put it toward this, if you are looking for full fan control from the desktop without visiting the BIOS.

Last edited by c-attack; 09-19-2019 at 07:48 PM.
Reply With Quote


  #8  
Old 09-19-2019, 07:43 PM
Turtletours Turtletours is offline
Registered User
Turtletours's PC Specs
 
Join Date: Sep 2019
Posts: 5
POST ID # = 1018758
Turtletours Reputation: 10
Default

Great thanks for the info. So I've uninstalled Link...ordered a Commander pro!
Reply With Quote


Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 10:05 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2019, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.