The Corsair User Forums  

Go Back   The Corsair User Forums > Corsair Product Discussion > Cooling

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Rate Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 06-30-2018, 06:18 PM
FreeZate FreeZate is offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Oct 2017
Posts: 18
POST ID # = 961562
FreeZate Reputation: 10
Question LL 120 RGB doesn´t work after shutdown

Hello,

I have 6 fans installed.
From one day to another, 3 fans had no working leds and I don´t know why.
They have been running for months without any problems.
The thing is. Only ports 4-6 from rgb hub aren´t working.
So I got a replace, still not worked.
But when I place a fan (from 4-6) into 1-3, they work.
Very strange. I would like to replace them, but they are cooling my radiators, so I will dissamble them, when I update my PC.

So, I wanted to add 3x more LL RGB fans to my pc.
Plugged in, worked fine. When I shutdown my pc, the leds aren´t working anymore (with the brand new fans), but I see the node pro in ICUE.
I already reinstalled icue, installed corsair link again, checked my commander pro, single cable from psu too rgb hub and node pro, changed psu cables.

I can´t figure out, what the problem could be.
Have somebody any idea, that can resolve my problem?
when I replug my fans, when pc is on, they work again.
Even after a restart, but when I shutdown my pc, the leds doesn´t work anymore (the new 3 fans).
The old fans from port 4-6 doesn´t work all the time.
What could it be? My mainboard or psu?
Already cleared cmos and I have no problems either with my psu.

PC specs:
I7-6700K stock clock
Asus strix 1080ti
DDR4-3000 corsair dominator platinum
Maximus Viii hero
Corsair Ax860i

total fans:
9 LL rgb (6 connected to commander pro+rgb hub)
(3 are working all the time)
(3 never worked again, since they stopped working)
(newest 3 fans, only work, when I replug them, when my pc is on,
after shutdown, they doesn´t work too, connected to node pro+rgb hub)

-2 rgb stripes

I really need your help guys. Everything is 100% correctly plugged in.
I had thermal ring fans before and never had any problems with them.
Only the leds from the fans aren´t working. All fans are rotating.
Please help me.

best regards
Kevin
Attached Images
File Type: jpg IMG_20180519_201816.jpg (3.88 MB, 165 views)
File Type: jpg IMG_20180612_143543.jpg (2.95 MB, 147 views)
File Type: jpg IMG_20180630_020439.jpg (1.90 MB, 115 views)
File Type: jpg IMG_20180630_135501.jpg (3.20 MB, 147 views)

Last edited by FreeZate; 06-30-2018 at 06:38 PM.
Reply With Quote


  #2  
Old 07-02-2018, 07:46 AM
c-attack c-attack is online now
Registered User
c-attack's PC Specs
 
Join Date: Jun 2014
Posts: 9,013
POST ID # = 961777
c-attack c-attack Reputation: 107
Default

On the first, it sounds like the RGB lighting hub has an issue. It is wired serially, so when port 4 goes down (or fan #4), then 4,5,6 all don't work. The second one is a bit more mysterious. Does the second Lighting Node Pro show up in Link/iCUE? I assume you have added fans 7-9 into the configuration settings as LL fans. I don't use more than 6, but if it thinks they are in series, it might also prevent 7-9 from coming on if there is an issue with a place earlier in the chain.

I would contact Corsair Tech support through the ticket system and see what they say. Likely going to send you a new RGB hub. In the meantime, you could try switching the two RGB lighting hub boxes to put wonky 4,5,6 in the second position where there are only three fans. See if the newer RGB light box will work on the full 6 fan position.
Reply With Quote


1 members found this post helpful.
  #3  
Old 07-02-2018, 12:02 PM
FreeZate FreeZate is offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Oct 2017
Posts: 18
POST ID # = 961806
FreeZate Reputation: 10
Default

Hello,
I already got an rgb hub replacement. But still the same problem. So the rgb hub must work.
The Lighting Node Pro shows up in Icue, only when I plug it into usb header on MB, when my PC is running. When I shutdown my pc, the node pro doesn´t show up in Icue anymore (tested this again yesterday).
Yes I added the the 7-9 fans in configuration.
I already contacted corsair, they said rma the fans.
But I bought brand knew fans additionally for my pc and they aren´t working too.
So maybe it isn´t a problem with the fans and it´s something with my mb or psu.
Reply With Quote


  #4  
Old 07-02-2018, 12:33 PM
c-attack c-attack is online now
Registered User
c-attack's PC Specs
 
Join Date: Jun 2014
Posts: 9,013
POST ID # = 961813
c-attack c-attack Reputation: 107
Default

If you can swap fans 4-6 or 7-9 into 1,2, or 3 and they work... it's not the fans. It seems really long odds for two RGB hubs to fail at #4, particularly if the new hub never worked. Instantaneous fail seems extremely unlikely without some fireworks to go with it.

The PSU is either supply the voltage or it isn't. Is there anything else along that SATA line? Drives? Anything else that might prevent the LNP from getting full power? Even if this were the case, I would expect general dimming, flickering, or something else besides consistent 1-3 on, 4-9 off.

The recognition of the LNP device by the motherboard is going to be on the USB connection, assuming the LNP does indeed have power. This is the most common trouble spot and USB behavior can be a bit quirky. There probably hasn't been a chipset update in ages for the Z170, but you can try reinstalling. Any other USB related issues? Sound drops? Any recent changes to the OS, like the MS "April update"?
Reply With Quote


1 members found this post helpful.
  #5  
Old 07-02-2018, 06:28 PM
FreeZate FreeZate is offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Oct 2017
Posts: 18
POST ID # = 961850
FreeZate Reputation: 10
Default

hello,

only one single sata cable from psu to rgb hub and light node pro, so it gets full power.
No drives attached to this cable.
I already reinstalled usb drivers for my mb, still the same.
Yes Windows 10 is always up to date.
I will try tommorow fans from 4-6, if all of them are working in ports 1-3.
The problem also is, that after a complete shutdown, then the node pro is not shown in icue, only when I replug it after a time.
MB has latest bios and was runing default settings, but still no improvement.
Maybe it´s really my mainboard, because every other components, that are attached to psu aren´t making any problems.
I am very thankfull, that you are trying me to help, because I am completely out of ideas, what can cause this problems. On wednesday I could try the fans on an other pc.

Last edited by FreeZate; 07-04-2018 at 08:32 AM. Reason: USB problem was not my Asus Strix flare, it was my Alienware Aw3418dw, Cable was loose.
Reply With Quote


  #6  
Old 07-02-2018, 11:25 PM
DevBiker's Avatar
DevBiker DevBiker is offline
CORSAIR Beta Team
DevBiker's PC Specs
 
Join Date: Feb 2017
Location: Republic of Texas
Posts: 7,388
POST ID # = 961889
DevBiker Reputation: 88
Default

That sounds like you need to disable Windows Fast Start. See https://www.windowscentral.com/how-d...0-fast-startup.
__________________
Please click "Edit System Specs" and fill out your system info.

This comment is provided "as-is", without warranty of any kind, express or implied, including, but not limited to, the sanity or mental fitness of the author. The author is not a Corsair employee, does not represent Corsair, and no comment should be construed as an official statement from Corsair.

Reply With Quote


1 members found this post helpful.
  #7  
Old 07-03-2018, 12:17 PM
FreeZate FreeZate is offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Oct 2017
Posts: 18
POST ID # = 961949
FreeZate Reputation: 10
Default

I disabled it. But still after a complete shutdown, the fans aren´t working.
Damn, and the node pro doesn´t show up in ICue anymore.
Can´t believe that one fan worked particular, from the fans, that never work.
only red light, not controlable. I added a photo..
Attached Images
File Type: jpg IMG_20180703_180706.jpg (2.46 MB, 116 views)
Reply With Quote


  #8  
Old 07-03-2018, 01:24 PM
FreeZate FreeZate is offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Oct 2017
Posts: 18
POST ID # = 961964
FreeZate Reputation: 10
Default

It´s something with the usb connection.
My usb headers from commander pro aren´t working also.
I connected a node pro to commander pro, but it didn´t show up,
in Icue. I got 4 fans working now. Testing different things, like usb hub with external power supply
Attached Images
File Type: jpg IMG_20180703_191858.jpg (2.82 MB, 128 views)
File Type: jpg IMG_20180703_192026.jpg (3.01 MB, 125 views)
Reply With Quote


  #9  
Old 07-03-2018, 02:52 PM
FreeZate FreeZate is offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Oct 2017
Posts: 18
POST ID # = 961990
FreeZate Reputation: 10
Default

finally I got them all working.
EVEN after a complete shutdown.
For some reason, the RGB hubs don´t get enough power
and also the commander pros usb header aren´t working.
So I plugged an usb hub with external sata power into mainboard
and plugged everything into the usb hub.
Still a little tricky because I cant use all ports of the RGB hubs.
Here is the set up:
1. RGB hub 4 fans (maximum 4 fans)
2. RGB hub 2 fans (maximum also 4 fans)
3. RGB hub 3 fans (only have 9 fans)

1 node pro connected with 2 channels
1 commander pro with 2 channels

All fans are working.
I think it´s mainboard related, that the usb headers are too weak, but on the other side, not all RGB hubs have the same power, to light up the fans.
What should be the next step?
Attached Images
File Type: jpg IMG_20180703_194759.jpg (2.78 MB, 136 views)
File Type: jpg IMG_20180703_194807.jpg (3.73 MB, 139 views)
File Type: jpg IMG_20180703_200534.jpg (4.21 MB, 125 views)
File Type: jpg IMG_20180703_201820.jpg (2.65 MB, 138 views)
File Type: jpg IMG_20180703_203939.jpg (3.62 MB, 108 views)
File Type: png 1.PNG (1.31 MB, 134 views)
File Type: png 2.PNG (1.33 MB, 118 views)
Reply With Quote


  #10  
Old 07-03-2018, 03:18 PM
solarity solarity is offline
CORSAIR Beta Team
solarity's PC Specs
 
Join Date: Mar 2017
Location: Rochester, NY
Posts: 710
POST ID # = 961996
solarity Reputation: 33
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by FreeZate View Post
finally I got them all working.
EVEN after a complete shutdown.
For some reason, the RGB hubs don´t get enough power
and also the commander pros usb header aren´t working.
So I plugged an usb hub with external sata power into mainboard
and plugged everything into the usb hub.
Still a little tricky because I cant use all ports of the RGB hubs.
Here is the set up:
1. RGB hub 4 fans (maximum 4 fans)
2. RGB hub 2 fans (maximum also 4 fans)
3. RGB hub 3 fans (only have 9 fans)

1 node pro connected with 2 channels
1 commander pro with 2 channels

All fans are working.
I think it´s mainboard related, that the usb headers are too weak, but on the other side, not all RGB hubs have the same power, to light up the fans.
What should be the next step?
The RGB HUB is used across many other fans LL/ML/HD/SP-120/140 fans. It is a pretty dumb device that uses power from the Sata cable.

When you say "external sata power into mainboard", what exactly do you mean? Do you mean you are just using something like this: https://www.amazon.com/Nzxt-Internal.../dp/B01IFGFTJ2

What happens if you plug the node pro into an external USB port on the back of your system?

Can you validate the voltages of your systems PSU 5v, 12v, and 3.3v?
__________________
RGB 101 Video: General overview on RGB
Zotty's Corsair Guide: RGB FAQ and Sample Diagrams


Disclaimer: I am not an employee of Corsair all my opinions are my own.
Reply With Quote


  #11  
Old 07-03-2018, 04:02 PM
FreeZate FreeZate is offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Oct 2017
Posts: 18
POST ID # = 962001
FreeZate Reputation: 10
Default

exactly like this hub, you linked.
I cant plug it in an usb port from the back, because the node pro has an intern usb cable. I have no adapter for it.
I ran the psu self test with a fine result.
I can´t check the voltages for now.
Reply With Quote


  #12  
Old 07-03-2018, 06:41 PM
DevBiker's Avatar
DevBiker DevBiker is offline
CORSAIR Beta Team
DevBiker's PC Specs
 
Join Date: Feb 2017
Location: Republic of Texas
Posts: 7,388
POST ID # = 962013
DevBiker Reputation: 88
Default

The cable is a standard, old-school mini USB cable. No adapter required ... you may have a few laying around. I know I do, even after getting rid of some.
__________________
Please click "Edit System Specs" and fill out your system info.

This comment is provided "as-is", without warranty of any kind, express or implied, including, but not limited to, the sanity or mental fitness of the author. The author is not a Corsair employee, does not represent Corsair, and no comment should be construed as an official statement from Corsair.

Reply With Quote


  #13  
Old 07-04-2018, 08:46 AM
FreeZate FreeZate is offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Oct 2017
Posts: 18
POST ID # = 962076
FreeZate Reputation: 10
Default

Ok, I understand. For now, this solution works.
The important part is, that all fans are working.
I will upgrade my pc, when the new 8 core intel cpus will be released.
Hopefully, changing the mb will fix it.
Reply With Quote


Reply

Tags
icue, issue, ll rgb 120, no leds

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 09:12 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2019, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.