The Corsair User Forums  

Go Back   The Corsair User Forums > Corsair Product Discussion > Memory

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Rate Thread Display Modes
  #16  
Old 06-24-2019, 07:29 AM
Gronar Gronar is offline
Registered User
Gronar's PC Specs
 
Join Date: Mar 2019
Location: Round Rock, Tejas
Posts: 109
POST ID # = 1009098
Gronar Reputation: 10
Default

Well here's some good news A Computer Guy: BIOS update for my board last night, I'm now running all 4 of my Dominator Plat RGB with DOCP active, 3133MHz and appears to be stable. 3200 hard locked the machine when I ran a game. That's the best speed I've seen though, better than the previous 3000 I was getting.
Reply With Quote


  #17  
Old 06-24-2019, 11:19 PM
Gronar Gronar is offline
Registered User
Gronar's PC Specs
 
Join Date: Mar 2019
Location: Round Rock, Tejas
Posts: 109
POST ID # = 1009217
Gronar Reputation: 10
Default

Spoke too soon. Ran stable all day just web browsing. Played Destiny a while and the game kept crashing, then the system. Backed off the speed to 2800 and stable while gaming again.
Reply With Quote


  #18  
Old 06-25-2019, 08:10 PM
A Computer Guy A Computer Guy is offline
Registered User
A Computer Guy's PC Specs
 
Join Date: Jan 2019
Posts: 171
POST ID # = 1009329
A Computer Guy Reputation: 10
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Gronar View Post
Spoke too soon. Ran stable all day just web browsing. Played Destiny a while and the game kept crashing, then the system. Backed off the speed to 2800 and stable while gaming again.
Have you seen this article? It really helped me last time around.
"AMD Ryzen Memory Tweaking & Overclocking Guide"
https://www.techpowerup.com/review/a...locking-guide/

Also something I noticed last time when troubleshooting Ryzen Timing Checker doesn't seem to work quite right anymore perhaps because of the newer BIOS/UEFI updates.
For example the timings seem correct but ProcODT, RTT, and CAD_BUS options don't match what I set in the BIOS/UEFI.

Last edited by A Computer Guy; 06-25-2019 at 08:16 PM.
Reply With Quote


  #19  
Old 06-28-2019, 08:39 AM
Gronar Gronar is offline
Registered User
Gronar's PC Specs
 
Join Date: Mar 2019
Location: Round Rock, Tejas
Posts: 109
POST ID # = 1009546
Gronar Reputation: 10
Default

Thanks for the link, did some research there and spent some time with DRAM calculator for Ryzen after pulling all the RAM info with Typhoon. Currently I've used all the settings the calculator gave me and slowly pushed it up to 3000 and things are running good so far, no blue screens or lock ups. I'll probably push it even further over the weekend to see just how far I can go and keep it running stable.
Reply With Quote


  #20  
Old 06-29-2019, 09:13 AM
Gronar Gronar is offline
Registered User
Gronar's PC Specs
 
Join Date: Mar 2019
Location: Round Rock, Tejas
Posts: 109
POST ID # = 1009699
Gronar Reputation: 10
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Gronar View Post
Thanks for the link, did some research there and spent some time with DRAM calculator for Ryzen after pulling all the RAM info with Typhoon. Currently I've used all the settings the calculator gave me and slowly pushed it up to 3000 and things are running good so far, no blue screens or lock ups. I'll probably push it even further over the weekend to see just how far I can go and keep it running stable.
Ran the system a whole day at 3066 and it was stable even through a marathon gaming session last night so this morning I pushed it up to 3133. Tested with playing a game and had no problems. Will keep it at this speed for today to confirm stability then push it to 3200 tomorrow.
Reply With Quote


  #21  
Old 07-07-2019, 12:50 PM
A Computer Guy A Computer Guy is offline
Registered User
A Computer Guy's PC Specs
 
Join Date: Jan 2019
Posts: 171
POST ID # = 1010515
A Computer Guy Reputation: 10
Default

So far here are the best timings I managed to get with my RGB memory kit.

This got me a score of 113% on UserBenchmark.com.

The best score I got was 114% at 3266 however after another BIOS update to P3.30 that frequency became unstable so I had to back down to 3200.

Compared to many other users this seems to be near the top end score for this memory kit at 3200.
https://ram.userbenchmark.com/SpeedT...3200C16-2x16GB

Hopefully this will be helpful to other Ryzen users with this memory kit trying to get the best out of it.

Code:
CMW32GX4M2C3200C16 (ver 4.32)
DDR4-3200
 18 - tCL   (from XMP 16+2)
 17 - tRCD  (from XMP 18-1)
 17 - tRP   (from XMP 18-1)
 36 - tRAS  (from XMP)
 58 - tRC   (from XMP 54+4)
  6 - tRRDS (from XMP)
  9 - tRRDL (from XMP)
 34 - tFAW  (from XMP 36-2)
  4 - tWTRS
 12 - tWTRL
 12 - tWR
  4 - tRDRDSCL
  4 - tWRWRSCL
512 - tRFC  (down from 560) 
380 - tRFC2 (down from 416) 
234 - tRFC4 (down from 256) 
 18 - tCWL
 10 - tRTP
  6 - tRDWR
  3 - tWRRD
  1 - tWRWRSC
  7 - tWRWRSD
  7 - tWRWRDD
  1 - tRDRDSC
  5 - tRDRDSD
  5 - tRDRDDD
  8 - tCKE

DRAM = 1.35v
SOC = 1.012v (SOC OVERCLOCK VID = 54)
Gear Down Mode = Enabled
Power Down Mode = Disabled
BGS = Disabled
BGS-ALT = Enabled
ProcODT = 60 ohms
RTT_NOM = RZQ/7(34)
RTT_WR = RZQ/3(80)
RTT_PARK = RZQ/1(240)
CAD_BUS = All 24 ohms
(updated 7/12/2019)
Up to 116% https://www.userbenchmark.com/UserRun/18346006

(at the time of this post I was using Ryzen 5 2600)

Last edited by A Computer Guy; 10-03-2019 at 09:21 PM.
Reply With Quote


  #22  
Old 07-19-2019, 08:38 PM
A Computer Guy A Computer Guy is offline
Registered User
A Computer Guy's PC Specs
 
Join Date: Jan 2019
Posts: 171
POST ID # = 1011847
A Computer Guy Reputation: 10
Default

New timings that should work for with a Ryzen 7 3800x.

Currently testing these timings....working w/ BIOS/UEFI P3.30.

Code:
CMW32GX4M2C3200C16 (ver 4.32)
DDR4-3200
 18 - tCL   (from XMP 16+2)
 17 - tRCD  (from XMP 18-1)
 17 - tRP   (from XMP 18-1)
 36 - tRAS  (from XMP)
 58 - tRC   (from XMP 54+4)
  6 - tRRDS (from XMP)
  9 - tRRDL (from XMP)
 34 - tFAW  (from XMP 36-2)
  4 - tWTRS
 12 - tWTRL
 12 - tWR
  4 - tRDRDSCL
  4 - tWRWRSCL
512 - tRFC  (down from 560) 
380 - tRFC2 (down from 416) 
234 - tRFC4 (down from 256) 
 18 - tCWL
 10 - tRTP
  6 - tRDWR
  3 - tWRRD
  1 - tWRWRSC
  7 - tWRWRSD
  7 - tWRWRDD
  1 - tRDRDSC
  5 - tRDRDSD
  5 - tRDRDDD
  8 - tCKE

DRAM = 1.35v
SOC = 1.012v (SOC OVERCLOCK VID = 54, did work with AUTO as well)
SOC now located in Advanced/CBS/NBIO/XFR
Gear Down Mode = Enabled
Power Down Mode = Disabled
BGS = Disabled
BGS-ALT = Enabled
ProcODT = 60 ohms
RTT_NOM = RZQ/7(34)
RTT_WR = RZQ/3(80)
RTT_PARK = RZQ/1(240)
CAD_BUS = All 24 ohms
tCL still won't budge, can't seem to knock it down to 16
tRC still won't budge, can't seem to knock it down to 54

(Score with this memory was better with Ryzen 5 2600, this score with Ryzen 7 3800x is lower)
Up to 93.7% https://www.userbenchmark.com/UserRun/18560160

Last edited by A Computer Guy; 07-26-2019 at 09:14 PM.
Reply With Quote


  #23  
Old 07-26-2019, 09:09 PM
A Computer Guy A Computer Guy is offline
Registered User
A Computer Guy's PC Specs
 
Join Date: Jan 2019
Posts: 171
POST ID # = 1012693
A Computer Guy Reputation: 10
Default

New ASRock BIOS/UEFI version P3.40 w/ AGESA 1.0.0.3AB showed some improvement.
New timings that should work for with a Ryzen 7 3800x.

Code:
CMW32GX4M2C3200C16 (ver 4.32)
DDR4-3200
 16 - tCL   (from XMP 16)
 17 - tRCD  (from XMP 18-1)
 17 - tRP   (from XMP 18-1)
 36 - tRAS  (from XMP)
 58 - tRC   (from XMP 54+4)
  6 - tRRDS (from XMP)
  9 - tRRDL (from XMP)
 34 - tFAW  (from XMP 36-2)
  4 - tWTRS
 12 - tWTRL
 12 - tWR
  4 - tRDRDSCL
  4 - tWRWRSCL
512 - tRFC  (down from 560) 
380 - tRFC2 (down from 416) 
234 - tRFC4 (down from 256) 
 16 - tCWL
 10 - tRTP
  6 - tRDWR
  3 - tWRRD
  1 - tWRWRSC
  7 - tWRWRSD
  7 - tWRWRDD
  1 - tRDRDSC
  5 - tRDRDSD
  5 - tRDRDDD
  8 - tCKE

DRAM = 1.35v
SOC = 1.016v (SOC OVERCLOCK VID = 54, did work with AUTO as well)
SOC now located in Advanced/CBS/NBIO/XFR
Gear Down Mode = Enabled
Power Down Mode = Disabled
BGS = ??? could not find setting with new BIOS/UEFI
BGS-ALT = ??? could not find setting with new BIOS/UEFI
ProcODT = 60 ohms
RTT_NOM = RZQ/7(34)
RTT_WR = RZQ/3(80)
RTT_PARK = RZQ/1(240)
CAD_BUS = All 24 ohms
tCL has been fixed but tRC still won't budge, can't seem to knock it down to the original XMP value 54.
Reply With Quote


  #24  
Old 07-27-2019, 12:28 PM
A Computer Guy A Computer Guy is offline
Registered User
A Computer Guy's PC Specs
 
Join Date: Jan 2019
Posts: 171
POST ID # = 1012746
A Computer Guy Reputation: 10
Default

Had a surprise with ASRock BIOS/UEFI version P3.40 w/ AGESA 1.0.0.3AB.

I was able to bump up from 3200 to 3600 (couldn't do that before) so there seems to be an improvement. UserBenchmark went up from 93.7% to over 100%

(...still working on trimming the timings below...will edit when finalized...)
(...updated 7/29/2019...)

Code:
CMW32GX4M2C3200C16 (ver 4.32)
DDR4-3600
 18 - tCL
 19 - tRCD
 19 - tRP
 42 - tRAS
 68 - tRC
  6 - tRRDS
  9 - tRRDL
 32 - tFAW
  4 - tWTRS
 12 - tWTRL
 12 - tWR
  4 - tRDRDSCL
  4 - tWRWRSCL
560 - tRFC
??? - tRFC2
??? - tRFC4
 18 - tCWL
  6 - tRTP
  8 - tRDWR
  3 - tWRRD
  1 - tWRWRSC
  7 - tWRWRSD
  6 - tWRWRDD
  1 - tRDRDSC
  5 - tRDRDSD
  4 - tRDRDDD
  0 - tCKE

DRAM = 1.35v
SOC = 1.1v (with AUTO)
SOC now located in Advanced/CBS/NBIO/XFR
Gear Down Mode = Enabled
Power Down Mode = Disabled
BGS = ??? could not find setting with new BIOS/UEFI
BGS-ALT = ??? could not find setting with new BIOS/UEFI
ProcODT = 60 ohms
RTT_NOM = Disabled
RTT_WR = RZQ/3(80)
RTT_PARK = RZQ/1(240)
CAD_BUS = All 24 ohms
The new Dram Calculator 1.6.0 doesn't seem to work in my scenario. It won't calculate DDR4-3600 settings says "not supported".

Up to 104% https://www.userbenchmark.com/UserRun/18880711

Last edited by A Computer Guy; 07-30-2019 at 10:58 PM.
Reply With Quote


  #25  
Old 07-29-2019, 10:52 PM
A Computer Guy A Computer Guy is offline
Registered User
A Computer Guy's PC Specs
 
Join Date: Jan 2019
Posts: 171
POST ID # = 1013026
A Computer Guy Reputation: 10
Default

Using AIDA64 going from my previous DDR4-3200 to DDR4-3600
read improvement +5,580
write improvement +3,391
copy improvement +5,386
latency from 77ns down to 71ns

I don't have any data to compare against. If someone else out there has a 3800x and this memory kit do you get similar results?
Reply With Quote


  #26  
Old 07-30-2019, 09:13 PM
A Computer Guy A Computer Guy is offline
Registered User
A Computer Guy's PC Specs
 
Join Date: Jan 2019
Posts: 171
POST ID # = 1013176
A Computer Guy Reputation: 10
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by A Computer Guy View Post
Using AIDA64 going from my previous DDR4-3200 to DDR4-3600
read improvement +5,580
write improvement +3,391
copy improvement +5,386
latency from 77ns down to 71ns

I don't have any data to compare against. If someone else out there has a 3800x and this memory kit do you get similar results?
What do you know, perfect timing
youtube see "RAM and FCLK settings vs performance on Ryzen 3000"
Reply With Quote


  #27  
Old 09-30-2019, 10:24 AM
emadgreek emadgreek is offline
Registered User
emadgreek's PC Specs
 
Join Date: Sep 2019
Posts: 2
POST ID # = 1019709
emadgreek Reputation: 10
Default 4 sticks CMW32GX4M2C3200C16 Ver 5.32

A Computer Guy, I used some of your timings for 4 sticks of CMW32GX4M2C3200C16 Ver 5.32 in a Asus ROG Crosshair VIII Hero Wifi and a 3900x. I can get 4 sticks to run at 2400 with these settings:

18 - tCL (from XMP 16+2)
17 - tRCD (from XMP 18-1)
17 - tRP (from XMP 18-1)
36 - tRAS (from XMP)
58 - tRC (from XMP 54+4)
RTT_NOM = RZQ/7(34)
RTT_WR = RZQ/3(80)
RTT_PARK = RZQ/1(240)
CAD_BUS = All 24 ohms

The rest left on Auto.

I get 1 error on memtest after 2+ hours but Windows seems very stable. Have you messed with this RAM lately (or your version #) and any new settings you may want to share. Before your post i get errors in 9 minutes or less, your settings got me stable.
Reply With Quote


  #28  
Old 09-30-2019, 09:03 PM
A Computer Guy A Computer Guy is offline
Registered User
A Computer Guy's PC Specs
 
Join Date: Jan 2019
Posts: 171
POST ID # = 1019767
A Computer Guy Reputation: 10
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by emadgreek View Post
A Computer Guy, I used some of your timings for 4 sticks of CMW32GX4M2C3200C16 Ver 5.32 in a Asus ROG Crosshair VIII Hero Wifi and a 3900x. I can get 4 sticks to run at 2400 with these settings:

18 - tCL (from XMP 16+2)
17 - tRCD (from XMP 18-1)
17 - tRP (from XMP 18-1)
36 - tRAS (from XMP)
58 - tRC (from XMP 54+4)
RTT_NOM = RZQ/7(34)
RTT_WR = RZQ/3(80)
RTT_PARK = RZQ/1(240)
CAD_BUS = All 24 ohms

The rest left on Auto.

I get 1 error on memtest after 2+ hours but Windows seems very stable. Have you messed with this RAM lately (or your version #) and any new settings you may want to share. Before your post i get errors in 9 minutes or less, your settings got me stable.
That' interesting. I still wouldn't be happy with 1 error in 24hr period but considering your improvement you may be able to improve on that still by tweaking your primaries, secondaries, DRAM voltage, or SOC voltage. Consider reading this link amd-ryzen-memory-tweaking-overclocking-guide

I would think you should at least be able to reach DDR4-2667 with a 4 dimm configuration however that will depend on various factors one of which is your BIOS/UEFI version. I only have 2 dimms but I was able to do DDR4-2933 with stock timings. I think compatibility issues with my board forces me to alter the timings at the rated frequency and it almost sounds like a similar situation you are in but much worse because you have a full load of dimms.

What BIOS version (and AGESA version) are you running? For me AGESA 1.0.0.3AB provided the most compatible results with this memory kit so far. Still waiting for ABBA and hoping I can get my DDR4-3600 overclock back again.

What DRAM voltage are you running?

What do your subtimings look like when you are running them AUTO? (use the new Ryzen Master to see) Interestingly Ryzen Master will show your memory subtimings when you have a Zen2 chip but not Zen+. I picked up a B450 and plugged my prior Zen+ chip in and the same version Ryzen Master wouldn't show me my timings. This was really disappointing considering Ryzen Timing checker doesn't work anymore with newer BIOS/UEFI.

Last edited by A Computer Guy; 10-03-2019 at 08:57 PM.
Reply With Quote


  #29  
Old 10-01-2019, 10:25 AM
emadgreek emadgreek is offline
Registered User
emadgreek's PC Specs
 
Join Date: Sep 2019
Posts: 2
POST ID # = 1019830
emadgreek Reputation: 10
Default 4 sticks CMW32GX4M2C3200C16 Ver 5.32 now at 3000MHz

ROG CROSSHAIR VIII HERO (WI-FI) BIOS 1001 Update AM4 combo PI 1.0.0.3 patch ABBA.

I got it to 3000Mhz with settings below. 1-2 errors a pass on memtest but solid in windows running Overwatch and android blue stacks emulator and streaming all at the same time for hours. Cinebench 20 score of 7013.



As for the 2400MHz it was not auto I was using your settings I found out from your post on 07-19-2019 05:38 PM. Thought it was auto but was trying so many settings and restores from profiles I misspoke.

As for the overclock guide I tried everything to not get 1 or 2 errors. Even at stock speeds always get 1 error or more with 4 dimms. Hammer test is were I get the errors usually.

I found out if Ryzen Master crashes or becomes unresponsive after a certain amount of time, the RAM settings are bad and I need to change them. If Ryzen Master runs for days with no issue I call it stable. I'll wait for more BIOS updates to help but for now I have the profile saved and will tinker with it.
Attached Images
File Type: jpg 1500.JPG (104.7 KB, 14 views)
Reply With Quote


  #30  
Old 10-01-2019, 08:10 PM
A Computer Guy A Computer Guy is offline
Registered User
A Computer Guy's PC Specs
 
Join Date: Jan 2019
Posts: 171
POST ID # = 1019904
A Computer Guy Reputation: 10
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by emadgreek View Post
ROG CROSSHAIR VIII HERO (WI-FI) BIOS 1001 Update AM4 combo PI 1.0.0.3 patch ABBA.

I got it to 3000Mhz with settings below. 1-2 errors a pass on memtest but solid in windows running Overwatch and android blue stacks emulator and streaming all at the same time for hours. Cinebench 20 score of 7013.

[IMG]https://photos.app.********/LfPeZcfyfVctw1NHA[/IMG]

As for the 2400MHz it was not auto I was using your settings I found out from your post on 07-19-2019 05:38 PM. Thought it was auto but was trying so many settings and restores from profiles I misspoke.

As for the overclock guide I tried everything to not get 1 or 2 errors. Even at stock speeds always get 1 error or more with 4 dimms. Hammer test is were I get the errors usually.

I found out if Ryzen Master crashes or becomes unresponsive after a certain amount of time, the RAM settings are bad and I need to change them. If Ryzen Master runs for days with no issue I call it stable. I'll wait for more BIOS updates to help but for now I have the profile saved and will tinker with it.
What is your DRAM voltage set to?

Also you can try bumping your SOC to 1.1v. On my board it defaults to 1.1v SOC when Zen2 cpu is installed.

I noticed your RAS Active Time is higher (probably because you have 4 dimms). I think you may want to adjust Row Cycle Time as this was the real pain with my kit. You may consider walking it up from 58 to 62 and see if that helps.

I've never gotten an error with the hammer test. Try with Trfc to 530.

I had another thought about your situation. You combined 2 kits of 2 so there is a possibility of some incompatibility because they weren't tested together as a 4 dimm kit. If you still know what dimms were originally paired together you may want to ensure each matched kit occupies one channel.

For example: where a and b represent channels, and k1 and k2 represent kit 1 and 2, try this configuration when installing 2 kits (2 dimms each)

a1 with k1a
b1 with k2a
a2 with k1b
b2 with k2b

concluding with a miscellaneous fun fact: I was able to ramp this ram up to DDR4-3800 at 1.38v and pass memtest86. Unfortunately I don't think my board can handle it and it crashes when loading windows. I haven't quite figured out how to stabilize it. My cpu can do an FCLK of 1900 as well so getting to a stable DDR4-3800 would be a real win.

Last edited by A Computer Guy; 10-03-2019 at 09:45 PM.
Reply With Quote


Reply

Tags
agesa, ryzen

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 01:55 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2019, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.