The Corsair User Forums  

Go Back   The Corsair User Forums > Corsair Product Discussion > Cases

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Rate Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 08-17-2019, 11:41 AM
Pepijn Pepijn is offline
Quite a newbie
Pepijn's PC Specs
 
Join Date: Aug 2019
Location: Netherlands
Posts: 4
POST ID # = 1014930
Pepijn Reputation: 10
Question Will the 780T hardware fan controller work with fans like the LL120 RGB fans?

Hello,

I'm new here, quite recently made my build (which, as you can see, contains only Corsair stuff except the mobo and graphics card). It was largely by accident, but it turns out all of my build is from Corsair, so I guess this is the best place to ask questions.

I'm looking to (later, probably for Christmas) replace the front fans of the 780T as I don't like the way the led lights shine. One option is to replace them by either 3x LL120 RGB or by 2x LL140 RGB, both with a Lighting Node Pro.

However, the front and back fans are controlled using the front panel, hence only using hardware (no connection to the mobo). According to user c-attack in this thread, the front panel controller is a DC controller. The LL series are PWM.

So: is it possible to control the fans using the front panel, while controlling it's RGB with the Lighting Node Pro (via USB 2.0)? I clearly have no idea what DC and PWM mean here, so maybe this question is trivial, but I really don't know.

Thank you in advance!
Reply With Quote


  #2  
Old 08-17-2019, 12:24 PM
c-attack c-attack is offline
Registered User
c-attack's PC Specs
 
Join Date: Jun 2014
Posts: 9,359
POST ID # = 1014933
c-attack c-attack Reputation: 107
Default

The reverse is true here and the 4 pin PWM fans like the HD, LL, and ML series will not work with the case fan controller. The case controller sets the voltage to 5, 7, or 12v.
PWM fans need 12v all the time. It's full speed or nothing. You would want to power and control the fans from your motherboard or another PWM fan controller, like a Commander Pro.

Also be aware most current RGB fans are not just plug and play. There are additional requirements with one power path for lighting and and another for actual fan power/speed control. If you have not already seen it, review the guide thread below.

Zotty's Guide
Reply With Quote


  #3  
Old 08-17-2019, 02:51 PM
Pepijn Pepijn is offline
Quite a newbie
Pepijn's PC Specs
 
Join Date: Aug 2019
Location: Netherlands
Posts: 4
POST ID # = 1014948
Pepijn Reputation: 10
Default

I see, thank you very much. In that case, is there a way to feed the 5/7/12v message to the Commander Pro such that it can set the fans correspondingly? Or will I have to do it all via software?
Reply With Quote


  #4  
Old 08-17-2019, 04:47 PM
DevBiker's Avatar
DevBiker DevBiker is offline
CORSAIR Beta Team
DevBiker's PC Specs
 
Join Date: Feb 2017
Location: Republic of Texas
Posts: 7,647
POST ID # = 1014952
DevBiker Reputation: 88
Default

All via software.
__________________
Please click "Edit System Specs" and fill out your system info.

This comment is provided "as-is", without warranty of any kind, express or implied, including, but not limited to, the sanity or mental fitness of the author. The author is not a Corsair employee, does not represent Corsair, and no comment should be construed as an official statement from Corsair.

Reply With Quote


  #5  
Old 08-18-2019, 04:00 AM
Pepijn Pepijn is offline
Quite a newbie
Pepijn's PC Specs
 
Join Date: Aug 2019
Location: Netherlands
Posts: 4
POST ID # = 1014983
Pepijn Reputation: 10
Default

Thank you for your clear reply. Then, as a final question:

The front panel has a SATA and a molex power cable. If I were to connect the fans to a NoPro or CoPro instead, does that mean the SATA cable is freed up? Or will disconnecting the sata power disable some leds or buttons (aside from the fan speed button)?
Reply With Quote


  #6  
Old 08-18-2019, 07:50 AM
c-attack c-attack is offline
Registered User
c-attack's PC Specs
 
Join Date: Jun 2014
Posts: 9,359
POST ID # = 1014990
c-attack c-attack Reputation: 107
Default

As far as I know, that is for fan power only. Most cases have those same functions and do not draw power from anything besides the motherboard single connector wires (at least until you turn the front of the case into a Las Vegas style lighting display). You should be able to use that SATA PSU cable for the Commander Pro, RGB Lighting Hub, etc
Reply With Quote


  #7  
Old 08-18-2019, 10:17 AM
Pepijn Pepijn is offline
Quite a newbie
Pepijn's PC Specs
 
Join Date: Aug 2019
Location: Netherlands
Posts: 4
POST ID # = 1015003
Pepijn Reputation: 10
Default

Okay, thank you very much! That resolves all my questions.
Reply With Quote


  #8  
Old 09-09-2019, 06:43 PM
Talon1's Avatar
Talon1 Talon1 is offline
Talon1
Talon1's PC Specs
 
Join Date: Feb 2018
Location: Toronto Ontario Canada.
Posts: 16
POST ID # = 1017550
Talon1 Reputation: 10
Default

I'm running 4 120mm ML fans and 1 140mm ML fan of the 780T fan controller. No issues.
I always run the fans on the second speed. Plenty of cooling. No noise.
The rgb is controlled by the lighting node.
Reply With Quote


Reply

Tags
front panel, graphite series 780t, ll120, ll140

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 11:13 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2019, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.