The Corsair User Forums  

Go Back   The Corsair User Forums > Corsair Product Discussion > Legacy Corsair Software

 
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Rate Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 04-24-2015, 06:41 PM
lexxor lexxor is offline
Registered User
lexxor's PC Specs
 
Join Date: Apr 2015
Posts: 13
POST ID # = 774769
lexxor Reputation: 10
Default 1.20 FW CUE 1.5.108 Observations/defects

Just wanted to quickly post my experience with the new sw/fw update:

Defects no longer re-producible in 1.20/1.5.108
1. Steam apps locking keyboard lighting.
2. Slow boot up times in Win8.1/x64 observed with earlier version of CUE/FW.

New defect:
1. After inputting password and pressing return at the win8.1 login screen. System is unresponsive for about 20 seconds (mouse cursor still moves, pw edit cursor still blinks) and then normal login process continues (and from what I can tell at the "normal" speed).

2. While booting a dialog box with the following content appeared:
Caption HID: CorsairHID.exe - Ordinal Not Found
Message The ordinal 4429 could not be located in the dynamic link library C:\Program Files (x86)\Intel\iCLS Client\ssleay32.dll.

After clicking "OK" to dismiss the popup notification, CUE loaded and appears to be operating without error.


  #2  
Old 04-24-2015, 06:44 PM
Inheritance's Avatar
Inheritance Inheritance is offline
CORSAIR Beta Team
 
Join Date: Jul 2013
Location: Somewhere in Texas
Posts: 5,306
POST ID # = 774771
Inheritance Reputation: 70
Default

Uninstall CUE restart then reinstall it and see if you still get the error with CUE
__________________
Colors of the RAINBOW shine so bright!
USER IS NOT A CORSAIR EMPLOYEE
Come Join My Discord =(^.^)= [iCUE Guide]
Corsair USER Forums is NOT Corsair Tech Support


  #3  
Old 04-24-2015, 07:02 PM
Corsair James's Avatar
Corsair James Corsair James is offline
iCUE Product Manager
 
Join Date: Oct 2013
Location: Fremont, CA
Posts: 4,489
POST ID # = 774785
Corsair James Reputation: 75
Default

Are you also using the latest USB drivers for your motherboard? The second problem seems to be more of a system related issue.


  #4  
Old 04-24-2015, 07:27 PM
lexxor lexxor is offline
Registered User
lexxor's PC Specs
 
Join Date: Apr 2015
Posts: 13
POST ID # = 774803
lexxor Reputation: 10
Default

Did as suggested, still observing the same behavior. At this point I'm not entirely convinced that #1 is strictly related to CUE, I need to do more investigation with my specific software configuration.

As for #2:
According to the MB's manufacturer the USB drivers are at the latest revision.

Looks like ssleay32.dll is an OpenSSL shared lib. My guess is CUE uses SSL when querying your servers to check for product updates and something isn't playing right, or it could be something entirely different depending on CUE's dependency chain.

I'll update the Intel Management Engine Interface package and report back. I believe that package contains ssleay32.dll and my MB mfg has an update available.


  #5  
Old 04-24-2015, 07:41 PM
lexxor lexxor is offline
Registered User
lexxor's PC Specs
 
Join Date: Apr 2015
Posts: 13
POST ID # = 774813
lexxor Reputation: 10
Default

I think that fixed it. Updated Intel Management Engine Interface package from motherboard manufacture's website, rebooted a couple times, and haven't been able to reproduce #2.


  #6  
Old 04-24-2015, 07:43 PM
Corsair James's Avatar
Corsair James Corsair James is offline
iCUE Product Manager
 
Join Date: Oct 2013
Location: Fremont, CA
Posts: 4,489
POST ID # = 774815
Corsair James Reputation: 75
Default

Excellent. Thanks for sharing the info! This will be good knowledge if someone searches for the same error in the future.


  #7  
Old 04-25-2015, 08:42 AM
XenoRad XenoRad is offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Dec 2014
Posts: 11
POST ID # = 775061
XenoRad Reputation: 10
Default

Hello,

I'm also having a problem with this latest update. After updating CUE to 1.5.108 I also wanted to update the firmware to 1.2. After the firmware update dialog box with the progress bar opened and closed quickly (I guess it updated) I could no longer access the Profiles Option and on Settings - Device the keyboard is listed with Status: Malfunction. At this point another firmware update if started will get stuck at 3%.

I've tried reinstalling the software, plugging and unplugging the device, restarting the PC in various variants. Simply put I cannot get this keyboard to work the way it did before the update on the same USB 3.0 port.

I've tried to plug the keyboard in another USB 3.0 port and after Windows installed the relevant drivers CUE worked as it should have and the firmware listed was 1.20 so I guess the update went through well the first time.

Can I please get some help here, or do I have to register another account to access Technical Support and open a ticket? I understand several of us are having pretty much the same problems with this new update.


  #8  
Old 04-25-2015, 11:19 AM
robztr's Avatar
robztr robztr is offline
Registered User
robztr's PC Specs
 
Join Date: Apr 2003
Location: Sweden
Posts: 16
POST ID # = 775110
robztr Reputation: 10
Default

I just saw that when i reboot now the keyboard is all black until i get back to windows then it loads the profile.
Before it loaded the profile that was saved to the device during boot.
Just wondering if this is something they implemented with new update?
Can people please confirm this.
Thanx


  #9  
Old 04-25-2015, 11:26 AM
Inheritance's Avatar
Inheritance Inheritance is offline
CORSAIR Beta Team
 
Join Date: Jul 2013
Location: Somewhere in Texas
Posts: 5,306
POST ID # = 775118
Inheritance Reputation: 70
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by XenoRad View Post
Hello,

I'm also having a problem with this latest update. After updating CUE to 1.5.108 I also wanted to update the firmware to 1.2. After the firmware update dialog box with the progress bar opened and closed quickly (I guess it updated) I could no longer access the Profiles Option and on Settings - Device the keyboard is listed with Status: Malfunction. At this point another firmware update if started will get stuck at 3%.

I've tried reinstalling the software, plugging and unplugging the device, restarting the PC in various variants. Simply put I cannot get this keyboard to work the way it did before the update on the same USB 3.0 port.

I've tried to plug the keyboard in another USB 3.0 port and after Windows installed the relevant drivers CUE worked as it should have and the firmware listed was 1.20 so I guess the update went through well the first time.

Can I please get some help here, or do I have to register another account to access Technical Support and open a ticket? I understand several of us are having pretty much the same problems with this new update.
Try changing the polling rate with the switch in the back.
__________________
Colors of the RAINBOW shine so bright!
USER IS NOT A CORSAIR EMPLOYEE
Come Join My Discord =(^.^)= [iCUE Guide]
Corsair USER Forums is NOT Corsair Tech Support


  #10  
Old 04-25-2015, 03:56 PM
XenoRad XenoRad is offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Dec 2014
Posts: 11
POST ID # = 775211
XenoRad Reputation: 10
Default

Moving the switch on the back did somewhat fix it. Thank you.
I do hope that a more permanent fix can be found so that I can turn the switch to what it was.

Update: I moved the keyboard to another USB 3.0 port and now I can reuse all of my original polling rates. What did change in the CUE/firmware that it made it no longer like using my original USB 3.0 port (the top right one next to the port for the mouse)?

Another thing I notices is that for some reason all the keys on the top row (profile keys, lighting key, windows key disable) except for mute remain white regardless of the color set for them in the profile.

Last edited by XenoRad; 04-26-2015 at 05:18 AM.


  #11  
Old 04-27-2015, 01:46 AM
Corsair James's Avatar
Corsair James Corsair James is offline
iCUE Product Manager
 
Join Date: Oct 2013
Location: Fremont, CA
Posts: 4,489
POST ID # = 775592
Corsair James Reputation: 75
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by XenoRad View Post
Moving the switch on the back did somewhat fix it. Thank you.
I do hope that a more permanent fix can be found so that I can turn the switch to what it was.

Update: I moved the keyboard to another USB 3.0 port and now I can reuse all of my original polling rates. What did change in the CUE/firmware that it made it no longer like using my original USB 3.0 port (the top right one next to the port for the mouse)?

Another thing I notices is that for some reason all the keys on the top row (profile keys, lighting key, windows key disable) except for mute remain white regardless of the color set for them in the profile.
Nothing changed in the protocol to make one port different from another but I can investigate it.

As for the white color, did you set a color through indicator, or just assignment?


  #12  
Old 04-28-2015, 01:58 PM
XenoRad XenoRad is offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Dec 2014
Posts: 11
POST ID # = 776041
XenoRad Reputation: 10
Default

Okay, I managed to move the keyboard back to its original USB 3.0 port. And it seems to work well on the 500hz/2 msec setting.

The thing is that after each computer restart depending on the polling switch the software will either allow the Profiles option and list the keyboard as Works normally under Status, or grey out the Profiles option and list the keyboard as malfunction under Status.

Since Saturday this has kept changing. Perhaps it will stabilize.

Now I noticed the option to set a color through indicator. It does work now, thank you.


  #13  
Old 04-28-2015, 07:58 PM
Corsair James's Avatar
Corsair James Corsair James is offline
iCUE Product Manager
 
Join Date: Oct 2013
Location: Fremont, CA
Posts: 4,489
POST ID # = 776104
Corsair James Reputation: 75
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by XenoRad View Post
Okay, I managed to move the keyboard back to its original USB 3.0 port. And it seems to work well on the 500hz/2 msec setting.

The thing is that after each computer restart depending on the polling switch the software will either allow the Profiles option and list the keyboard as Works normally under Status, or grey out the Profiles option and list the keyboard as malfunction under Status.

Since Saturday this has kept changing. Perhaps it will stabilize.

Now I noticed the option to set a color through indicator. It does work now, thank you.
I don't know if you've done so yet but also make sure you're on the latest BIOS and chipset/USB drivers too to rule everything out.


  #14  
Old 04-28-2015, 11:31 PM
egret85 egret85 is offline
Registered User
egret85's PC Specs
 
Join Date: Apr 2015
Posts: 25
POST ID # = 776139
egret85 Reputation: 10
Default

With the new update, CUE defaults to the first profile in the list when a UAC prompt is the active window.

This would make sense if a profile was linked to UAC, but it is not. The default profile should stay active unless a application linked to a profile is active at which point it should switch the the configured profile for that application. The only other time it should switch from the default profile is when you lock the machine, which causes it to use the hardware saved profile. The profile that CUE is changing to during a UAC prompt is neither the hardware saved profile, the default profile, or a profile linked to any application.


  #15  
Old 04-29-2015, 08:07 PM
Corsair James's Avatar
Corsair James Corsair James is offline
iCUE Product Manager
 
Join Date: Oct 2013
Location: Fremont, CA
Posts: 4,489
POST ID # = 776384
Corsair James Reputation: 75
Default

This may be linked to the issue we're having where alt tabbing (which brings up the task switcher) is making the profile switch to default. We are in the middle of resolving it now.


 

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 03:59 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2020, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.