The Corsair User Forums  

Go Back   The Corsair User Forums > Corsair Product Discussion > iCUE Software

Notices

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Rate Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 09-02-2019, 04:30 PM
GS1981 GS1981 is offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Mar 2016
Posts: 55
POST ID # = 1016573
GS1981 Reputation: 10
Default Corsair icue sodtware causing major fps problems

HI, this took me a long time to figure out, 3 formats and process of elimination that almost saw me RMA my 2080ti.

I have now got nothing installed but the latest build of Windows 10 and Nvidia drivers and a couple of games tha ti have been testing (GTA V, Redout, Battlefield 1)

I have now figured out that with the icue software installed in my machine, i can barely run GTA 5 at 15fps or Battlefield 1 at a stable frame rate, it bounces from 70-10fps, i uninstalled the software and now i have a perfect frame rate to the capability of my pc (100hz monitor so all games stable at 100fps).

Is there anything i can do to fix this? i own a k70 Rapidfire,dark core mouse, the rgb mouse mat and the Corsair Void Pro and the rgb headset holder, without the software i can't use any of them correctly (light settings, mouse settings etc) .

The only thing that could be conflicting with it and causing it might be my Logitech Ghub software for my speakers?

I only got the speakers on my birthday on the 27th, but i had noticed my gpu downgrading in performance for a few months to the point games become unusable, however with icue uninstalled, i get perfect fps again in my games like when i first bought it.
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 09-02-2019, 04:51 PM
c-attack c-attack is offline
Registered User
c-attack's PC Specs
 
Join Date: Jun 2014
Posts: 9,568
POST ID # = 1016582
c-attack c-attack Reputation: 107
Default

If you are using iCUE 3.19, I suggest rolling back to 3.18. There appears to be a definite problem for some users with unexpected system interrupts that bog down the CPU. This is most obvious in higher load CPU games with odd frame drops in otherwise smooth places.

If this is the case, you might be the first person I have seen with DDR3 and presumably non-RGB memory. I had speculated that was a primary cause, but it may be more complicated than that if others without it are also affected.
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 09-02-2019, 04:55 PM
GS1981 GS1981 is offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Mar 2016
Posts: 55
POST ID # = 1016584
GS1981 Reputation: 10
Default

I don't have DDR 3? i have DDR4 Corsair memory 3000mhz :S

My system is

Windows 10 Pro x64
Acer Predator X34a
i7-6700k
Corsair h115i
Nvidia MSI Ventus 2080ti OC
16gb of ddr4 3000mhz (Corsair Vengeance LED)
3 x samsung evo 870 ssds
Corsair HX750i psu
Logitech G560 RGB Speakers

Corsair RGB peripherals are

K70 Rapidire
Dark Core Mouse
Void Pro
the RGB headset holder
the RGB mouse mat

I'll try the previous driver and see if it makes a difference.

Edit: ahh i see, i haven't updated my specs on this website for about 5 years haha

Last edited by GS1981; 09-02-2019 at 05:45 PM.
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 09-02-2019, 05:03 PM
GS1981 GS1981 is offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Mar 2016
Posts: 55
POST ID # = 1016587
GS1981 Reputation: 10
Default

Where can i get the 3.18 version? on the official website i can only see the latest.
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 09-02-2019, 05:24 PM
GS1981 GS1981 is offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Mar 2016
Posts: 55
POST ID # = 1016590
GS1981 Reputation: 10
Default

OK i got them off of Softpedia, i'm still getting CPU problems in GTA V even with these older drivers, i have lost about 30fps, which is not as crazy as before but still not very good, is anything else i can do?

Last edited by GS1981; 09-02-2019 at 05:44 PM.
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 09-02-2019, 06:43 PM
c-attack c-attack is offline
Registered User
c-attack's PC Specs
 
Join Date: Jun 2014
Posts: 9,568
POST ID # = 1016602
c-attack c-attack Reputation: 107
Default

Quit iCUE and kill the Corsair.service in the task manager to see if that turns things around. That may only be problematic for the Void. Everything else should still work. Then at least you know if you are looking in the right place. Obviously this is a troubleshooting step and not a solution.

Make sure you aren't trying to use Gsync in windowed mode. This causes too many problems with all the little graphs in iCUE. Most people are good back on 3.18. If performance is better with iCUE closed, try a repair install of 3.18. Go to the Settings->Apps in in Windows. Click on iCUE and follow the directions for Modify.
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 09-02-2019, 06:53 PM
GS1981 GS1981 is offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Mar 2016
Posts: 55
POST ID # = 1016603
GS1981 Reputation: 10
Default

Now since installing icue 3.18 and uninstalling i'm stuck with the problem, even without having it in my system, my fps is messed up again, it was fine until i installed that, now i'm having awful cpu problems.
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 09-02-2019, 07:09 PM
thestu thestu is offline
Registered User
thestu's PC Specs
 
Join Date: Aug 2019
Posts: 30
POST ID # = 1016606
thestu Reputation: 25
Default

Similar problem in the following thread:

https://forum.corsair.com/v3/showthread.php?t=189897
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 09-02-2019, 08:16 PM
xJ3ST3R xJ3ST3R is offline
Registered User
xJ3ST3R's PC Specs
 
Join Date: Sep 2019
Posts: 5
POST ID # = 1016616
xJ3ST3R Reputation: 10
Default

New member here, I can confirm as well there are major problems present with the latest version of iCue. I had forgotten it recently updated and also did a few other updates to my machine soon after, thinking those other updates caused problems. I decided to wipe my drive and start with a fresh install of Windows 10.

I ran Unigine Valley benchmark soon after the fresh install was ready and my frame rate was back up where it should be. The moment I installed Corsair iCUE - yeah.... check out the results below.

Unigine Valley Benchmark 1.0 (With Corsair iCUE 3.19)
FPS: 37.8
Score: 1582
Min FPS: 11.7
Max FPS: 126.6

Unigine Valley Benchmark 1.0 (No Corsair iCUE installed)
FPS: 174.2
Score: 7289
Min FPS: 32.7
Max FPS: 282.7

I noticed immediate stuttering in GTA5 after 3.19 was installed, as well as other games like ArmA 3. I have not tested 3.18 yet - its pretty dumb to not offer previous software version download links - c'mon Corsair...that's not nice.

Anyway, just another person here to confirm the software is bad.
Reply With Quote
  #10  
Old 09-02-2019, 08:29 PM
thestu thestu is offline
Registered User
thestu's PC Specs
 
Join Date: Aug 2019
Posts: 30
POST ID # = 1016618
thestu Reputation: 25
Default

3.18:

http://downloads.corsair.com/Files/C...77_release.msi
Reply With Quote
  #11  
Old 09-02-2019, 08:40 PM
GS1981 GS1981 is offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Mar 2016
Posts: 55
POST ID # = 1016619
GS1981 Reputation: 10
Default

Thanks for the feedback guys, it looks like 3.18 does still hit your fps, not as bad but it does, but its better than have keyboards with no lights etc.
Reply With Quote
  #12  
Old 09-02-2019, 09:40 PM
Mussels Mussels is offline
Registered User
Mussels's PC Specs
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Posts: 119
POST ID # = 1016621
Mussels Reputation: 10
Default

Check two things (other threads in this forum)

1. The Gsync thread - follow their steps, see if it helps. Icue uses GPU acceleration for some reason.

2. This may be what Ryzen users like myself are fighting with, where all the CPU cores are locked on, which prevents turbo from working and hurting FPS

Both combined could explain why you've got such a massive performance hit.
Reply With Quote
  #13  
Old 09-02-2019, 10:05 PM
thestu thestu is offline
Registered User
thestu's PC Specs
 
Join Date: Aug 2019
Posts: 30
POST ID # = 1016627
thestu Reputation: 25
Default

Actually, what is happening with 3.19 is that for some reasons it is causing a lot of hardware interrupts to the CPU. In consequence, it's causing some latency to other stuff that is also doing interrupts such as drivers, like video and audio. This is why we see a performance hit in games. This can be validated with 2 things:

Take a look at your task manager under performance tab. Right click on the graph and select show graph as logical cores. Look for CPU0 to see if it is constant high usage about 60-100%. In process details, hardware interrupts will show as 4-8% usage depending on the numbers of core/threads you have.

The other thing I used to troubleshoot is Latency Mon or DPC Checker. It can show if there is latency caused by hardware interrupts, bad hardware or bad drivers. In my case it is the high number of hardware interrupts that was causing the performance hit.

Anyway, the solution for now is to downgrade to 3.18.

Last edited by thestu; 09-02-2019 at 10:07 PM.
Reply With Quote
  #14  
Old 09-03-2019, 10:42 PM
xJ3ST3R xJ3ST3R is offline
Registered User
xJ3ST3R's PC Specs
 
Join Date: Sep 2019
Posts: 5
POST ID # = 1016760
xJ3ST3R Reputation: 10
Default

So I installed iCUESetup_3.18.77_release and it does not detect any of my Corsair devices, then immediately crashes. Uninstalled, reinstalled, rebooted, same thing.

I have a H115i Pro and it really sucks not being able to make any changes to it.
Reply With Quote
  #15  
Old 09-04-2019, 01:03 AM
c-attack c-attack is offline
Registered User
c-attack's PC Specs
 
Join Date: Jun 2014
Posts: 9,568
POST ID # = 1016771
c-attack c-attack Reputation: 107
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by xJ3ST3 R View Post
So I installed iCUESetup_3.18.77_release and it does not detect any of my Corsair devices, then immediately crashes. Uninstalled, reinstalled, rebooted, same thing.

I have a H115i Pro and it really sucks not being able to make any changes to it.
You aren’t going to be able to keep your profiles and settings. Once you updated to 3.19 they became marked. Going backwards is problematic on some versions. Kill iCUE in the task manager. Make a copy of your C:Users/(name)/App Data (hidden)/roaming/Corsair and paste it to the desktop. Then delete the original file location. Start iCUE. You will have to set it all up again and be without existing profiles
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 11:32 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2019, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.