The Corsair User Forums  

Go Back   The Corsair User Forums > Corsair Product Discussion > Systems > CORSAIR ONE

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Rate Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 09-12-2019, 03:15 AM
Spiraali Spiraali is offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Sep 2019
Posts: 2
POST ID # = 1017897
Spiraali Reputation: 10
Default Random shutdowns and reboots

My Corsair One is experiencing random shutdowns and reboots. It's about a 1 1/2 years old. This problem started about a month ago around the time of the 1903 windows update.

There would be a short pause of freezing and then sometimes (but not always) a red or white screen for a fraction of a second. Then a complete shut down and instantly a reboot would follow. This happened rarely at first and only during playing games (like once or twice a week). Then it started to happen more frequently and also during idle or minor activities like browsing the web. It happens more rarely during idle. Yesterday it happened when opening a new tab.

So it feels like it's happening because of more intense usage of the system. All the temperatures are acceptable during games and idle so it doesn't seem to have anything to do with heat. There is always a Kernel-power (41) critical in the event viewer and just prior to that there is an error (volmgr 161) that says a dump file could not be made.

I feel like the problem could be with the power unit or maybe even the video card but my knowledge on the matter is limited so can't be sure. BUT it could also be the problem with the Windows 1903 update that has been reported:

https://www.reddit.com/r/Windows10/c...tions/ez8vjxl/

https://windowsreport.com/windows-10...ndom-restarts/

https://www.reddit.com/r/Windows10/c..._2019/ewt1vpo/

I also thoroughly made sure that the ssd and hdd are working correctly. I have also run the system scan from the Corsair diagnostic app and everything seems to be ok. Windows and all drivers (including display) are updated to the latest versions. I also did a full reset on the system and still the problem continues.

I also submitted a ticket with the number 2000837735 but no response yet. So if anyone has any ideas on what to do next?
Reply With Quote


  #2  
Old 09-13-2019, 02:14 PM
Corsair StormShadow's Avatar
Corsair StormShadow Corsair StormShadow is offline
Corsair Employee
 
Join Date: Feb 2016
Posts: 567
POST ID # = 1018080
Corsair StormShadow Reputation: 10
Default

I will have someone look into your ticket for you and we will solve this issue over the ticket you have created.
Reply With Quote


  #3  
Old 09-19-2019, 06:51 PM
OlivierBeirens OlivierBeirens is offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Sep 2019
Posts: 2
POST ID # = 1018751
OlivierBeirens Reputation: 10
Default

got prety much the same thing going on so i would realy apreciate knowing how this turned out... also submitted a ticket and messaged on facebook. I do feel like they have there hands full at corsair ATM cause of this issue happening to other people all over the world. plz let me know when you found a fix. i tried updating al drivers, rolling back to previous updates blowing out the dust etc.

thx in advance!
Reply With Quote


  #4  
Old 09-20-2019, 02:32 AM
Spiraali Spiraali is offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Sep 2019
Posts: 2
POST ID # = 1018804
Spiraali Reputation: 10
Default

On my end it became clear that the issue was a hardware thing. After all the possible testing, settings changes and multiple Windows resets I decided to try to do a clean install from a USB stick. The system froze in the middle of the selecting languages. So that told me that the issue was a hardware problem because it happened outside Windows.

One thing I did do was that I took the automatic reboot on system failure setting off. When the issue happened the system just froze and did not shutdown. So most likely the issue was not a power related thing.

Now I have requested a replacement, sent the faulty unit to Corsair and now I'm waiting on the the new one. Haven't been sent the tracking number though yet.

The customer support with messages was and is slow but by calling I got fast service. The DHL shipping was super fast. So I would suggest to call the support. That is the fastest way get help.
Reply With Quote


Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 11:43 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2019, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.