The Corsair User Forums  

Go Back   The Corsair User Forums > Corsair Product Discussion > Keyboards and Mice

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Rating: Thread Rating: 159 votes, 5.00 average. Display Modes
  #16  
Old 10-12-2012, 01:03 PM
Miethen Miethen is offline
Registered User
Miethen's PC Specs
 
Join Date: Oct 2012
Posts: 3
POST ID # = 607409
Miethen Reputation: 10
Default

same problem here! Pls help!
Quote:
Originally Posted by Pharonic View Post
Hey, I was able to follow all the steps except i got stuck on 12) I get an error saying the folder i chose does not have compatible drivers. I installed it "C:\Program Files (x86)\Corsair\K90 firmware update\Driver\X64" here and i have 5 items inside that folder. (CORSGKB, CORSGKB.sys, corsgkb64, diunins64 and dpinst". I tried it on two different machines and i can't get past that stage. Any suggestions? I Am running windows 7 64bit on 1 machine and widows 8 on the other.

Reply With Quote


  #17  
Old 10-12-2012, 09:47 PM
Toasted Toasted is offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Apr 2011
Posts: 19,342
POST ID # = 607498
Toasted Toasted Reputation: 108
Default

Click dpinst.exe instead and see if that solves it.
Reply With Quote


  #18  
Old 11-02-2012, 08:41 PM
Shadowfax Shadowfax is offline
Registered User
Shadowfax's PC Specs
 
Join Date: Oct 2012
Posts: 4
POST ID # = 611160
Shadowfax Reputation: 10
Default

so i went through all these steps and fixed my k90, is it safe to try and install the software again to get the macro keys working?
Reply With Quote


  #19  
Old 11-02-2012, 10:03 PM
Toasted Toasted is offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Apr 2011
Posts: 19,342
POST ID # = 611172
Toasted Toasted Reputation: 108
Default

Install the latest software and configure your G-Keys.

If the K90 dies again, Request an RMA to replace the K90.
Reply With Quote


  #20  
Old 11-16-2012, 11:34 AM
gearstik1 gearstik1 is offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Nov 2012
Posts: 1
POST ID # = 613874
gearstik1 Reputation: 10
Default 'Bricked k90 **Fixed** Issues at step 21 Fix

Quoted from: http://forum.corsair.com/v3/showthread.php?t=104856

I followed LordLobo's Steps until I encounted an issue at step 21.

aaaaaaaaaaaaaa
Quote:
Originally Posted by LordLobo View Post
STEPS:
1) Make sure you have the K90_setup_beta2.12_010602 driver kit unzipped somewhere.
2) MOST IMPORTANT STEP Go to Start->Control Panel->Power Options->Change Plan Settings->Change Advanced Power Settings->USB Settings->USB selective suspend setting->Disabled
3) Plug your K90 into a DIRECT USB 2.0 PORT on your machine.
4) Go to Start->Devices and Printers.
5) Right-click on KBD BOOT LOADER and select 'Properties'
6) Click on the Hardware tab. You should see 'HID Keyboard Device' and another item (I forgot what it says, but it shouldn't say 'Corsair Gaming Keyboard'). Select the other item, then click 'Properties'
7) Click on the 'Change Settings' button on the first page of the Properties dialog
8) Click on 'Update Driver'
9) Select 'Browse my computer for driver software'
10) Select 'Let me pick from a list of device drivers on my computer'
11) Click 'Have Disk' It might look for your a: drive first (good old windows)
12) In the box 'copy manufacturer's files from put 'C:\Program Files (x86)\corsair\K90 firmware update\Driver\X64'
13) You should be able to select the Corsair driver somehow. When your done Your 'KBD BOOT LOADER' properties should have 'Corsair Gaming Keyboard' and 'HID Keyboard Device'
14) Select the HID Keyboard Device
15) Click 'Change Settings'
16) Click the Driver Tab
17) Click 'Uninstall'. Windows will cry about this. Let it do it's thing
18) Once you 'OK' everything they K90 won't work at all. DON'T PANIC! You should also not see KBD BOOT LOADER in Devices and Printers
19) UNINSTALL K90 EVERYTHING
20) Run 'K90FirmwareUpdate_v107.exe' from the driver package
21) When setup is done, run the Firmware Updater and fire it off.
22) OH YEAH - It should complete at this point. Your keyboard won't light up just now. DON'T PANIC!
23) Unplug the K90 from it's current port. Plug it into another one.
24) Run 'K90 setup beta.2.12 010612.exe'.
25) Keyboard should light up. All keys should work. Enjoy the fact that you don't need to ship your $120 keyboard anywhere, and you have some sweet clicky justice!
When running the FW updater, It came up with "Set update mode failed!"

So what I did was,

1. I went into Devices and Printers, Right clicked on KBD Boot Loader and clicked Properties
2. Went into Hardware and there was only one Device function there which "USB input device"
3. Then I went into Properties of that, Selected the Driver Tab, and selected "Update Driver..."
4. Then I clicked "Browse My Computer For Driver Software"
5. I then Clicked on "Let me pcik from a list of device drivers on my computer"
6. I Selected USB Input device, The only one there, clicked next, and it Lit up
7. Then I had to start the software control panel thingy to get things like shift and holding down backspace to work, but it works great now.


I couldn't find a thread on the problem that I had and fixed, so I'm guessing it's only me that had the problem, but its here for anyone else who might have it.

Last edited by Technobeard; 11-17-2012 at 06:40 AM. Reason: edited to fix the quote
Reply With Quote


  #21  
Old 11-16-2012, 06:28 PM
RAM GUY's Avatar
RAM GUY RAM GUY is offline
Corsair Product Guru
 
Join Date: Apr 2001
Location: Fremont, CA
Posts: 118,268
POST ID # = 613982
RAM GUY Reputation: 10
Default

Thanks for the update, I'll merge this with the original sticky!
__________________
Support accounts and tickets can be created at https://support.corsair.com.

Last edited by Technobeard; 11-17-2012 at 06:40 AM. Reason: removed large quote
Reply With Quote


  #22  
Old 11-19-2012, 08:30 PM
Shadowfax Shadowfax is offline
Registered User
Shadowfax's PC Specs
 
Join Date: Oct 2012
Posts: 4
POST ID # = 614407
Shadowfax Reputation: 10
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by gearstik1 View Post
Quoted from: http://forum.corsair.com/v3/showthread.php?t=104856

I followed LordLobo's Steps until I encounted an issue at step 21.

aaaaaaaaaaaaaa

When running the FW updater, It came up with "Set update mode failed!"

So what I did was,

1. I went into Devices and Printers, Right clicked on KBD Boot Loader and clicked Properties
2. Went into Hardware and there was only one Device function there which "USB input device"
3. Then I went into Properties of that, Selected the Driver Tab, and selected "Update Driver..."
4. Then I clicked "Browse My Computer For Driver Software"
5. I then Clicked on "Let me pcik from a list of device drivers on my computer"
6. I Selected USB Input device, The only one there, clicked next, and it Lit up
7. Then I had to start the software control panel thingy to get things like shift and holding down backspace to work, but it works great now.


I couldn't find a thread on the problem that I had and fixed, so I'm guessing it's only me that had the problem, but its here for anyone else who might have it.

i think the same thing happened to me, i just cursed a lot and tried it again and that worked for me
Reply With Quote


  #23  
Old 12-03-2012, 01:30 PM
deredox deredox is offline
Registered User
deredox's PC Specs
 
Join Date: Apr 2012
Location: The Netherlands
Posts: 3
POST ID # = 617257
deredox Reputation: 10
Default

awesome this worked for me!! keyboard should light up after step 23 already!
Reply With Quote


  #24  
Old 12-04-2012, 07:59 AM
tsiknus tsiknus is offline
Registered User
tsiknus's PC Specs
 
Join Date: Dec 2012
Posts: 2
POST ID # = 617446
tsiknus Reputation: 10
Default

Hi everyone. I did everything you guys told me and still, my macros and media keys are not working properly and my "D" is not lighting up albeit I have had this keyboard for only a few hours. I remember it working perfectly before I installed drivers. I did all those steps, etc and I came back to square one. Please help! Oh and I am on Windows 7 64 bit.

Last edited by tsiknus; 12-04-2012 at 08:15 AM.
Reply With Quote


  #25  
Old 12-05-2012, 05:39 AM
Toasted Toasted is offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Apr 2011
Posts: 19,342
POST ID # = 617674
Toasted Toasted Reputation: 108
Default

For the media keys not working. This thread should help you.
http://forum.corsair.com/v3/showthread.php?t=111492'

The L.E.D. is probably faulty.
Contact your seller and ask if they can replace the unit for you. If not, Request an RMA.
Reply With Quote


  #26  
Old 12-05-2012, 06:16 AM
tsiknus tsiknus is offline
Registered User
tsiknus's PC Specs
 
Join Date: Dec 2012
Posts: 2
POST ID # = 617679
tsiknus Reputation: 10
Default

I just did that and it isnt working. My volume wheel works fine and so does my media keys except the mute button. I sometimes have to press it multiple times for it to mute and unmute. Oh and the rewind button is having the same problem too. Its weird and also, how can an LED die out within the first few hours of use yet all the others are working, honestly for $200 NZD this keyboard aint worth it.
Reply With Quote


  #27  
Old 12-10-2012, 02:35 AM
Skyer Stralende Skyer Stralende is offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Dec 2012
Posts: 1
POST ID # = 618663
Skyer Stralende Reputation: 10
Default

All hail LordLobo and Sleeve, Kings of Troubleshooting!

I had this problem with my K90 after updating the firmware the first time.

I followed LordLobo's steps 1-13, then tried running the firmware updater.

...but my lights didn't glow!

So I switched the keyboard's usb cables to another pair of slots and then my lovely lights were back!

So this certainly works, and I am very thankful you guys have the tech skills I don't.
Reply With Quote


  #28  
Old 12-20-2012, 12:21 AM
atelos atelos is offline
Registered User
atelos's PC Specs
 
Join Date: Dec 2012
Posts: 1
POST ID # = 620671
atelos Reputation: 10
Default

God can not be that I almost have to graduating senior technician in computer science to achieve that my M60 stops working as one of 5 dollars to what they actually buy, the corsair should solve this and fast, thanks to those who took the trouble to help us here, I hope follow well than now onwards my M60.
Reply With Quote


  #29  
Old 12-27-2012, 07:53 PM
Nyle_Mullin Nyle_Mullin is offline
The edge of sainty
Nyle_Mullin's PC Specs
 
Join Date: Dec 2012
Location: uk
Posts: 7
POST ID # = 622030
Nyle_Mullin Reputation: 10
Default

same thing with step 12, i have no idea where to go form here i might just go for a RMA but i got it off of amazon as in the uk. im using windows 7 64 bit, only two led's light up on my mouse, the top and bottom profiels, only the buttons 1-3 work and it is not reconised in the setup stage. can any one help haha

Last edited by Nyle_Mullin; 12-27-2012 at 08:04 PM.
Reply With Quote


  #30  
Old 12-27-2012, 08:07 PM
Toasted Toasted is offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Apr 2011
Posts: 19,342
POST ID # = 622035
Toasted Toasted Reputation: 108
Default

In the driver folder, click dpinst.exe and see if that solves the problem.
Reply With Quote


Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 04:01 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2019, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.