The Corsair User Forums  

Go Back   The Corsair User Forums > Corsair Product Discussion > Audio

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Rating: Thread Rating: 11 votes, 4.91 average. Display Modes
  #61  
Old 04-05-2011, 11:50 PM
QuadraQ QuadraQ is offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Apr 2011
Posts: 5
POST ID # = 496936
QuadraQ Reputation: 10
Default Saving Preferences for different inputs

I was one of the first to purchase the HS1's on MaximumPC's recommendation and the NewEgg video. Overall I like them a lot, but like other posters here I've encountered problems. For one the microphone seems rather week even with the volume turned all the way up. I've also noticed that there is a lot of background hiss (perhaps because the volume is maxed out) that is annoying. Hopefully a software update with a gain control and some noise reduction could fix this.

The other issue I have is with the software. What I want to do is set-up my preferences for each kind of source (stereo, quadrophonic, 5.1, and 7.1) and then have the software automatically take care of the rest. Instead I have to choose what sort of source will be playing ahead of time which is awkward to say the least.

For me Stereo sounds best using Dolby Headphone alone (which removes the perception of two speakers pumping sound into my head, but without a lot of artificial sounding processing). And the 7.1 virtual surround for all the surround sources. This should be a set it and forget it sort of thing. Please Corsair stand by your otherwise excellent product with a software update!
Reply With Quote


  #62  
Old 04-06-2011, 04:02 PM
urquan urquan is offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Apr 2011
Posts: 5
POST ID # = 497081
urquan Reputation: 10
Default

To everyone:

I just wanted to chip in here and say that I almost sent my hs1 back, however, I did not want to since I love the build, and comfortable wear. The sound is good and I love the dolby headphone setting.

I had a loud buzzing noise from the mic. I found that when I unplug my laptop's power supply the buzzing went away completely. There seems to be some "ground loop".

I also have a desktop and thankfully on it there is no buzzing.

So there is some earthing issue on some system configurations.

If anyone knows how to fix/solve that please let us know. At the moment, while using on my notebook I only have no buzzing while AC is disconnected.

To Corsair:
I have praised the HS1 a bit above, however the software and driver does NOT match the hardware in apparent quality. I do feel a good update addressing the issues as described is required!
Reply With Quote


  #63  
Old 04-17-2011, 07:25 PM
lamiricore lamiricore is offline
Registered User
lamiricore's PC Specs
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Posts: 6
POST ID # = 498614
lamiricore Reputation: 10
Default

hello

Reading the post of many user on the forum it seems now obvious that there is many problems with the (cheap) HS1 driver. (pop crackling and Left/right speaker switch)

Considering that my qestion is simple: Does corsair team currently work on an update for the driver? If yes, when could a release be expected?

Thanks to the corsair staff to answer my question
Reply With Quote


  #64  
Old 04-18-2011, 02:28 PM
RAM GUY's Avatar
RAM GUY RAM GUY is offline
Corsair Product Guru
 
Join Date: Apr 2001
Location: Fremont, CA
Posts: 118,268
POST ID # = 498700
RAM GUY Reputation: 10
Default

We are still investigating the issues that have been reported, but there is not an ETA for a new driver at this time.
__________________
Support accounts and tickets can be created at https://support.corsair.com.
Reply With Quote


  #65  
Old 04-22-2011, 12:53 AM
joohyung86 joohyung86 is offline
Registered User
joohyung86's PC Specs
 
Join Date: Aug 2010
Posts: 10
POST ID # = 499357
joohyung86 Reputation: 10
Default

i can't wait for new driver.
i just don't see why it's so hard to duplicate the issue.
just use the hs1 on vent and talk to other person at company.
i used to use $25 headset before hs1 and i had no issue with it mic static noise.
but now after purchasing hs1 and talk to ppl on vent. they just laughed at corsair.
yes laughed by 25other ppl saying i wasted $100bucks.
i know corsair has good reputation with customers and im just surprised that the issue hasn't been fixed yet.
Reply With Quote


  #66  
Old 04-24-2011, 04:48 AM
safe10 safe10 is offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Posts: 14
POST ID # = 499594
safe10 Reputation: 10
Default Disgusted

I am absolutely disgusted in the way that corsair such a reputable brand, has which what looks like just neglected peoples cries for help, on a new driver or any help at all, even smaller brand names get on the fix straight away, what's the problem is the wizard to busy? I think this ignorance has put a big dent in corsairs customer relationship. it's about time something was done.
Reply With Quote


  #67  
Old 04-24-2011, 08:45 PM
joohyung86 joohyung86 is offline
Registered User
joohyung86's PC Specs
 
Join Date: Aug 2010
Posts: 10
POST ID # = 499656
joohyung86 Reputation: 10
Default

well i waited 4month for driver to be release. i was hoping it was out 3month ago when i mentioned on the forum + there were like billion other ppl who made same complain.
instead of spending $$ replacing the whole headset which didn't fix anything. could have invested those money and get new driver and firmware.
anyhow after such long customer with corsair (approx 12years) i have gave up on this new product. there is no future in HS1. i'm just getting new headset from different brand which has better support.
Reply With Quote


  #68  
Old 04-25-2011, 12:56 AM
McMalakai McMalakai is offline
Registered User
McMalakai's PC Specs
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Posts: 13
POST ID # = 499668
McMalakai Reputation: 10
Default

Kinda a 'me too' post.

Waiting on new drivers.

Read my posts for some of what I've gone through on trying to get my HS1's to perform as good as my old $20 mic.

Even with the low freq filter, my mic is still barely audible to my vent teammates and still sounds like mostly crap in source games.

I think this should be easily reproducible ( i've done it on 3 systems now ), you just need to test it with a CODEC, not just windows WAV recorder ( which will sound mostly ok ). I'm not an audio engineer, so i can't tell you why they do so poorly, but start with Ventrillo and use it to test the HS1's.

Hoping a driver makes these as awesome as I think they should be.

Also, the L/R swapping, I really thought I was imagine it a few times. Now that I see others have it, this really underscores the crappy quality of the drivers ( or, even more worrisome, crappy quality of the USB audio chip??? ).

L/R swapping occurs a lot when I play Team Fortress 2.

I'll un-plug and re-plug the USB to get that issue to fix itself.
Reply With Quote


  #69  
Old 04-25-2011, 11:14 AM
joohyung86 joohyung86 is offline
Registered User
joohyung86's PC Specs
 
Join Date: Aug 2010
Posts: 10
POST ID # = 499683
joohyung86 Reputation: 10
Default

i'm getting new sound card and decent analog head set with name of carcharias.
I won't have to worry about this driver issue.
Btw corsair isn't only one with drive issue
razer megalodon have exact same problem they can't really fix.
dam usb headsets.. can't really trust them can you
(but my $40 MS headset had no issue)

Last edited by Wired; 04-25-2011 at 01:32 PM. Reason: removed bit against the rules
Reply With Quote


  #70  
Old 04-25-2011, 07:36 PM
Fayth Fayth is offline
Registered User
Fayth's PC Specs
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Posts: 13
POST ID # = 499738
Fayth Reputation: 10
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by joohyung86 View Post
i'm getting new sound card and decent analog head set with name of carcharias.
I won't have to worry about this driver issue.
Btw corsair isn't only one with drive issue
razer megalodon have exact same problem they can't really fix.
dam usb headsets.. can't really trust them can you
(but my $40 MS headset had no issue)
Microsoft LifeChat LX 3000? That thing is great for the money. I used to buy them, but they'd end up breaking after a year or so. I bought into the corsair reputation for durable products, and picked up the HS1. After 3 months they broke on me. Sure, I got an RMA approved, but I live in Canada and the closest place I can ship to is California. Yay for 30 dollar shipping, with the high chance of a brokerage fee on the return trip because it has to cross the border. I'm gonna go for it, but I'll be spending the same amount of money one of those MS headsets costs, to replace a product that should have lasted far longer than 3 months. Very disappointed atm.
Reply With Quote


  #71  
Old 08-03-2011, 05:49 AM
OmniNegro OmniNegro is offline
Registered User
OmniNegro's PC Specs
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
Location: The Fiery Pits of Texas
Posts: 148
POST ID # = 517124
OmniNegro Reputation: 10
Default

All we will be needing is the ability to adjust the sensitivity of the microphone. No-one will say anything except that it may be a hardware issue and they have no ETA on drivers.

Has there been any driver update?

Even with the workaround provided by igl007, the microphone should never need to be set to maximum volume. This is a very clumsy workaround. Certainly not what I would have expected.

What we need is the ability to provide a simple ± decibel on the microphones.

And while I hope for a driver release that fixes this, or even a workaround that provides the ± decibel we need, I doubt anything will come of this as this thread is getting old.

Corsair, I have been suggesting all of your products absolutely for a long time. Now I have one example where I am unsure of the value of this product.

I genuinely hope that there is eventually an HS2 model that fixes this at least. (And hopefully also tries for a slightly more expensive consumer base by having a better braided cord and proper solder spots.)

Thank you each for reading my rant. Good day.
Reply With Quote


  #72  
Old 08-12-2011, 02:23 PM
REMA1 REMA1 is offline
Registered User
REMA1's PC Specs
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Posts: 73
POST ID # = 519855
REMA1 Reputation: 10
Default

noticed last post was several months ago...been considering get the HS1
Did any new drivers get issued? or are the ones that come with the headset on disc the newest.
Thx
Reply With Quote


  #73  
Old 08-12-2011, 07:57 PM
SyncError SyncError is offline
Registered User
SyncError's PC Specs
 
Join Date: Feb 2011
Posts: 43
POST ID # = 519926
SyncError Reputation: 10
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by REMA1 View Post
noticed last post was several months ago...been considering get the HS1
Did any new drivers get issued? or are the ones that come with the headset on disc the newest.
Thx
No new drivers. The newest drivers are the ones available on the website afaik. A lot of audio problems like crackling and squealing. You're better off going with a different manufacturer.
Reply With Quote


  #74  
Old 08-14-2011, 09:41 AM
REMA1 REMA1 is offline
Registered User
REMA1's PC Specs
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Posts: 73
POST ID # = 520148
REMA1 Reputation: 10
Default

OOOOOP'ssssssssssssssss
I should probably have waited for your reply...I was CERTAIN having read all the problems that Corsair would've done an update.
I have ordered these now hence the OOOOOOOP's.

The two other headsets I was considering ( one released at a later date than Corsair and had both Driver and Firmware update) both had driver updates from release and I was sure Corsair of all people would've addressed their customer's issues.

BUT I will have to wait till Monday when I hope to receive them...May be I won't have any problems with them and I always find it hard to understand how BIG these problems are as I don't know how many units have been sold.
Having read about several headsets there seems to be many (but again no idea how many sold . so may be a minute percentage) Build-Quality issues.


Wish manufacturers would simply recall products if the factory actually making them fail to live up to their promises. I'm sure that Corsair wouldn't want to cheapen an excellent reputation with it's customers by cutting corners. Just not worth it for them.

I'd like to think, and maybe they do, that they'd have a QA management presence on site all the time or at least some of the time.

I have in the past seen so called QA/ISO companies produce some CARP (anangram) Test certificates,etc

They could and probably SHOULD address the drivers issues if the issue is of any size...People afterall will still be expecting these to work fault free for at least the next 2 years.

thanks anyway for your advice and help

Last edited by REMA1; 08-14-2011 at 09:44 AM.
Reply With Quote


  #75  
Old 08-15-2011, 02:36 PM
RAM GUY's Avatar
RAM GUY RAM GUY is offline
Corsair Product Guru
 
Join Date: Apr 2001
Location: Fremont, CA
Posts: 118,268
POST ID # = 520431
RAM GUY Reputation: 10
Default

This thread was from more then 4 months ago and while some have had some issues we have replaced their head sets and worked that out for most people as far as I know. There does seem to be some compatibility issues with some configurations but can worked out with settings for most.
I don't think you will have much problems with new HS1's.
If anyone still has an issue please use the link on the left and request an RMA and we can replace them for you if you still have the issue ask our customer to change them for HS1A.
__________________
Support accounts and tickets can be created at https://support.corsair.com.
Reply With Quote


Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 07:32 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2020, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.