The Corsair User Forums  

Go Back   The Corsair User Forums > Corsair Product Discussion > Hydro X Custom Cooling

Notices

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Rate Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 02-02-2020, 11:54 PM
Slash_Tag Slash_Tag is offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Feb 2020
Posts: 3
POST ID # = 1033700
Slash_Tag Reputation: 10
Default XD5 Pump Noise

Hi all,

Just finished setting up my loop with the XD5 Pump/Res combo and all seems to be going well, however, Im getting quite a bit of noise from the pump and I'm not sure if it is normal (I couldn't really find anything online about this).

I'm running a leak test so I just have the pump plugged into the PSU (via the Molex connector) and it is definitely working.

That being said, it seems to be ramping up/down every few seconds to where it will be quite loud for a few seconds. The sound isn't on any sort of "frequency", it just seems to be happening intermittently.

It's hard to describe the sound, but it sounds a bit like vibration, but it's not vibration coming from the mounting as far as I can tell.

My only thought is that there's a bunch of trapped air that the pump keeps hitting and that's what's causing the noise, but I could be way off. For the record, I have one of the ports at the top of the reservoir open so air can escape.

Is the noise I'm describing fairly normal? Any help would be appreciated!
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 02-03-2020, 04:40 AM
Zotty's Avatar
Zotty Zotty is offline
CORSAIR Beta Team
Zotty's PC Specs
 
Join Date: Apr 2017
Location: South Staffordshire, England, UK
Posts: 3,501
POST ID # = 1033717
Zotty Reputation: 52
Default

doesnt sound normal buddy.... any chance of making a recording of it?

if plugged in via molex alone it should be running at a steady 60% of its max RPM. its RPM should not change
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 02-03-2020, 05:22 AM
damnengineer damnengineer is offline
Registered User
damnengineer's PC Specs
 
Join Date: Dec 2019
Posts: 17
POST ID # = 1033723
damnengineer Reputation: 10
Default

When I plugged in my pump via molex only for a leak test, I'm sure it was running on full speed and not at 60%, I was also worried: https://forum.corsair.com/v3/showthread.php?t=193656 . After finishing my loop, the pump at 60% is pretty inaudible, while if I run it at full speed it makes the same kinda noise. I just kept the top port closed, air will stay on top of the reservoir anyway, I just added coolant if the level became a bit lower.
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 02-03-2020, 07:59 AM
Zotty's Avatar
Zotty Zotty is offline
CORSAIR Beta Team
Zotty's PC Specs
 
Join Date: Apr 2017
Location: South Staffordshire, England, UK
Posts: 3,501
POST ID # = 1033737
Zotty Reputation: 52
Default

A few have said their pumps run at 100% when on molex only.. i feel both mine do.. but i can not confirm. i stick with the 60% advice as this is what Corsair had advised in a few threads.

My self... i run Dual loops.. cpu loop is 2 x XR7 480mm rads and GPU loop is 2 x XR7 360mm rads (block on each loop). i run both my pumps at 1500RPM and they are pretty much silent. both pumps will run at a maximum of around 4800rpm.. CPU loop is still pretty quite but GPU loop likes to be noisy. however, if i drop both to 3000rpm. the CPU loop becomes the louder of the 2.. i guess all pumps are not created equal.. or.. same can be said for all loops?

Last edited by Zotty; 02-04-2020 at 01:48 PM.
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 02-03-2020, 09:53 AM
tiborrr tiborrr is offline
Registered User
tiborrr's PC Specs
 
Join Date: Sep 2019
Posts: 87
POST ID # = 1033745
tiborrr Reputation: 10
Default

An air bubble can cause caustic induced rattling of the ball-shaft rotor, which can sound like you described. Run the pump at full blast and heat up the water (playing games or running stress test) - it will eventually go away.
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 02-03-2020, 09:58 AM
Slash_Tag Slash_Tag is offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Feb 2020
Posts: 3
POST ID # = 1033746
Slash_Tag Reputation: 10
Default

I uploaded a video of what I'm describing:

Another one if you can't really hear that one:


(You'll have to turn the volume up a fair bit to hear it)

Last edited by Slash_Tag; 02-03-2020 at 10:13 AM.
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 02-03-2020, 10:25 PM
Slash_Tag Slash_Tag is offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Feb 2020
Posts: 3
POST ID # = 1033797
Slash_Tag Reputation: 10
Default

So I'm not sure why this is the case, but Ive found the issue.

I actually had the pump plugged into Molex power and had the PWM wire from the pump plugged into my Commander Pro (unplugged).

It seems that because the Commander wasn't sending a signal back, the pump just have been running at an absurdly low speed.

When I unplugged the PWM wire, I could see the water moving at the top of the reservoir (hadn't seen that before).

So, I guess for anyone that may come across this going forward:

For the leak test, ONLY PLUG IN THE MOLEX POWER.
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 02-04-2020, 07:45 AM
tiborrr tiborrr is offline
Registered User
tiborrr's PC Specs
 
Join Date: Sep 2019
Posts: 87
POST ID # = 1033819
tiborrr Reputation: 10
Default

Glad you've sorted out your problems :)
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 04:28 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2020, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.