The Corsair User Forums  

Go Back   The Corsair User Forums > Corsair Product Discussion > Power Supplies

Notices

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Rate Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 11-22-2019, 06:27 AM
AskN0More AskN0More is offline
Registered User
AskN0More's PC Specs
 
Join Date: Sep 2018
Posts: 6
POST ID # = 1024820
AskN0More Reputation: 10
Default Asus Strix X570-E Motherboarda and Corsair Rm750i

Hello

I am recently building a new computer and i already have that PSU. My question is since PSU only support 8 pin connector, is it going to be a problem with this motherboard? Mother board requires 8 + 4 pin connector...

Thanks for help
Reply With Quote


  #2  
Old 11-24-2019, 11:50 AM
Nazgul Nazgul is offline
Registered User
Nazgul's PC Specs
 
Join Date: Aug 2019
Posts: 67
POST ID # = 1025041
Nazgul Reputation: 7
Default

Yeah.......8 + 4, You can use the 8 pin only but two things, don't put one of those 12 core CPUs or an 8 core with heavy overclocking, mild at best.

My RM1000i came with two EPS cables and I'm using both. Although if I were you, I'd buy that extra EPS cable and use it for the 4 pin connector. But that's me.
Reply With Quote


  #3  
Old 11-25-2019, 04:29 AM
AskN0More AskN0More is offline
Registered User
AskN0More's PC Specs
 
Join Date: Sep 2018
Posts: 6
POST ID # = 1025104
AskN0More Reputation: 10
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Nazgul View Post
Yeah.......8 + 4, You can use the 8 pin only but two things, don't put one of those 12 core CPUs or an 8 core with heavy overclocking, mild at best.

My RM1000i came with two EPS cables and I'm using both. Although if I were you, I'd buy that extra EPS cable and use it for the 4 pin connector. But that's me.
Unfortunately my Rm750i doest have extra eps output...
From all the readings, i was leaning towards Rm750i with only 8 pin connector on the board but things changed when i saw rm1000x which has 2 eps output is on sale for black friday :) I grabbed one and waiting for it to arrive :)

I think this is the best solution for now and future both. Even not now, I dont know if i ill overclock the cpu or i will go crazy and grab one of those 3950x so...
Reply With Quote


  #4  
Old 11-25-2019, 11:43 AM
DevBiker's Avatar
DevBiker DevBiker is offline
CORSAIR Beta Team
DevBiker's PC Specs
 
Join Date: Feb 2017
Location: Republic of Texas
Posts: 8,701
POST ID # = 1025153
DevBiker Reputation: 94
Default

No, it'll have the output connector; it just doesn't come with the cable. The PCIe and EPS/CPU cables both use the same connection on the PSU side of things.
__________________
Please click "Edit System Specs" and fill out your system info.

This comment is provided "as-is", without warranty of any kind, express or implied, including, but not limited to, the sanity or mental fitness of the author. The author is not a Corsair employee, does not represent Corsair, and no comment should be construed as an official statement from Corsair.

Helpful Links and FAQs:
AIO FAQ | RGB FAQ |
HydroX FAQ | RGB Cables |
iCUE Tips & Tricks

Reply With Quote


  #5  
Old 11-26-2019, 09:04 AM
AskN0More AskN0More is offline
Registered User
AskN0More's PC Specs
 
Join Date: Sep 2018
Posts: 6
POST ID # = 1025253
AskN0More Reputation: 10
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by DevBiker View Post
No, it'll have the output connector; it just doesn't come with the cable. The PCIe and EPS/CPU cables both use the same connection on the PSU side of things.
Thanks for answer and this is great...Well I read the specs and its written as there is 1 eps connector there so i thought we can not use pci-e outputs for cpu eps cable.... So you mean this is written in specs sheet to explain how many cables it has for each output right?

I am not good at PSU things so i was afraid to try to buy a new cable and try on pci-e output..

Edit: On the PSU, i see 3 outputs for CPU and PCI-E. Since i have Gtx1080 ti uses 2 and cpu uses 1 of them, I still need 1 more EPC connector for x570-e right?

Last edited by AskN0More; 11-26-2019 at 09:50 AM.
Reply With Quote


Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 08:44 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2020, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.