Corsair Community

Dual Channel @Z170A Chipset above 2400mhz

oldschool-noob

Hi everyone,

i write this post cause i am really running out of ideas and hope to hear about some similar problems someone solved. Duh.

A bit about me: i am working on computers since about 20y, overclocked my first 486 dx2 66mhz without knowing what i did (at this time), then later started again with "modern hardware" (Athlon Classic 750mhz to 1,1Ghz with Goldfinger Device), killed a few Athlon XP's, etc. besides this i work in IT since 15y. long story short: i believe i know a thing or two about hardware.

Anyway, it all started with the idea to build a new system, nothing overpowered, but since i was still working with my 6y old i5-2500K system i thought it is about time.

i spent a while with choosing some proper components and came up with this list:

MSI Z170A Gaming M7

Intel i7-6700K

Alpenföhn Brocken 2 (CPU FAN)

G.Skill F4-3000C15Q-32GVR DDR4-3000 15-15-15-35 1,35V - 4 Sticks, 32GB (4x8) - i know, you will ask yourself why i bought G.Skill and write in the Corsair Forum, i will get to that later

OCZ OCZ700MXSP (still had it from the old system)

MSI Geforce 1070 GTX Aero 8G OC

i mostly need stability in my systems, so overclocking the hell out of it was never the plan, but therefor i choose a bit higher default clock rates for the memory. The MSI Z170A Gaming M7 is (on paper) able to run the memory up to 3200mhz without any need to overclock the CPU.