The Corsair User Forums  

Go Back   The Corsair User Forums > Corsair Product Discussion > Audio

Notices

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Rating: Thread Rating: 31 votes, 5.00 average. Display Modes
  #16  
Old 01-04-2012, 06:19 AM
greeny2010's Avatar
greeny2010 greeny2010 is offline
Registered User
greeny2010's PC Specs
 
Join Date: Feb 2010
Posts: 22
POST ID # = 552002
greeny2010 Reputation: 10
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by ars92 View Post
did you see the "usb connected message"?
Yes, the message appeared. I'm using Win 7 x64 and if the installer only works under 32bits?

Why this problem is still not debug when so many of us are facing this problem?
Reply With Quote


  #17  
Old 01-04-2012, 07:15 AM
ars92 ars92 is offline
Registered User
ars92's PC Specs
 
Join Date: Dec 2011
Posts: 17
POST ID # = 552006
ars92 Reputation: 10
Default

yeah,i guess the problem only affects 64 bits users.I'm on 32 bit windows 7.Might try it on my laptop which is a 64 bit windows 7.
Reply With Quote


  #18  
Old 01-04-2012, 10:15 AM
keitoro keitoro is offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jan 2012
Posts: 1
POST ID # = 552034
keitoro Reputation: 10
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by joecar10 View Post
RAM GUY - Maybe you can offer more useful help then letting us know multiple times that we need to connect the device to the computer via mini USB to USB. Next, are you going to tell us to make sure our computer is on?

Speaking of which, the product DOES come with a mini usb to usb cable.

Anyway, maybe the issue is the software is incompatible with 64bit ver. of windows 7. I will try installing on windows xp (32 bit) tomorrow.
Work fine on windows XP 32 bit
Reply With Quote


  #19  
Old 01-04-2012, 03:52 PM
Wired's Avatar
Wired Wired is offline
Administrator
Wired's PC Specs
 
Join Date: Aug 2000
Posts: 32,189
POST ID # = 552110
Wired Reputation: 32
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by joecar10 View Post
Speaking of which, the product DOES come with a mini usb to usb cable.
There's no document to support that, and I know my SP2500 did not come with a mini USB to USB cable.
__________________
No, I don't work for Corsair
...you need to flow like a river...
Forum Rules
Admin of this forum / webdesignforums.net / Petri's IT Forum / The Corsair Memory Steam Group
Founder/Creator/Admin of ZE SECRET PROJECT (Coming Soon)
Reply With Quote


  #20  
Old 01-04-2012, 09:38 PM
joecar10 joecar10 is offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Dec 2011
Posts: 4
POST ID # = 552199
joecar10 Reputation: 10
Default

lol I guess I am imagining the cable that I took out of the box and used to connect the controller to my PC.

But anyway, it works on windows XP 32 bit. So the issue seems to be trying to install the software on a 64bit version of Windows 7.

Can corsair tech support confirm this?
Reply With Quote


  #21  
Old 01-05-2012, 01:06 AM
marangoni marangoni is offline
Registered User
marangoni's PC Specs
 
Join Date: Dec 2011
Posts: 7
POST ID # = 552235
marangoni Reputation: 10
Default

Its not working for me on 64-bit also.

On another note, my speakers did not come with a mini USB cable, only the cable to connect the controller to the sub. I just happened to have a mini USB cable lying around.
Reply With Quote


  #22  
Old 01-05-2012, 06:21 AM
joecar10 joecar10 is offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Dec 2011
Posts: 4
POST ID # = 552269
joecar10 Reputation: 10
Default

I just noticed right now. The cable I pulled out of the box has the 'Motorola' logo on it. I think I purchased a set that was previously purchased, returned to Canada Computers with the cable inside the box, re-packaged, and put back out on display.

So yeah, the cable is not supposed to come with the set. I apologize if this has confused anyone.

Either way, this has nothing to do with the actual problem.
Reply With Quote


  #23  
Old 01-05-2012, 07:30 AM
greeny2010's Avatar
greeny2010 greeny2010 is offline
Registered User
greeny2010's PC Specs
 
Join Date: Feb 2010
Posts: 22
POST ID # = 552277
greeny2010 Reputation: 10
Default

Corsair is still 'dumb' on this matter. Why can't they release a 64 bits version?
Reply With Quote


  #24  
Old 01-05-2012, 10:34 AM
Wired's Avatar
Wired Wired is offline
Administrator
Wired's PC Specs
 
Join Date: Aug 2000
Posts: 32,189
POST ID # = 552298
Wired Reputation: 32
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by greeny2010 View Post
Corsair is still 'dumb' on this matter. Why can't they release a 64 bits version?
Try running the update in compatibility mode.
__________________
No, I don't work for Corsair
...you need to flow like a river...
Forum Rules
Admin of this forum / webdesignforums.net / Petri's IT Forum / The Corsair Memory Steam Group
Founder/Creator/Admin of ZE SECRET PROJECT (Coming Soon)
Reply With Quote


  #25  
Old 01-05-2012, 05:51 PM
Lycronis Lycronis is offline
Registered User
Lycronis's PC Specs
 
Join Date: Jan 2012
Posts: 3
POST ID # = 552407
Lycronis Reputation: 10
Default

So, I've tried using the update software on 5 different computers and with the exception of one of them, I ended up with the same results= "The installation failed. Please try again later." The four systems that resulted with the failed message are all running Win7 64-bit. The one exception was an older laptop that is running the Windows 8 Developer Preview 32-bit, and it finished the install but said that there wasn't any SP2500 device that could be updated. So I'm still left without an updated device at the moment. It seems that this issue is indeed related to 64-bit OS's.
Reply With Quote


  #26  
Old 01-05-2012, 06:27 PM
marangoni marangoni is offline
Registered User
marangoni's PC Specs
 
Join Date: Dec 2011
Posts: 7
POST ID # = 552416
marangoni Reputation: 10
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Wired View Post
Try running the update in compatibility mode.
Tried this, still doesn't work.

Seems to me like releasing a 64-bit application is the only logical solution.
Reply With Quote


  #27  
Old 01-06-2012, 06:24 AM
greeny2010's Avatar
greeny2010 greeny2010 is offline
Registered User
greeny2010's PC Specs
 
Join Date: Feb 2010
Posts: 22
POST ID # = 552514
greeny2010 Reputation: 10
Default

To Corsair Support - if you are reading all the feedback on the installer problem, just point to us is the installer able to runs under the 64 bits OS?
Reply With Quote


  #28  
Old 01-06-2012, 06:42 AM
ars92 ars92 is offline
Registered User
ars92's PC Specs
 
Join Date: Dec 2011
Posts: 17
POST ID # = 552518
ars92 Reputation: 10
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Lycronis View Post
So, I've tried using the update software on 5 different computers and with the exception of one of them, I ended up with the same results= "The installation failed. Please try again later." The four systems that resulted with the failed message are all running Win7 64-bit. The one exception was an older laptop that is running the Windows 8 Developer Preview 32-bit, and it finished the install but said that there wasn't any SP2500 device that could be updated. So I'm still left without an updated device at the moment. It seems that this issue is indeed related to 64-bit OS's.
i remember having that error too,turns out it was because i didn't turn on the speakers AFTER connecting the cable correctly to the pc and the speakers.make sure u see the USB connected message.Or it will say "there wasn't any SP2500 device that could be updated".
Reply With Quote


  #29  
Old 01-06-2012, 12:26 PM
marangoni marangoni is offline
Registered User
marangoni's PC Specs
 
Join Date: Dec 2011
Posts: 7
POST ID # = 552575
marangoni Reputation: 10
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by ars92 View Post
i remember having that error too,turns out it was because i didn't turn on the speakers AFTER connecting the cable correctly to the pc and the speakers.make sure u see the USB connected message.Or it will say "there wasn't any SP2500 device that could be updated".
ars92, are you running a 64-bit OS?
I think you are misunderstanding the problem. This is not a problem of installing the update, its a problem of installing the update SOFTWARE onto the computer. It fails every time, at the same point, no matter what (see the attached image on my original post). I am able to get the USB connected message on the controller, but it still fails. Judging from my experience, and the fact that others with 64-bit OS are having the exact same issue, it would appear the .exe installer is incompatible with windows 64-bit and needs to be fixed. Plain and simple.
Reply With Quote


  #30  
Old 01-06-2012, 07:27 PM
Warrior 3000 Warrior 3000 is offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jan 2012
Posts: 4
POST ID # = 552667
Warrior 3000 Reputation: 10
Default

I got these speakers for Christmas and i have the same issue. running windows 7 x64 and i cant run the updates because it fails every time =/
Reply With Quote


Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 11:47 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2019, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.