The Corsair User Forums  

Go Back   The Corsair User Forums > Corsair Product Discussion > iCUE Software

Notices

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Rate Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 11-19-2019, 02:06 PM
Carlosfootball Carlosfootball is offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Nov 2019
Posts: 9
POST ID # = 1024442
Carlosfootball Reputation: 10
Default Corsair QL Fan setup

Hey,

First time poster here. Im wondering if someone can tell me exactly what I will need to buy and how to connect the new Corsair QL fans in my new system. I will have upto 10 fans in it.

I will already have 2 x Lighting node Core's that I get with the fans if that helps.

Regards
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 11-19-2019, 02:14 PM
Zotty's Avatar
Zotty Zotty is offline
CORSAIR Beta Team
Zotty's PC Specs
 
Join Date: Apr 2017
Location: South Staffordshire, England, UK
Posts: 3,239
POST ID # = 1024444
Zotty Reputation: 52
Default

hi buddy.. depends in what way you want to control. if its just RGB control in iCUE then you will have everything you need... if you also want fan power control (rpm) in iCUE then you would need a commander pro..

always worth the read...

http://forum.corsair.com/v3/showthread.php?t=173880
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 11-19-2019, 02:23 PM
Carlosfootball Carlosfootball is offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Nov 2019
Posts: 9
POST ID # = 1024445
Carlosfootball Reputation: 10
Default

Hey,

Yeah would like fan rpm control also. I saw the commander pro has support for 6 fans on it so would I need 2 as I will have 10 fans? or do I just need splitters to connect 2 fans per channel?

Sorry for the silly questions just not clued up on this.

Regards

Last edited by Carlosfootball; 11-19-2019 at 02:28 PM.
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 11-19-2019, 02:30 PM
Zotty's Avatar
Zotty Zotty is offline
CORSAIR Beta Team
Zotty's PC Specs
 
Join Date: Apr 2017
Location: South Staffordshire, England, UK
Posts: 3,239
POST ID # = 1024447
Zotty Reputation: 52
Default

before we go any further,, are you using an AIO in the system?

and don't worry about silly questions.... the only silly question is the unasked one..... your good man ;)...
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 11-19-2019, 02:37 PM
Carlosfootball Carlosfootball is offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Nov 2019
Posts: 9
POST ID # = 1024448
Carlosfootball Reputation: 10
Default

I am using a AIO however its not a corsair one but I will be replacing the fans on it with the QL fans.

If it helps the MB I will be using is the X570 Aorus Xtreme
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 11-19-2019, 03:04 PM
Zotty's Avatar
Zotty Zotty is offline
CORSAIR Beta Team
Zotty's PC Specs
 
Join Date: Apr 2017
Location: South Staffordshire, England, UK
Posts: 3,239
POST ID # = 1024459
Zotty Reputation: 52
Default

which cooler buddy? as in how many fans?.. as you would want fan power to be supplied to its Rad fans by the cooler its self to ensure correct operation..
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 11-19-2019, 03:08 PM
Carlosfootball Carlosfootball is offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Nov 2019
Posts: 9
POST ID # = 1024463
Carlosfootball Reputation: 10
Default

Its the new Gigabyte Aorus 360 AIO, gonna be 3x 120mm QL fans on it rather than the stock ones.
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 11-19-2019, 03:12 PM
Zotty's Avatar
Zotty Zotty is offline
CORSAIR Beta Team
Zotty's PC Specs
 
Join Date: Apr 2017
Location: South Staffordshire, England, UK
Posts: 3,239
POST ID # = 1024464
Zotty Reputation: 52
Default

cool.. thats what i need to hear.. so.. the AIO will control 3 of the fans for power.... 1 CoPro needed to power the other 6 fans and give iCUE control of their speed;)

Last edited by Zotty; 11-19-2019 at 03:15 PM.
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 11-19-2019, 03:14 PM
Zotty's Avatar
Zotty Zotty is offline
CORSAIR Beta Team
Zotty's PC Specs
 
Join Date: Apr 2017
Location: South Staffordshire, England, UK
Posts: 3,239
POST ID # = 1024465
Zotty Reputation: 52
Default

to add. we always advise running AIO radiator fans off of the AIO its self.. this ensures correct operation of your cooling system regardless of OS and other software/hardware.

the only downside is you will have to use GB's software to control the AIO pump/fans.. the rest will be in iCUE
Reply With Quote
  #10  
Old 11-19-2019, 03:31 PM
Carlosfootball Carlosfootball is offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Nov 2019
Posts: 9
POST ID # = 1024470
Carlosfootball Reputation: 10
Default

Quote:
1 CoPro needed to power the other 6 fans and give iCUE control of their speed;)
I will have 7 more fans ontop of the 3 on the AIO
Reply With Quote
  #11  
Old 11-19-2019, 03:50 PM
Zotty's Avatar
Zotty Zotty is offline
CORSAIR Beta Team
Zotty's PC Specs
 
Join Date: Apr 2017
Location: South Staffordshire, England, UK
Posts: 3,239
POST ID # = 1024474
Zotty Reputation: 52
Default

well in that case... and i must inform that its not supported by Corsair... use one PWM y splitter.. the Copro can cope with 7 fans with no trouble.. it would just mean the fan it is paired with would appear as a single fan in iCUE

commander pro specs

1, Sata Powered (none Removable) with 4.5a Limit for the entire unit... this includes its MCU as well as a 1a limit per fan header. (note.Not Officially supported but there is no reason why you can not use Fan header Splitter cables but its been noted triple fan splitters cause issues) imho no more that 8 fans in total.

2, Connects via USB Header (none Removable)

3, Has 2 USB headers

4, 2 LED channels. Each channel supports a single RGB Fan Hub or up to 4 strips in LINK and 6 Strips Limit in iCue

5, 4 Temp Probe Channels and 4 Supplied Probes

6, Comes with 2 RGB data connection cables for RGB Fan LED Hubs.

7, Allows RGB/Fan RPM Control & System Monitoring via Corsair iCue/LINK

8, The LED on the Commander Pro will Flash green upon boot and any time it communicates with the Host PC.. it will go Red when in Boot loader Mode or has a communications Error. it is not illuminated normally

9, Auto Detected in iCUE

Last edited by Zotty; 11-19-2019 at 05:51 PM.
Reply With Quote
  #12  
Old 11-19-2019, 05:11 PM
Carlosfootball Carlosfootball is offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Nov 2019
Posts: 9
POST ID # = 1024480
Carlosfootball Reputation: 10
Default

Thanks a lot for your help, much appreciated.
Reply With Quote
  #13  
Old 11-19-2019, 06:11 PM
Zotty's Avatar
Zotty Zotty is offline
CORSAIR Beta Team
Zotty's PC Specs
 
Join Date: Apr 2017
Location: South Staffordshire, England, UK
Posts: 3,239
POST ID # = 1024489
Zotty Reputation: 52
Default

no worries man.... good luck on your quest :)
Reply With Quote
  #14  
Old 12-02-2019, 01:50 PM
Carlosfootball Carlosfootball is offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Nov 2019
Posts: 9
POST ID # = 1025990
Carlosfootball Reputation: 10
Default

Question: On the Aorus AIO the pumps RGB connectors are tiny compared to the size of the RGB connectors coming from my Corsair QL fans so I cant connect them up. I can connect the normal fan connectors to control RPM etc.

Are there adapters I can get for this or do I have to plug the Corsair RGB connectors into a daisy chain cable and connect them to my ARGB header on my Motherboard or can I just use a 4pin to 3pin adaptor to connect the QL fans to the Pump controls?

Hope that made sense

Regards

Last edited by Carlosfootball; 12-02-2019 at 02:08 PM.
Reply With Quote
  #15  
Old 12-02-2019, 02:45 PM
DevBiker's Avatar
DevBiker DevBiker is offline
CORSAIR Beta Team
DevBiker's PC Specs
 
Join Date: Feb 2017
Location: Republic of Texas
Posts: 7,815
POST ID # = 1025997
DevBiker Reputation: 88
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Carlosfootball View Post
Question: On the Aorus AIO the pumps RGB connectors are tiny compared to the size of the RGB connectors coming from my Corsair QL fans so I cant connect them up. I can connect the normal fan connectors to control RPM etc.
Are there adapters I can get for this or do I have to plug the Corsair RGB connectors into a daisy chain cable and connect them to my ARGB header on my Motherboard or can I just use a 4pin to 3pin adaptor to connect the QL fans to the Pump controls?
It's highly unlikely that pre-built adapters are available but it may be possible to make them. What do the connectors from the Aorus AIO look like?

Note, however, that you'd not be able to control them via iCUE, you may overload the power delivery from the connector AND it may not light the entire fan up ... it's doubtful that it'll provide signal to light up all of the LEDs in the QL fans. Really, you're better off sticking with the Corsair ecosystem.
__________________
Please click "Edit System Specs" and fill out your system info.

This comment is provided "as-is", without warranty of any kind, express or implied, including, but not limited to, the sanity or mental fitness of the author. The author is not a Corsair employee, does not represent Corsair, and no comment should be construed as an official statement from Corsair.

Helpful Links and FAQs:
AIO FAQ | RGB FAQ |
HydroX FAQ | RGB Cables |
iCUE Tips & Tricks

Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 02:48 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2019, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.