The Corsair User Forums  

Go Back   The Corsair User Forums > Corsair Product Discussion > Power Supplies

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Rate Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 04-13-2011, 04:48 PM
knobby99 knobby99 is offline
Registered User
knobby99's PC Specs
 
Join Date: Apr 2011
Posts: 2
POST ID # = 498084
knobby99 Reputation: 10
Default not enough power it seems

i have recently upgraded my old pc with new components, which are
amd x6 phenom 1090 cpu
4 gig ddr3 1600 ram
asus 460 top 1 gig gpu
asus m4a87td evo motherboard
windows 7 pro 64 bit
500 gig hard drive
dvd/cd/ rw drive
creative soundblaster sound card
was still using my 3.5 year old corsair hx 520w power supply but unfortunatly it doesnt seem to be able to cope with the new components it runs for about 1 hr on games then crashes (the monitor goes into standy mode) and now the p.c boots up but the monitor never comes out of standby mode i take it that it`s the power supply which is the problem. do i need a much bigger one i.e 750w to future proof it? any advice would be greatly appreciated.
ty
Reply With Quote


  #2  
Old 04-13-2011, 06:14 PM
RAM GUY's Avatar
RAM GUY RAM GUY is offline
Corsair Product Guru
 
Join Date: Apr 2001
Location: Fremont, CA
Posts: 118,268
POST ID # = 498107
RAM GUY Reputation: 10
Default

The PSU should be able to power that system without any problems, so if the issue is PSU related, I would not suspect that it has anything to do with its wattage rating. I would test the PSU in a different system if possible and if you can duplicate the same problems then the PSU should be replaced.

Request an RMA
__________________
Support accounts and tickets can be created at https://support.corsair.com.
Reply With Quote


  #3  
Old 04-13-2011, 08:09 PM
Davet58 Davet58 is offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Posts: 39
POST ID # = 498125
Davet58 Reputation: 10
Default

Sounds more like your video card failing or now failed rather than the power supply. If you cannot see any video even the bios screen and your fans are spinning up the power supply is most likely OK and I would lean towards the video card
Reply With Quote


  #4  
Old 04-17-2011, 06:21 AM
knobby99 knobby99 is offline
Registered User
knobby99's PC Specs
 
Join Date: Apr 2011
Posts: 2
POST ID # = 498550
knobby99 Reputation: 10
Default

ty guys it seems that it was indeed the graphics card that had failed. strange though as it was brand new and only in the p.c for 2 weeks i have sent it back to the vendor who will i`m sure send it on to the manufacturer. just hope its not me thats blown it up expensive mistake if it was. and i`m sure i have now a long blown out battle about it i live in the uk i bought it from pixmania that is in france and i think asus is in belgum so the broke graphics card will now be in limbo for about a month lol.
Reply With Quote


  #5  
Old 04-18-2011, 01:24 PM
RAM GUY's Avatar
RAM GUY RAM GUY is offline
Corsair Product Guru
 
Join Date: Apr 2001
Location: Fremont, CA
Posts: 118,268
POST ID # = 498675
RAM GUY Reputation: 10
Default

Thanks for the update, please let us know if you have any other problems once you get the card replaced!
__________________
Support accounts and tickets can be created at https://support.corsair.com.
Reply With Quote


Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 11:12 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2019, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.