The Corsair User Forums  

Go Back   The Corsair User Forums > Corsair Product Discussion > Power Supplies

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Rate Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 11-20-2019, 07:34 PM
DogOfMetal DogOfMetal is offline
Registered User
DogOfMetal's PC Specs
 
Join Date: Nov 2019
Posts: 1
POST ID # = 1024637
DogOfMetal Reputation: 10
Default 2x fried Gigabyte X399 Aorus Extreme MBs with AX1600i

Yes, that title is correct. I've experienced TWO fried Gigabyte Aorus X399 Extreme motherboards using an AX1600i as the PSU. Each one failed after about six months of use. Both failed in the same manner and under minimal usage (at the time of failure). The same component failed on both boards - an electronic component near the AMD X399 chipset IC had a meltdown. I've now switched to an ASRock X399 (Fatal1ty) Professional Gaming MB. Hopefully this one doesn't fail in ~6 months.

I'm unsure what type of electronic component fried (resistor?) but I've attached pictures. One of the reasons I chose the Gigabyte board over other X399 TR4 boards was that it has 2x4+4 CPU power connections as opposed to 1x4+4 and 1x4 CPU power connections and I wanted an MB that supported CPUs that may demand more power (like the 2990WX). I wonder now if the board's design is defective and doesn't follow AMD recommendations because it is the only one I found that offers more CPU power input.

Anyway, if anyone has had a similar experience or any knowledge they can offer I'd appreciate it. Thanks!
Attached Images
File Type: jpg Fried 1.jpg (1.64 MB, 48 views)
File Type: jpg Fried 2.jpg (1.38 MB, 42 views)
Reply With Quote


  #2  
Old 11-20-2019, 08:16 PM
Corsair Notepad's Avatar
Corsair Notepad Corsair Notepad is offline
Corsair Employee
Corsair Notepad's PC Specs
 
Join Date: Nov 2018
Location: Fremont, CA
Posts: 401
POST ID # = 1024638
Corsair Notepad Reputation: 10
Default

So based on what you said the PSU is not responsible for the failure at all. If the PSU was faulty and was going to fry your motherboard it would not happen after 6 months of use on each board. Instead the failure would be instant if the AX1600i was indeed faulty.
Reply With Quote


  #3  
Old 11-20-2019, 11:48 PM
DevBiker's Avatar
DevBiker DevBiker is offline
CORSAIR Beta Team
DevBiker's PC Specs
 
Join Date: Feb 2017
Location: Republic of Texas
Posts: 8,097
POST ID # = 1024656
DevBiker Reputation: 94
Default

I've had a Gigabyte Aorus X399 running a 2950X for a year now with no issues ... on an HX1200i. Did you contact Gigabyte about this? I doubt it's the PSU.
__________________
Please click "Edit System Specs" and fill out your system info.

This comment is provided "as-is", without warranty of any kind, express or implied, including, but not limited to, the sanity or mental fitness of the author. The author is not a Corsair employee, does not represent Corsair, and no comment should be construed as an official statement from Corsair.

Helpful Links and FAQs:
AIO FAQ | RGB FAQ |
HydroX FAQ | RGB Cables |
iCUE Tips & Tricks

Reply With Quote


  #4  
Old 11-21-2019, 01:17 AM
solarity solarity is offline
CORSAIR Beta Team
solarity's PC Specs
 
Join Date: Mar 2017
Location: Rochester, NY
Posts: 745
POST ID # = 1024671
solarity Reputation: 33
Default

It looks like a cracked ceramic capacitor that failed shorted from possible stress from board flex. It isn't a PSU issue. It is strange it happened on two different boards. What case are you using and are all the standoffs the same type and height?

Reminds me of this video:

I will see if I can pass this on to some guys at Gigabyte that I know.
__________________
RGB 101 Video: General overview on RGB
Zotty's Corsair Guide: RGB FAQ and Sample Diagrams


Disclaimer: I am not an employee of Corsair all my opinions are my own.
Reply With Quote


  #5  
Old 11-21-2019, 05:41 PM
William1 William1 is offline
Registered User
William1's PC Specs
 
Join Date: Nov 2014
Location: Virginia
Posts: 82
POST ID # = 1024761
William1 Reputation: 11
Default

Yup, that is a cap and it is extremely doubtful it was caused by the PSU. Most of the time when they fail, it is because of poor assembly of the board or being undersized/cheap part.
Reply With Quote


  #6  
Old 11-22-2019, 03:03 AM
4Me2Know 4Me2Know is offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Nov 2019
Posts: 4
POST ID # = 1024801
4Me2Know Reputation: 10
Default

The large hole on the underside should not come from a failed top side cap.
Ceramic caps generally fail open (AFAIK).
I wonder if it is caused by an over stressed via.
The burning may be an arc set up by too little clearance or migration of conductive material. I've seen migration cause that sort of burning in Sata power plugs, had to look it up.

The only way that should be in any way related to the supply is if the cap was trying to deal with horrible ripple or voltage spikes, both I would hope are unlikely on a decent PSU.

Last edited by 4Me2Know; 11-22-2019 at 03:32 AM.
Reply With Quote


Reply

Tags
ax1600i, fried, gigabyte

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 01:17 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2020, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.