The Corsair User Forums  

Go Back   The Corsair User Forums > Corsair Product Discussion > Solid State Drives (SSD)

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Rate Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 06-30-2011, 09:23 PM
DAMIAN0617 DAMIAN0617 is offline
Registered User
DAMIAN0617's PC Specs
 
Join Date: May 2008
Location: SAN DIEGO CALIFORNIA USA
Posts: 2
POST ID # = 510663
DAMIAN0617 Reputation: 10
Default Force 3 120 GB 112400303

I believe I have the updated, fixed version of the Corsair Force 3 120GB SATA3 SSD, as the box says "1124xxxxx", but I am having temperature errors, according to HD TUNE PRO, Version 4.61, reading 128 -C temps, no fluctuation. I assume a read error of the SSD's firmware?-------
I have used several other HDDs, and have not once had a temperature error. Now, aside from that temperature error, I have the drive running on a SATA2 ICH10R onboard SATA port, and HD TUNE PRO Benchmark peaks at 262MB/s. I previously had the SSD connected to the SIIG DP SATA 6Gb/s 2S1P PCIe Raid Card, which uses the Marvell 88SE9128 SATA3 chip, but my Benchmark speeds were peaked at 196MB/s! ..so I removed the so called SATA3 controller, and am using SATA2 ICH10R on my Asus P5E, only has native SATA2 ports, and leaving it as such, since i got almost 70MB/s higher read. (Anyone using the mentioned PCIe x1 cards sucessfully attaining SATA3 speed with Corsair SSDs?)
Main questions: 1-- Is 262MB/s peak read results decent, using Corsair Force 3 120GB on Sata2 ports? 2-- Is there anything i can do to fix the 128 -C temperature error reads, maybe a firmware reflash on the "1124xxxxx" SSD? 3-- Does Corsair suggest/test with any specific PCIe SATA3 RAID/Adapter cards?
Reply With Quote


  #2  
Old 06-30-2011, 09:55 PM
Yellowbeard's Avatar
Yellowbeard Yellowbeard is offline
Banned
 
Join Date: Oct 2002
Location: Atlanta,GA, USA.
Posts: 11,531
POST ID # = 510672
Yellowbeard Reputation: 46
Default

Ignore the temperature reading. There is no temp sensor on the Force 3 series so what you are seeing is an erroneous reading.

And no, I'm sorry but we cannot recommend controller cards.
Reply With Quote


  #3  
Old 06-30-2011, 10:42 PM
DAMIAN0617 DAMIAN0617 is offline
Registered User
DAMIAN0617's PC Specs
 
Join Date: May 2008
Location: SAN DIEGO CALIFORNIA USA
Posts: 2
POST ID # = 510676
DAMIAN0617 Reputation: 10
Default

Ok, cool. No temp sensor. Other SSD I used gave a 0 -C reading so, I was not sure, as with looking at specifications, operating temperature was much lower, but I assume that was using a sensor that does not come with retail drives. Also, you cannot recommend any controller cards, due to not testing Corsair SSD's with any, or due to none allowing Corsair SSD's to run at optimal rated speed, or a company disclosure issue? (cannot favor one over the other)
Reply With Quote


  #4  
Old 07-01-2011, 12:18 AM
Yellowbeard's Avatar
Yellowbeard Yellowbeard is offline
Banned
 
Join Date: Oct 2002
Location: Atlanta,GA, USA.
Posts: 11,531
POST ID # = 510683
Yellowbeard Reputation: 46
Default

Just like motherboards, we cannot favor one manufacturer over another.
Reply With Quote


  #5  
Old 08-13-2011, 12:53 PM
Westwoodo Westwoodo is offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
Posts: 1
POST ID # = 520032
Westwoodo Reputation: 10
Default

Thanks for answering this post as I have just found this error on my system and started freaking out!

Thanks again Yellowbeard!
Reply With Quote


Reply

Tags
120gb, force 3, overheating, sata controller, sata3

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 10:57 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2019, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.