The Corsair User Forums  

Go Back   The Corsair User Forums > Corsair Product Discussion > iCUE Software

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Rate Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 06-12-2018, 05:37 PM
JourneyOver JourneyOver is offline
Registered User
JourneyOver's PC Specs
 
Join Date: May 2017
Posts: 10
POST ID # = 958807
JourneyOver Reputation: 10
Important CorsairService | iCue leading to BSOD daily..

As the title is noted, the Corsair Service seems to be leading to BSODs at least once a day, it seems to be related to the CPU-Z .sys module that you guys are using. I would suggest you upgrade to cpuz147_x64.sys module instead of using 146 which is pretty outdated (and causing consistant BSODs).

Sys Info

OS: Windows 10 x64 Pro v1803 -- Latest Updates

CPU: AMD FX 6350

GPU: NVIDIA GTX 760

RAM: 8GIG

BSOD Dump files --
https://mega.nz/#!FAdxgLzB!53TIsYd_I...LeVk-KYAv2Jhew

https://mega.nz/#!tRUXFbLZ!mMH5xt2X7...JOroNbKe2jsnYw

Last edited by JourneyOver; 06-16-2018 at 09:06 PM.
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 06-14-2018, 05:40 PM
sk3ksis sk3ksis is offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jun 2018
Posts: 2
POST ID # = 959117
sk3ksis Reputation: 10
Default BSOD on iCUE v3.3.103

I can confirm this. I just updated my CUE to v3.3.103 and started BSODing. I had to revert to a system restore point.
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 06-16-2018, 03:12 AM
JourneyOver JourneyOver is offline
Registered User
JourneyOver's PC Specs
 
Join Date: May 2017
Posts: 10
POST ID # = 959301
JourneyOver Reputation: 10
Default

Seriously almost 4 days later and still not a single reponse from a dev... This is very sad if this is how things are going to be moving forward, still having a BSOD at least once a day.. Getting to the point that I am never going to recommend anyone to ever buy corsair products again.

Quote:
Originally Posted by sk3ksis View Post
I can confirm this. I just updated my CUE to v3.3.103 and started BSODing. I had to revert to a system restore point.
Really hope this worked as I am considering doing this, Really hoping they fix this in the next version but who the hell knows..

Last edited by JourneyOver; 06-16-2018 at 03:17 AM. Reason: who the hell knows...
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 06-16-2018, 08:54 PM
JourneyOver JourneyOver is offline
Registered User
JourneyOver's PC Specs
 
Join Date: May 2017
Posts: 10
POST ID # = 959384
JourneyOver Reputation: 10
Default

Welp downgrading to an older version of iCue doesn't help, still getting blue screens of death daily... And still no damn word from corsair this is just ****ing sad and pathetic..
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 06-17-2018, 02:26 PM
Inheritance's Avatar
Inheritance Inheritance is offline
CORSAIR Beta Team
 
Join Date: Jul 2013
Location: Somewhere in Texas
Posts: 5,311
POST ID # = 959482
Inheritance Reputation: 41
Default

Hi sorry to hear about the BSOD. We have made the devs aware of this issue, but if you need technical assistance please contact Corsair Support.

The devs are not always monitoring this forum and might not have time to respond.
__________________
Colors of the RAINBOW shine so bright!
USER IS NOT A CORSAIR EMPLOYEE
Come Join My Discord =(^.^)= [iCUE Guide]
Corsair USER Forums is NOT Corsair Tech Support
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 06-18-2018, 03:06 PM
sk3ksis sk3ksis is offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jun 2018
Posts: 2
POST ID # = 959666
sk3ksis Reputation: 10
Default Managed to stop the BSODs

I managed to stop the BSODs by restoring Windows 10 to a point before I updated iCUE to v3.3. I then completely uninstalled iCUE and installed v3.1.131. I'll be waiting a while before I update again I think. I hope this helps you guys until this is fixed in a new version.
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 06-18-2018, 07:54 PM
Inheritance's Avatar
Inheritance Inheritance is offline
CORSAIR Beta Team
 
Join Date: Jul 2013
Location: Somewhere in Texas
Posts: 5,311
POST ID # = 959706
Inheritance Reputation: 41
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by sk3ksis View Post
I managed to stop the BSODs by restoring Windows 10 to a point before I updated iCUE to v3.3. I then completely uninstalled iCUE and installed v3.1.131. I'll be waiting a while before I update again I think. I hope this helps you guys until this is fixed in a new version.
3.4.95 was released today. If you want to give that a try.
__________________
Colors of the RAINBOW shine so bright!
USER IS NOT A CORSAIR EMPLOYEE
Come Join My Discord =(^.^)= [iCUE Guide]
Corsair USER Forums is NOT Corsair Tech Support
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 06-19-2018, 06:14 PM
JourneyOver JourneyOver is offline
Registered User
JourneyOver's PC Specs
 
Join Date: May 2017
Posts: 10
POST ID # = 959887
JourneyOver Reputation: 10
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by sk3ksis View Post
I managed to stop the BSODs by restoring Windows 10 to a point before I updated iCUE to v3.3. I then completely uninstalled iCUE and installed v3.1.131. I'll be waiting a while before I update again I think. I hope this helps you guys until this is fixed in a new version.
I actually had to downgrade all the way back to 2.24.35, way before iCue was even a thing to stop the BSOD's myself since it seemed like every single version with iCue always used/downloaded CPUZ 146.

Quote:
Originally Posted by Inheritance View Post
3.4.95 was released today. If you want to give that a try.
Will give it a try, hope it comes with 147 instead of 146...
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 06-19-2018, 06:28 PM
JourneyOver JourneyOver is offline
Registered User
JourneyOver's PC Specs
 
Join Date: May 2017
Posts: 10
POST ID # = 959895
JourneyOver Reputation: 10
Default

Heh look at that, updated and they are still using cpuz146 do they just like to cause people to have daily BSOD's are something???
Reply With Quote
  #10  
Old 06-19-2018, 06:55 PM
DevBiker's Avatar
DevBiker DevBiker is offline
CORSAIR Beta Team
DevBiker's PC Specs
 
Join Date: Feb 2017
Location: Republic of Texas
Posts: 7,373
POST ID # = 959903
DevBiker Reputation: 88
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by JourneyOver View Post
Heh look at that, updated and they are still using cpuz146 do they just like to cause people to have daily BSOD's are something???
While I understand your frustration, it's apparently not that common. It may also be one of those things that's related to a very specific set of hardware conditions that you are unlucky enough to have.

However, what you can do is rename the cpuidsdk.dll to cpuidsdk.bak. You will lose any monitoring of these values and any fan curves that may be based on these values will need to be reset, so it's not an ideal fix. But iCue will still operate properly. I'm not sure what Corsair devices you have that you need iCue for ... they aren't in your profile ... so I don't know how big of an issue this would be.
__________________
Please click "Edit System Specs" and fill out your system info.

This comment is provided "as-is", without warranty of any kind, express or implied, including, but not limited to, the sanity or mental fitness of the author. The author is not a Corsair employee, does not represent Corsair, and no comment should be construed as an official statement from Corsair.

Reply With Quote
  #11  
Old 06-19-2018, 07:50 PM
beardo47 beardo47 is offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jun 2015
Posts: 23
POST ID # = 959912
beardo47 Reputation: 10
Default

No BSOD's here, your attitude stinks though OP, you won't receive help with an attitude.
Reply With Quote
  #12  
Old 06-20-2018, 09:29 PM
JourneyOver JourneyOver is offline
Registered User
JourneyOver's PC Specs
 
Join Date: May 2017
Posts: 10
POST ID # = 960106
JourneyOver Reputation: 10
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by DevBiker View Post
While I understand your frustration, it's apparently not that common. It may also be one of those things that's related to a very specific set of hardware conditions that you are unlucky enough to have.

However, what you can do is rename the cpuidsdk.dll to cpuidsdk.bak. You will lose any monitoring of these values and any fan curves that may be based on these values will need to be reset, so it's not an ideal fix. But iCue will still operate properly. I'm not sure what Corsair devices you have that you need iCue for ... they aren't in your profile ... so I don't know how big of an issue this would be.
Honestly could care less about monitoring values and such (if I want to monitor values of anything I can use one of the other tons of hardware monitoring software that is out there), I only need iCue for my mouse since it's not the pro version so no onboard memory to hold profiles so I literally need to be running cue/icue for my mouse to work to it's fullest.. So I will try this and see if it helps.

Quote:
Originally Posted by beardo47 View Post
No BSOD's here, your attitude stinks though OP, you won't receive help with an attitude.
Try having a blue screen of death literally every single day for 2+ weeks ontop of some of those days losing game saves due to the blue screen of death corrupting saves since it sometimes would happen while I was playing a game and was in middle of save or something or tons of other various scenarios, it get's annoyingly frustating very quickly.

Last edited by JourneyOver; 06-20-2018 at 09:32 PM.
Reply With Quote
  #13  
Old 06-21-2018, 01:57 PM
JourneyOver JourneyOver is offline
Registered User
JourneyOver's PC Specs
 
Join Date: May 2017
Posts: 10
POST ID # = 960191
JourneyOver Reputation: 10
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by DevBiker View Post
While I understand your frustration, it's apparently not that common. It may also be one of those things that's related to a very specific set of hardware conditions that you are unlucky enough to have.

However, what you can do is rename the cpuidsdk.dll to cpuidsdk.bak. You will lose any monitoring of these values and any fan curves that may be based on these values will need to be reset, so it's not an ideal fix. But iCue will still operate properly. I'm not sure what Corsair devices you have that you need iCue for ... they aren't in your profile ... so I don't know how big of an issue this would be.
so, so far this seems to have at least done the trick to allow me to update and run icue at the latest version instead of running the extremely out of date cue 2.24.35 without having any blue screens, though I did have to change the "cpuidsdk64.dll" one as well it seemed, not completely ideal as I'll probably have to change these every update to iCue until they finally fix this issue but it'll at least do for now.
Reply With Quote
  #14  
Old 06-22-2018, 12:47 AM
DevBiker's Avatar
DevBiker DevBiker is offline
CORSAIR Beta Team
DevBiker's PC Specs
 
Join Date: Feb 2017
Location: Republic of Texas
Posts: 7,373
POST ID # = 960264
DevBiker Reputation: 88
Default

Glad that it's working for you. If you can do use a favor and let us know if/when it's fixed, I'd certainly appreciate it. I'm really curious what the exact hardware combination is that is causing you these issues ... like I said before, it doesn't seem widespread so it seems like it's something particular in your hardware setup. From a forum community perspective, it'd be good to know what that is in case others run into it as well.
__________________
Please click "Edit System Specs" and fill out your system info.

This comment is provided "as-is", without warranty of any kind, express or implied, including, but not limited to, the sanity or mental fitness of the author. The author is not a Corsair employee, does not represent Corsair, and no comment should be construed as an official statement from Corsair.

Reply With Quote
  #15  
Old 09-15-2019, 07:18 AM
johnsonmax008 johnsonmax008 is offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Sep 2019
Posts: 1
POST ID # = 1018260
johnsonmax008 Reputation: 10
Default

I found this post and I hope this will be useful for you.
https://www.lifewire.com/how-to-fix-...-death-2624518

Let me know if this helped you.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
blue screen of death, bsod, corsairservice, cpu-z, cpuz

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 02:55 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2019, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.