The Corsair User Forums  

Go Back   The Corsair User Forums > Corsair Product Discussion > Cooling

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Rating: Thread Rating: 6 votes, 5.00 average. Display Modes
  #1  
Old 05-17-2012, 01:40 PM
saggat saggat is offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: May 2012
Posts: 6
POST ID # = 578906
saggat Reputation: 10
Thumbs down H60 turning off!

I bought this a while a go, first i had the stock cooler, which it worked pretty hot when on full load (49~54c) and turned off my pc.
3 months ago i bought corsair h60 water cooling system, which was working grat, 36c on idle and 46 on full load.
But now i dont know what's going on, sometimes after 9~10hours it starts overheating a LOT. Like if the radiator or something was off for some minutes. After 4m of my pc on almost 90c (yeah, i dont know why it dosnt turn off.. may be sensor problem?)
it goes back, and i see the airflow way hotter.
Now, when i start my pc, i see "CPU fan error" and the RPM of the CPU fan in red (90~300rpm) which is awfull.
I tried appliying new thermal paste,cleaning the fans (which have the push push config)

My question is, what is wrong? Everything is set up right, im pretty sure its defective..
Reply With Quote


  #2  
Old 05-17-2012, 01:41 PM
saggat saggat is offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: May 2012
Posts: 6
POST ID # = 578908
saggat Reputation: 10
Default

I also have to add that i almost never turn off my pc.. that could be a problem?
Reply With Quote


  #3  
Old 05-18-2012, 05:46 AM
peanutz94's Avatar
peanutz94 peanutz94 is offline
Support Assistant
peanutz94's PC Specs
 
Join Date: Feb 2011
Location: Akron,Ohio
Posts: 9,740
POST ID # = 579067
peanutz94 Reputation: 84
Default

It sounds as if the pump is indeed not working correctly. I would have it RMA'd .

You can use the link on the left to get started.
Reply With Quote


  #4  
Old 05-18-2012, 02:32 PM
parsec's Avatar
parsec parsec is offline
Registered User
parsec's PC Specs
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
Location: USA
Posts: 1,456
POST ID # = 579144
parsec Reputation: 10
Default

How are you supplying power to the pump? Is it connected to a mother board fan header? If so, are you sure that your boards fan speed control is not lowering the voltage on that fan header?

You could try using a molex to three pin fan adapter, connected to your power supply, which will supply the pump with a full 12V without any chance of the voltage being reduced to the pump.

Where is your H60 fan connected? It's a PWM fan and should be connected to the mother boards CPU Fan header. We need to know how your H60's pump and fans are connected.
Reply With Quote


  #5  
Old 05-18-2012, 03:25 PM
saggat saggat is offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: May 2012
Posts: 6
POST ID # = 579156
saggat Reputation: 10
Question

Quote:
Originally Posted by parsec View Post
How are you supplying power to the pump? Is it connected to a mother board fan header? If so, are you sure that your boards fan speed control is not lowering the voltage on that fan header?

You could try using a molex to three pin fan adapter, connected to your power supply, which will supply the pump with a full 12V without any chance of the voltage being reduced to the pump.

Where is your H60 fan connected? It's a PWM fan and should be connected to the mother boards CPU Fan header. We need to know how your H60's pump and fans are connected.
It is connected to the motherboard CPU fan header, and the mobo is working correctly since im using now a air cooling system.
There is no such thing in my motherboard as power control for the cpu fan, the pump goes crazy even if i reset everything in the BIOS to default.
I already opened a case about this, but i cant find the corsair SN number, where its supossed to be? and also, where is the lot code?
Reply With Quote


  #6  
Old 05-18-2012, 03:34 PM
saggat saggat is offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: May 2012
Posts: 6
POST ID # = 579159
saggat Reputation: 10
Default

My case number is #4668126
Reply With Quote


  #7  
Old 05-19-2012, 06:51 PM
saggat saggat is offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: May 2012
Posts: 6
POST ID # = 579364
saggat Reputation: 10
Default

can some1 help with this?
Reply With Quote


  #8  
Old 05-20-2012, 09:34 AM
peanutz94's Avatar
peanutz94 peanutz94 is offline
Support Assistant
peanutz94's PC Specs
 
Join Date: Feb 2011
Location: Akron,Ohio
Posts: 9,740
POST ID # = 579436
peanutz94 Reputation: 84
Default

Hi Saggert,

If you have already started the RMA process, (since you have a case number, you already have) you will receive further instructions in an email. Be sure to check your SPAM filters . They end up there sometimes.

Also, Corsair is closed on the weekends , so you probably will not hear anything till Monday.
You could possibly speed things up by calling the toll free line on Monday and speak to a representative. Unfortunately the RMA department does not monitor or respond to the forums. This is tech support only.

If you are overseas, you can always use SKYPE to make the call for nothing!

I hope this helps some :)

Quote:
I already opened a case about this, but i cant find the corsair SN number, where its supossed to be? and also, where is the lot code?
Reply With Quote
They should both be on the box with the bar code.

Last edited by peanutz94; 05-20-2012 at 09:38 AM.
Reply With Quote


  #9  
Old 05-22-2012, 06:56 PM
RAM GUY's Avatar
RAM GUY RAM GUY is offline
Corsair Product Guru
 
Join Date: Apr 2001
Location: Fremont, CA
Posts: 118,268
POST ID # = 579958
RAM GUY Reputation: 10
Default

Saggat - I've looked into your case and we have advised you to proceed with the RMA process. Please check your e-mail
__________________
Support accounts and tickets can be created at https://support.corsair.com.
Reply With Quote


  #10  
Old 05-25-2012, 06:52 PM
saggat saggat is offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: May 2012
Posts: 6
POST ID # = 580689
saggat Reputation: 10
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by RAM GUY View Post
Saggat - I've looked into your case and we have advised you to proceed with the RMA process. Please check your e-mail
There is nothing in my mail...
Thanks for your help~!
Nevermind, anyway. i cant found the sn..
but i can provide pictures of the box, and the barcode

Last edited by Wired; 06-01-2012 at 03:50 AM. Reason: removed emaill address
Reply With Quote


  #11  
Old 05-31-2012, 07:03 PM
RAM GUY's Avatar
RAM GUY RAM GUY is offline
Corsair Product Guru
 
Join Date: Apr 2001
Location: Fremont, CA
Posts: 118,268
POST ID # = 581769
RAM GUY Reputation: 10
Default

We would only require the lot code for coolers, it should be on the radiator.

An e-mail was sent to you on the 25th, with all the instruction on how to proceed
__________________
Support accounts and tickets can be created at https://support.corsair.com.
Reply With Quote


  #12  
Old 06-02-2012, 02:11 AM
jinker jinker is offline
Registered User
jinker's PC Specs
 
Join Date: Apr 2012
Location: North East England
Posts: 23
POST ID # = 582342
jinker Reputation: 10
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by RAM GUY View Post
We would only require the lot code for coolers, it should be on the radiator.

An e-mail was sent to you on the 25th, with all the instruction on how to proceed
Seems obvious to me he didn't get the email so would it hurt to re-send it?

Jim W
Reply With Quote


  #13  
Old 06-02-2012, 03:20 AM
Wired's Avatar
Wired Wired is offline
Administrator
Wired's PC Specs
 
Join Date: Aug 2000
Posts: 32,188
POST ID # = 582349
Wired Reputation: 32
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by jinker View Post
Seems obvious to me he didn't get the email so would it hurt to re-send it?

Jim W
OTOH perhaps he isn't responding because he did get it, just after his last post, or he saw it in spam, or perhaps they did re-send it, or perhaps he called them.
__________________
No, I don't work for Corsair
...you need to flow like a river...
Forum Rules
Admin of this forum / webdesignforums.net / Petri's IT Forum / The Corsair Memory Steam Group
Founder/Creator/Admin of ZE SECRET PROJECT (Coming Soon)
Reply With Quote


  #14  
Old 06-02-2012, 04:19 AM
jinker jinker is offline
Registered User
jinker's PC Specs
 
Join Date: Apr 2012
Location: North East England
Posts: 23
POST ID # = 582354
jinker Reputation: 10
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Wired View Post
OTOH perhaps he isn't responding because he did get it, just after his last post, or he saw it in spam, or perhaps they did re-send it, or perhaps he called them.
He updated his post yesterday to remove his email address. No mention of receiving the email so we can only go on what's there. If you know it's all sorted great a result, but referring to an email dated 25th when he already said; he hadn't got it wasn't really a solution was it? It might have gone in to his spam folder and he missed it but it wouldn't have hurt to just send him the email again.

Jinker
Reply With Quote


  #15  
Old 06-02-2012, 04:28 AM
Wired's Avatar
Wired Wired is offline
Administrator
Wired's PC Specs
 
Join Date: Aug 2000
Posts: 32,188
POST ID # = 582355
Wired Reputation: 32
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by jinker View Post
He updated his post yesterday to remove his email address. No mention of receiving the email so we can only go on what's there.
No, I did :)
Last edited by Wired; Yesterday at 02:50 AM. Reason: removed emaill address

The point is, he last posted on the 25th. We don't know when Corsair sent the email, but one could theorize it was after he had posted. Either way, it's up to him to say if he was or was not able to contact support.
__________________
No, I don't work for Corsair
...you need to flow like a river...
Forum Rules
Admin of this forum / webdesignforums.net / Petri's IT Forum / The Corsair Memory Steam Group
Founder/Creator/Admin of ZE SECRET PROJECT (Coming Soon)
Reply With Quote


Reply

Tags
h60, overheating, turning off

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 09:26 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2019, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.