The Corsair User Forums  

Go Back   The Corsair User Forums > Corsair Product Discussion > Power Supplies

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Rating: Thread Rating: 28 votes, 5.00 average. Display Modes
  #16  
Old 12-02-2009, 01:54 AM
NfiniteZERO's Avatar
NfiniteZERO NfiniteZERO is offline
Registered User
NfiniteZERO's PC Specs
 
Join Date: May 2009
Posts: 109
POST ID # = 429047
NfiniteZERO Reputation: 10
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by gutcheck View Post
I'll just use one for now then.

What is this business about 12v1 and 12v2 using the mobo too? So, should I hook the GPU up with the modular PCIe cables, or the ones attached to the supply?

Corsair, time to make a 1500 watt!!! And sleave it!!!!!!!!!!
Just use the modular ones and you should be alright with just the one. I was trying to do the math with both OC'd cards, OC'd CPU, etc. and starting typing out loud again
Reply With Quote


  #17  
Old 12-02-2009, 12:33 PM
gutcheck gutcheck is offline
Registered User
gutcheck's PC Specs
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
Posts: 372
POST ID # = 429082
gutcheck Reputation: 10
Default

Really? I shouldn't use the PCIe cables that are attached to the supply?
Reply With Quote


  #18  
Old 12-02-2009, 02:04 PM
lee63 lee63 is offline
Registered User
lee63's PC Specs
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Posts: 38
POST ID # = 429103
lee63 Reputation: 10
Default

I have been told the HX1000 is really a 1200w PSU.....is this true ?
Reply With Quote


  #19  
Old 12-02-2009, 06:40 PM
gutcheck gutcheck is offline
Registered User
gutcheck's PC Specs
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
Posts: 372
POST ID # = 429165
gutcheck Reputation: 10
Default

Yes, I have read this too someplace....

Can someone clarify this modular connector thing?
Reply With Quote


  #20  
Old 12-02-2009, 07:56 PM
Wired's Avatar
Wired Wired is offline
Administrator
Wired's PC Specs
 
Join Date: Aug 2000
Posts: 32,188
POST ID # = 429182
Wired Reputation: 32
Default

Where'd you read that? It may be well engineered and can take more punishment than a standard PSU, but I've never heard that before. That's a 20% overage. Maybe they were talking about how much wattage it can pull from the wall (1250W * 80% = 1000W).
__________________
No, I don't work for Corsair
...you need to flow like a river...
Forum Rules
Admin of this forum / webdesignforums.net / Petri's IT Forum / The Corsair Memory Steam Group
Founder/Creator/Admin of ZE SECRET PROJECT (Coming Soon)
Reply With Quote


  #21  
Old 12-02-2009, 09:18 PM
FEAR6655 FEAR6655 is offline
Registered User
FEAR6655's PC Specs
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: New Zealand
Posts: 249
POST ID # = 429192
FEAR6655 Reputation: 10
Default

The HX1000 is actually just essentially 2x 500w PSU's in parallel. I think the 1200w claims come from here, however it seems its referring to a 1200w PSU based on the design of the HX1000, rather than the HX1000 actually being a 1200w PSU, which it can't be as per it being 2x 500w.
Reply With Quote


  #22  
Old 12-02-2009, 10:28 PM
Wired's Avatar
Wired Wired is offline
Administrator
Wired's PC Specs
 
Join Date: Aug 2000
Posts: 32,188
POST ID # = 429198
Wired Reputation: 32
Default

Just got word from internal - it's not recommended as it's like redlining your car all the time.
__________________
No, I don't work for Corsair
...you need to flow like a river...
Forum Rules
Admin of this forum / webdesignforums.net / Petri's IT Forum / The Corsair Memory Steam Group
Founder/Creator/Admin of ZE SECRET PROJECT (Coming Soon)
Reply With Quote


  #23  
Old 12-02-2009, 11:53 PM
gutcheck gutcheck is offline
Registered User
gutcheck's PC Specs
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
Posts: 372
POST ID # = 429200
gutcheck Reputation: 10
Default

Whats not recommended? 2 5970's? If so, can you ask if a 5970 + a 5870 would be OK? I would imagine it would, the 5870 has a TDP of only 180ish watts.
Reply With Quote


  #24  
Old 12-03-2009, 12:19 AM
FEAR6655 FEAR6655 is offline
Registered User
FEAR6655's PC Specs
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: New Zealand
Posts: 249
POST ID # = 429203
FEAR6655 Reputation: 10
Default

5970+5870 would be fine.
Reply With Quote


  #25  
Old 12-03-2009, 12:24 AM
gutcheck gutcheck is offline
Registered User
gutcheck's PC Specs
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
Posts: 372
POST ID # = 429205
gutcheck Reputation: 10
Default

so how do I hook them up? This topic about not using the non modular cables is interesting. I had a single 295 that I RMA'ed like 5 times because of issues, but I have 3 5850's with no issues. How do I hook up the single 5970? how about the 5970 and the 5870?
Reply With Quote


  #26  
Old 12-03-2009, 12:29 AM
lee63 lee63 is offline
Registered User
lee63's PC Specs
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Posts: 38
POST ID # = 429207
lee63 Reputation: 10
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Wired View Post
Just got word from internal - it's not recommended as it's like redlining your car all the time.
You mean 2x5970 ? And can it handle 3x5870 ?

This guy is running 5970s with a coolermaster 1100w...surely the HX1000 out performs that PSU.

http://www.hardforum.com/showthread....post1034995289

Last edited by lee63; 12-03-2009 at 12:46 AM.
Reply With Quote


  #27  
Old 12-03-2009, 12:54 AM
gutcheck gutcheck is offline
Registered User
gutcheck's PC Specs
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
Posts: 372
POST ID # = 429211
gutcheck Reputation: 10
Default

Well that sucks! I guess I can live with tri fire. I'm in no hurry to replace my 300 USD PSU, unless Corsair comes out with a bigger one. I could try 2 PSU's, that might be fun. I will have all my cards on water so I want to OC the hell outta them.
Reply With Quote


  #28  
Old 12-03-2009, 01:00 AM
Wired's Avatar
Wired Wired is offline
Administrator
Wired's PC Specs
 
Join Date: Aug 2000
Posts: 32,188
POST ID # = 429213
Wired Reputation: 32
Default

1000W vs 1100W... ???
__________________
No, I don't work for Corsair
...you need to flow like a river...
Forum Rules
Admin of this forum / webdesignforums.net / Petri's IT Forum / The Corsair Memory Steam Group
Founder/Creator/Admin of ZE SECRET PROJECT (Coming Soon)
Reply With Quote


  #29  
Old 12-03-2009, 01:05 AM
lee63 lee63 is offline
Registered User
lee63's PC Specs
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Posts: 38
POST ID # = 429215
lee63 Reputation: 10
Default

From what I've read about this PSU it should keep up with it...its not always about wattage.

He's running 2 5970s and a GTX 295 thats excluding the rest of his rig...on a extra 100w.

Last edited by lee63; 12-03-2009 at 01:09 AM.
Reply With Quote


  #30  
Old 12-03-2009, 01:14 AM
gutcheck gutcheck is offline
Registered User
gutcheck's PC Specs
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
Posts: 372
POST ID # = 429217
gutcheck Reputation: 10
Default

well I'll try it. CAN SOMEONE TELL ME WHICH CABLES TO USE? I have it sitting here and I will hook it up if someone lets me know modular / non modular LOL
Reply With Quote


Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 10:06 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2019, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.