The Corsair User Forums  

Go Back   The Corsair User Forums > Corsair Product Discussion > Memory

Notices

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Rate Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 08-29-2015, 12:55 PM
raelliott raelliott is offline
Registered User
raelliott's PC Specs
 
Join Date: Aug 2015
Posts: 5
POST ID # = 803597
raelliott Reputation: 10
Default Vengeance LPX 32GB DDR4 Not At 2800MHz?

I've got the Corsair Vengeance LPX 32GB (4x8gb) DDR4 2800MHz ((CMK32GX4M4A2800C16)) set of ram, and I'm unsure if it's running at the correct clock rate. Here is a picture of my specs and what my app is reporting it at:

Specs:
Reported frequency and clock rates:

Now it could very well just be the app is reporting the wrong thing, I also just don't know much about RAM clock rates and how that works, but I just get the feeling they aren't running how they should be. I'm pretty sure that I have XMP enabled in my BIOS, and thought it was set to 2800MHz.

Are those reported clock rates correct or is there something wrong with either the ram itself or some settings in my BIOS?
Reply With Quote


  #2  
Old 08-29-2015, 03:25 PM
emissary42's Avatar
emissary42 emissary42 is online now
Registered User
emissary42's PC Specs
 
Join Date: Aug 2013
Location: Nehr'esham
Posts: 1,010
POST ID # = 803632
emissary42 emissary42 Reputation: 122
Default

If you enabled the XMP in UEFI thats all you have to do.

The CPU-Z memory tab or HWInfo64 summary page should report 1400MHz = DDR4-2800. Both apps are pretty reliable in reporting the actual memory speed from my experience.
Reply With Quote


  #3  
Old 08-29-2015, 03:35 PM
raelliott raelliott is offline
Registered User
raelliott's PC Specs
 
Join Date: Aug 2015
Posts: 5
POST ID # = 803634
raelliott Reputation: 10
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by emissary42 View Post
If you enabled the XMP in UEFI thats all you have to do.

The CPU-Z memory tab or HWInfo64 summary page should report 1400MHz = DDR4-2800. Both apps are pretty reliable in reporting the actual memory speed from my experience.
Went ahead and installed it to see what it's reporting, and it looks like it too is saying something lower than it should be:
Reply With Quote


  #4  
Old 08-29-2015, 04:24 PM
emissary42's Avatar
emissary42 emissary42 is online now
Registered User
emissary42's PC Specs
 
Join Date: Aug 2013
Location: Nehr'esham
Posts: 1,010
POST ID # = 803639
emissary42 emissary42 Reputation: 122
Default

Then check again if the XMP is actually enabled.
Reply With Quote


Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 04:26 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2020, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.