The Corsair User Forums  

Go Back   The Corsair User Forums > Corsair Product Discussion > iCUE Software

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Rate Thread Display Modes
  #76  
Old 09-03-2019, 02:15 PM
Greybeard's Avatar
Greybeard Greybeard is offline
Corsair Employee
 
Join Date: Feb 2012
Location: Corsair HQ
Posts: 1,317
POST ID # = 1016713
Greybeard Reputation: 24
Default

Sorry to see that some of you guys are seeing some issues with 3.19. Since this version just dropped last Friday, we didn't get a chance to provide you guys a response right away due to labor day weekend.

@momorious, Thank you for sharing your experience with 3.19, it's unfortunate that it's a bad one rather than a good one. Pulling down the public version is not as simple as you think though, we need to gather more data then decide if pulling 3.19 down is warranted or not.

Regarding the high CPU usage on a single core, that is something we have seen before so I'll inform the software team for them to re-evaluate and figure out a solution. As for the frame rate drops, I'm wondering if this is only happening when you have iCUE running in the background vs having it minimized.

@Dicehunter, You know better than that. This might have been a slight oversight on our part, but saying that QA is our customer is a bit of a stretch.
Reply With Quote
  #77  
Old 09-03-2019, 03:23 PM
roman59 roman59 is offline
Registered User
roman59's PC Specs
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
Posts: 33
POST ID # = 1016720
roman59 Reputation: 10
Default

Been having the same issues as a lot of people on here which started after I updated to the lastest version of icue last friday night.

Games were unplayable due to the serious framerate drops, icue was running in the background and not minimized.

Thankfully 3.18 has fixed my problems, but a lot of time was wasted over the weekend trying to figure out what was the cause of the problem, it nearly got to the point where I was going to rma m y RTX2070 Super which is not even a month old to drop from around 124 frames per second to 47 is not good news in my book at all.
Reply With Quote
  #78  
Old 09-03-2019, 03:31 PM
H1TWOLF's Avatar
H1TWOLF H1TWOLF is offline
Registered User
H1TWOLF's PC Specs
 
Join Date: Sep 2019
Posts: 3
POST ID # = 1016721
H1TWOLF Reputation: 10
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Greybeard View Post
Sorry to see that some of you guys are seeing some issues with 3.19. Since this version just dropped last Friday, we didn't get a chance to provide you guys a response right away due to labor day weekend.

@momorious, Thank you for sharing your experience with 3.19, it's unfortunate that it's a bad one rather than a good one. Pulling down the public version is not as simple as you think though, we need to gather more data then decide if pulling 3.19 down is warranted or not.

Regarding the high CPU usage on a single core, that is something we have seen before so I'll inform the software team for them to re-evaluate and figure out a solution. As for the frame rate drops, I'm wondering if this is only happening when you have iCUE running in the background vs having it minimized.

@Dicehunter, You know better than that. This might have been a slight oversight on our part, but saying that QA is our customer is a bit of a stretch.
FPS drops happen whether its minimized or not. If 3.19 is running whatsoever, you get a performance tank.
Reply With Quote
  #79  
Old 09-03-2019, 04:36 PM
thestu thestu is offline
Registered User
thestu's PC Specs
 
Join Date: Aug 2019
Posts: 29
POST ID # = 1016730
thestu Reputation: 25
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Greybeard View Post
Sorry to see that some of you guys are seeing some issues with 3.19. Since this version just dropped last Friday, we didn't get a chance to provide you guys a response right away due to labor day weekend.

@momorious, Thank you for sharing your experience with 3.19, it's unfortunate that it's a bad one rather than a good one. Pulling down the public version is not as simple as you think though, we need to gather more data then decide if pulling 3.19 down is warranted or not.

Regarding the high CPU usage on a single core, that is something we have seen before so I'll inform the software team for them to re-evaluate and figure out a solution. As for the frame rate drops, I'm wondering if this is only happening when you have iCUE running in the background vs having it minimized.

@Dicehunter, You know better than that. This might have been a slight oversight on our part, but saying that QA is our customer is a bit of a stretch.
In my case, the high CPU usage on a single core is not caused by a high software usage, such as a loop, but hardware interrupts. When iCUE starts, I see the number of hardware interrupts go high during the device detection phase. It seems like iCUE is polling devices and one of them is starting to do these hardware interrupts, not the iCUE.exe process itself. Some were pointing towards RGB RAM.

I've made screenshots of the usage with 3.18 and 3.19 for comparison. We can see at the bottom the big difference in interrupt delta. Interrupts at 6% may not represent a lot, but 100% /12 cores = 8% or 75% of core 0 on my PC.

The problem is that drivers, such as graphics card, are affected by the latency these interrupts are causing, hence the FPS drop in games.

Also, when I was closing iCUE and stopping Corsair service, the interrupts would not drop until a reboot. I disabled the service and automatic startup of iCUE and i didn't have any problem until I started iCUE manually.

At least that's my understanding...

See screenshots in post: https://forum.corsair.com/forums/sho...5&postcount=18

Last edited by thestu; 09-03-2019 at 04:43 PM.
Reply With Quote
  #80  
Old 09-03-2019, 06:51 PM
BatJoe BatJoe is offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Apr 2012
Posts: 57
POST ID # = 1016743
BatJoe Reputation: 10
Default

This is why you shouldn't release updates before holidays/weekends.
Reply With Quote
  #81  
Old 09-03-2019, 08:31 PM
Dicehunter's Avatar
Dicehunter Dicehunter is offline
I Fight For The Users
Dicehunter's PC Specs
 
Join Date: Aug 2014
Location: EU
Posts: 440
POST ID # = 1016751
Dicehunter Reputation: 16
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Greybeard View Post
@Dicehunter, You know better than that. This might have been a slight oversight on our part, but saying that QA is our customer is a bit of a stretch.
You personally know how much I love Corsair products, And everything in my rig and on my desk being Corsair, You yourself having helped me a lot with RMA/warranty issues over the years, Of which I am very grateful, But on the software side it's been slipping for a very long time now
__________________

Last edited by Dicehunter; 09-03-2019 at 11:48 PM.
Reply With Quote
  #82  
Old 09-04-2019, 10:10 AM
SirLagalot SirLagalot is offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Sep 2019
Posts: 2
POST ID # = 1016840
SirLagalot Reputation: 10
Default

Same issues here as the others with 3.19. With iCue running I have an unplayable computer (framerates jump all over the place and never consistently). When I uninstalled 3.19 everything went back to normal.

Latencymon blames the nvidia driver, but I've futzed with many different versions to no success. I finally resorted to loading a system image from the first of the month just to get rid of all the nasty.

I'd be happy to provide a dxdiag or any other log to whoever needs it on the Corsair side.

Quick specs for reference:
Windows 10 Pro Build 18970
Gigabyte Z370 Aorus Gaming 7 mobo
i7 8700k @ 4.7 Ghz w/ Corsair H115i Pro
EVGA Geforce RTX 2080 Ti XC Ultra
32GB (4x8) Corsair Vengeance RGP Pro @ 3200
Reply With Quote
  #83  
Old 09-04-2019, 10:51 AM
rascaluk rascaluk is offline
Registered User
rascaluk's PC Specs
 
Join Date: Jan 2019
Location: UK
Posts: 17
POST ID # = 1016844
rascaluk Reputation: 10
Default

EDIT: THIS IS UNRELATED TO THE ISSUE (just similar symptoms at a glance, i.e. single core at 100% utilisation)
Leaving it here so replies below aren't confusing.

Perhaps unrelated but it looks like the Windows 10 1903 patch KB4512941 is causing a similar issue. I can't find many sources but here you go.

https://www.windowscentral.com/micro...date-kb4512941

Just adding this in case some people are seeing this and thinking it's iCue when it's not. Or in case this is making identification/diagnosis more difficult in general. This could also indicate a Windows 10 related root cause, also affecting iCue - but that is 100% speculation.

Last edited by rascaluk; 09-04-2019 at 05:24 PM.
Reply With Quote
  #84  
Old 09-04-2019, 11:31 AM
thestu thestu is offline
Registered User
thestu's PC Specs
 
Join Date: Aug 2019
Posts: 29
POST ID # = 1016849
thestu Reputation: 25
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by SirLagalot View Post
Same issues here as the others with 3.19. With iCue running I have an unplayable computer (framerates jump all over the place and never consistently). When I uninstalled 3.19 everything went back to normal.

Latencymon blames the nvidia driver, but I've futzed with many different versions to no success. I finally resorted to loading a system image from the first of the month just to get rid of all the nasty.

I'd be happy to provide a dxdiag or any other log to whoever needs it on the Corsair side.

Quick specs for reference:
Windows 10 Pro Build 18970
Gigabyte Z370 Aorus Gaming 7 mobo
i7 8700k @ 4.7 Ghz w/ Corsair H115i Pro
EVGA Geforce RTX 2080 Ti XC Ultra
32GB (4x8) Corsair Vengeance RGP Pro @ 3200
Latency Monitor will show you drivers that are taking a long time for execution. This is not always the driver to blame.

Currently you are seeing nvidia driver causing latency, but in fact hardware interrupts are causing that latency to other drivers and since the video card is frequently used, you are seeing more latency on the nvidia driver.

I had the same observation and I did a huge file transfer over my gigabit network adapter and the driver "to blame" became NDIS.

Your Nvidia driver is fine. Issue goes away with iCUE 3.18.

Hardware interrupts are very high priority and interrupt the CPU execution thus causing those delays and apparent lag.
Reply With Quote
  #85  
Old 09-04-2019, 11:34 AM
thestu thestu is offline
Registered User
thestu's PC Specs
 
Join Date: Aug 2019
Posts: 29
POST ID # = 1016850
thestu Reputation: 25
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by rascaluk View Post
Perhaps unrelated but it looks like the Windows 10 1903 patch KB4512941 is causing a similar issue. I can't find many sources but here you go.

https://www.windowscentral.com/micro...date-kb4512941

Just adding this in case some people are seeing this and thinking it's iCue when it's not. Or in case this is making identification/diagnosis more difficult in general. This could also indicate a Windows 10 related root cause, also affecting iCue - but that is 100% speculation.
I didn’t have update KB4512941 installed and it seems to be Cortana or search processes with high CPU usage not hardware interrupts.
Reply With Quote
  #86  
Old 09-04-2019, 11:43 AM
Excalibur1 Excalibur1 is offline
Registered User
Excalibur1's PC Specs
 
Join Date: Oct 2018
Location: NY
Posts: 4
POST ID # = 1016851
Excalibur1 Reputation: 10
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by rascaluk View Post
Perhaps unrelated but it looks like the Windows 10 1903 patch KB4512941 is causing a similar issue. I can't find many sources but here you go.

https://www.windowscentral.com/micro...date-kb4512941

Just adding this in case some people are seeing this and thinking it's iCue when it's not. Or in case this is making identification/diagnosis more difficult in general. This could also indicate a Windows 10 related root cause, also affecting iCue - but that is 100% speculation.
It's unrelated, and that update only affects people who went out of their way to disable cortana via registry/group policy edits.

In our case, it is 100% iCUE fault here as it is very reproducible. If it's running in the background then performance will tank. If it's closed then it will not.

Last edited by Excalibur1; 09-04-2019 at 04:45 PM.
Reply With Quote
  #87  
Old 09-04-2019, 12:32 PM
BatJoe BatJoe is offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Apr 2012
Posts: 57
POST ID # = 1016858
BatJoe Reputation: 10
Default

The Windows update high CPU issue is not related to this problem.
Reply With Quote
  #88  
Old 09-04-2019, 04:18 PM
Blackworms Blackworms is offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jul 2019
Posts: 13
POST ID # = 1016874
Blackworms Reputation: 10
Default

I second that. Don't have the latest Windows update and even if I had, my country isn't supported for Cortana usage so it wouldn't be a problem. Issue is %100 related with iCue's System Interrupts.
Reply With Quote
  #89  
Old 09-04-2019, 09:48 PM
H1TWOLF's Avatar
H1TWOLF H1TWOLF is offline
Registered User
H1TWOLF's PC Specs
 
Join Date: Sep 2019
Posts: 3
POST ID # = 1016908
H1TWOLF Reputation: 10
Default

I noticed the main website now has 3.12.118 as the version download. Should those of us that are using 3.18 roll all the way back to 3.12?
Reply With Quote
  #90  
Old 09-04-2019, 10:59 PM
bertie123 bertie123 is offline
Registered User
bertie123's PC Specs
 
Join Date: Jan 2013
Posts: 17
POST ID # = 1016912
bertie123 Reputation: 10
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by H1TWOLF View Post
I noticed the main website now has 3.12.118 as the version download. Should those of us that are using 3.18 roll all the way back to 3.12?
Still shows v3.19.120 for me
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 12:36 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2019, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.