Corsair Community

Hydro X Custom Cooling System CRYSTAL 680 X

NBGKecko

Hi,

I am an absolute noob to the subject of water cooling!

I need your help and wanted to ask questions about this loop here:

https://ibb.co/sPFch07

sPFch07

I turn on the power and the pump starts to whistle softly. After about 10 seconds, the whistling is louder. The pump does not deliver coolant!

I really do not know why it is. Did I connect the hoses incorrectly? Is the circuit / loop wrong?

I deliberately turned the CPU block because I wanted to route the cable upwards. Is that the error?

Or should i loop it like this:

https://www.computerbase.de/2019-05/corsair-hydro-x-custom-wasserkuehlung-corsair/#bilder

Can anybody help me?

Thanks in advance

Greetings

The cpu block being backwards isn't optimal for flow, but shouldn't cause the pump to not pump. It may be the air between the gpu block and the pump is causing a pressure problem. You might be able to tilt your case so that the air goes into the pump and the water fills the space, which might allow the pump to start working. I had a similar issue when I had drained my system to change something and did a refill.

AS above, using reverse flow through the CPU block might cost you 1-2C, but not stop flow. Incidentally, you can take the black pump cover off and rotate it independently of the block to make it take the optimal flow path in the inverted position -- if that is what you really want.

The paper towel is blocking my view a little, but it looks like:

Pump/res -> down to GPU -> front 360mm -> back up CPU block port right -> up and around to top reservoir entry.

However, it looks to me like your "out flow tube" is the one on the right of the two on that side. If so, that is an return port. There is only one outflow port on the XD5. It looks like you have reverse trickle back down from the reservoir, but not actual flow.

Seems like you have TWO intakes, top and bottom, next to the out-port.

You can only do ONE.