The Corsair User Forums  

Go Back   The Corsair User Forums > Corsair Product Discussion > Hydro X Custom Cooling

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Rate Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 12-01-2019, 01:04 PM
damnengineer damnengineer is offline
Registered User
damnengineer's PC Specs
 
Join Date: Dec 2019
Posts: 17
POST ID # = 1025872
damnengineer Reputation: 10
Default Configurator no 4 GPU option?

Is there a reason I can't select 4xRTX2080ti's in the hydro x configurator? For some brands I can select 3 of those GPU's and for others only 2.

I want to build a GPU rendering workstation around the new 3970X, and the motherboard I picked certainly has 4 pci-e slots with enough clearance. Is there anything else I'm missing or can I just order the extra parts for an extra GPU?
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 12-01-2019, 01:23 PM
DevBiker's Avatar
DevBiker DevBiker is offline
CORSAIR Beta Team
DevBiker's PC Specs
 
Join Date: Feb 2017
Location: Republic of Texas
Posts: 8,301
POST ID # = 1025874
DevBiker Reputation: 94
Default

Just order the extra parts.
I think that 4 GPUs is one of those "edge cases" that less then 1% of 1% of users would do.
Which motherboard are you getting? That's gonna be one powerful build. But will it run Crysis?? (LOL)
__________________
Please click "Edit System Specs" and fill out your system info.

This comment is provided "as-is", without warranty of any kind, express or implied, including, but not limited to, the sanity or mental fitness of the author. The author is not a Corsair employee, does not represent Corsair, and no comment should be construed as an official statement from Corsair.

Helpful Links and FAQs:
AIO FAQ | RGB FAQ |
HydroX FAQ | RGB Cables |
iCUE Tips & Tricks

Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 12-01-2019, 02:02 PM
damnengineer damnengineer is offline
Registered User
damnengineer's PC Specs
 
Join Date: Dec 2019
Posts: 17
POST ID # = 1025880
damnengineer Reputation: 10
Default

Thanks DevBiker,

I'll be getting a Gigabyte Aorus Xtreme, it has 2 onboard 10Gbe NICs, which really helps with all the footage I have to pull from my SAN. Now I just have to wait until I can get my hands on a processor.
I do a lot of Vray NEXT, After Effects and Fusion rendering, so both CPU and GPU's will help.
I just want to get watercooling, because right now I'm running 2xRTX2080ti's and 2xGTX1080ti's in one rig and although the RTX cards are hybrid ones, the 1080's, which are FE's, are having a hard time.
Thanks again, once I'll get this build done, I'll post some pics.
I'm too busy to run Crysis, so the answer is no ;).

Last edited by damnengineer; 12-01-2019 at 02:05 PM.
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 12-01-2019, 06:41 PM
tiborrr tiborrr is offline
Registered User
tiborrr's PC Specs
 
Join Date: Sep 2019
Posts: 85
POST ID # = 1025907
tiborrr Reputation: 10
Default

Which board did you choose? And which chassis? Please share configurator code.
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 12-01-2019, 08:33 PM
Corsair GregX Corsair GregX is offline
Corsair Employee
 
Join Date: Apr 2019
Posts: 192
POST ID # = 1025924
Corsair GregX Reputation: 10
Default

Hi!

According to the layout of the Gigabyte TRX40 Aorus Xtreme you would need a case with 9 expansion slots in order to fit 4 GPUs with GPU water blocks.
Which case were you using?

Here is a configurator build with Gigabyte TRX40 Aorus Xtreme and 4x 2080 Ti Founders Edition in case which officially supports 9 expansion slots.
http://www.corsair.com/custom-coolin...figCode=afeo2c

A build in Corsair 1000D with ASRock TRX40 Creator (the only TRX40 motherboard which can take 4 GPUs with 8 expansion slots on the case).
www.corsair.com/custom-cooling-configurator/configCode=zfeo4x

Last edited by Corsair GregX; 12-01-2019 at 08:35 PM.
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 12-02-2019, 02:31 AM
damnengineer damnengineer is offline
Registered User
damnengineer's PC Specs
 
Join Date: Dec 2019
Posts: 17
POST ID # = 1025942
damnengineer Reputation: 10
Default

Thank you Greg,

I was indeed looking at the 1000D, I thought it would easily fit.
I expected that the Gigabyte TRX40 Aorus Xtreme would fit with the 1000d with 4 gpus, unfortunately the 900D is not available here anymore, so I guess I'll have to take a look at another case then.
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 12-02-2019, 06:06 AM
Corsair GregX Corsair GregX is offline
Corsair Employee
 
Join Date: Apr 2019
Posts: 192
POST ID # = 1025949
Corsair GregX Reputation: 10
Default

Might be possible to use the 1000D if you won't add a secondary mini ITX system.
I would warmly suggest to go with 1000D since it really does support enough radiator positions for such a beastly system.

With 2080 Ti Founders Edition and XG7 GPU water block there should be enough clearance to keep the drive bay in place.
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 12-02-2019, 06:58 AM
damnengineer damnengineer is offline
Registered User
damnengineer's PC Specs
 
Join Date: Dec 2019
Posts: 17
POST ID # = 1025963
damnengineer Reputation: 10
Default

Ah that's good news, I liked this case because of all the space it offers. I won't be adding a second system in the case.
Now I just have to wait until there's a 3970x available.
Thanks for all the help.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 01:38 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2020, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.