The Corsair User Forums  

Go Back   The Corsair User Forums > Corsair Product Discussion > Solid State Drives (SSD)

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Rate Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 01-02-2013, 12:05 AM
ZiggyStar ZiggyStar is offline
Registered User
ZiggyStar's PC Specs
 
Join Date: Jan 2013
Posts: 1
POST ID # = 622894
ZiggyStar Reputation: 10
Default Corsair Neutron and System Problems

Recently I purchased a Neutron GTX 120Gb solid state drive. Naturally, I backed up documents on my computer that I planned on keeping, wiped my HDDs, and installed windows on my Corsair SSD.
My computer runs horribly. My computer freezes up very frequently for around 15 seconds, programs stop responding for several seconds at a time, and quite often, the games that are installed on the SSD will crash before they fully load.
I've spent hours in BIOS trying to configure the SSD to run alongside my two existing HDDs but have made no progress.
I've reinstalled Windows 7 32 bit twice now to see if any Windows files were corrupted etc. It would seem they aren't. I've tried running the SSD alone without my HDDs connected, again, no luck. I've changed which SATA port the SSD is connected to several times over, no improvement. In BIOS I've tried switching the mode of my SATA ports to both IDE and AHCI. BIOS however won't let me switch just one SATA port to AHCI, it either changes ports 1-4 or 5-6. Furthermore, when the SSDs SATA port is changed to AHCI, BIOS no longer detects ports 1-4. I don't know whether or not that is supposed to happen, considering I don't know the difference between IDE and AHCI. I just read AHCI is recommended with SSDs.

I believe I've got all the necessary drivers for my other hardware.

I recently heard that I need to enable ACHI before installing windows on my SSD. Can anyone confirm or deny? And does it make that big of a difference?

Any other information I'm more than happy to provide, if anyone knows a solution I'd be incredibly grateful.

Thankyou

Last edited by ZiggyStar; 01-02-2013 at 02:11 AM.
Reply With Quote


  #2  
Old 01-02-2013, 07:22 AM
Toasted Toasted is offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Apr 2011
Posts: 19,342
POST ID # = 622937
Toasted Toasted Reputation: 124
Default

Secure erase the SSD with Parted Magic and enable AHCI in the BIOS. Then install Windows and see if the computer still freezes.
Reply With Quote


  #3  
Old 01-08-2013, 10:55 AM
philiglass philiglass is offline
Registered User
philiglass's PC Specs
 
Join Date: Jan 2013
Posts: 1
POST ID # = 624524
philiglass Reputation: 10
Default

I have the same problem....
Reply With Quote


  #4  
Old 01-08-2013, 05:46 PM
RAM GUY's Avatar
RAM GUY RAM GUY is offline
Corsair Product Guru
 
Join Date: Apr 2001
Location: Fremont, CA
Posts: 118,268
POST ID # = 624678
RAM GUY Reputation: 10
Default

I am sorry but please try the same steps
Please
Quote:
Originally Posted by Toasted View Post
Secure erase the SSD with Parted Magic and enable AHCI in the BIOS. Then install Windows and see if the computer still freezes.
__________________
Support accounts and tickets can be created at https://support.corsair.com.
Reply With Quote


Reply

Tags
freezing, neutron, problems, ssd, windows

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 08:43 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2019, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.