The Corsair User Forums

The Corsair User Forums (https://forum.corsair.com/forums/index.php)
-   Cases (https://forum.corsair.com/forums/forumdisplay.php?f=189)
-   -   1000d PCI extension cable (https://forum.corsair.com/forums/showthread.php?t=189753)

jrwininger 08-23-2019 11:37 PM

1000d PCI extension cable
 
I'm going to move my GPU to a vertical mount in my 1000d case. Any suggestions on which brand of extension cable to buy? And what length? 200mm?

Zotty 08-24-2019 01:48 AM

Hi buddy,,

I used the Corsair version my self.. but it is known to have issues on some z390 boards..

nice looking Riser!

http://i.imgur.com/s4CpqCnl.jpg

http://i.imgur.com/wm36bHFl.jpg

http://i.imgur.com/l49bMdJl.jpg

Vs the rest

http://i.imgur.com/kmJzxh8l.jpg

jrwininger 08-24-2019 02:17 AM

Quote:

Originally Posted by Zotty (Post 1015540)
Hi buddy,,

I used the Corsair version my self.. but it is known to have issues on some z390 boards..

Thanks for the info. I'm looking at the Thermaltake premium 300mm (which looks like the Corsair version). Has anyone used it (or something similar) with a Z390 motherboard? I have an Asus XI Code Z390.

c-attack 08-25-2019 09:51 AM

I think we know the Corsair (original) version is not a good fit for your board. I also think it has been removed and a 2nd version is coming soon. Can't say on the TT version. Best thing to do is comb through user reviews to find out if someone is successfully using it for your board. I can add the Lian Li version did not work with my Formula XI and I suspect your Code XI would be exactly the same. The Phanteks one does run 3x16 without dropping power like so many others.

jrwininger 08-27-2019 01:26 AM

Looks like the Phanteks riser may work with z390 boards. It’s 220 mm in length. Is that long enough for the 1000d case?

Zotty 08-27-2019 03:21 AM

Quote:

Originally Posted by jrwininger (Post 1015809)
Looks like the Phanteks riser may work with z390 boards. Itís 220 mm in length. Is that long enough for the 1000d case?

Yes that will fit dude.. i used a 200mm Coolermaster riser originally. as seen in the above pictures i posted....

Jeff721 08-28-2019 12:09 AM

Good day all,

I just purchased a Obsidian 1000D case and I would like to know if anyone ever used a dual graphic cards in SLI config with PCIe extensions?

Right now, both my GPUs are connected directly on my MB and when looking at the current distance between my GPUs when connected with the SLI Bridge, I don't think it is possible to rotate them and connect them with the SLI bridge in the small place provided inside the case to secure (screw) the 2 GPUs.

I'm not sure I could rotate only one GPU and keep the main one on the MB? With the GPU fans and heat sinks, I think the physical space just won't allow it! And my SLI bridge does not bend too! LoL!

I'm asking these questions because I plan to move to water cooling at some point and with the nice Corsair GPU water cooled heat sinks, I would really love to see at least one of my GPU facing the glass to be able to see the nice RGB and the liquid flow...


Any help would be much appreciated!

Zotty 08-28-2019 02:55 AM

Hi bud.. yet to see anyone mount 2 GPUs Vert in the 1000d.. don't think you have the room for it on the Vert PCI mount

Jeff721 08-28-2019 11:38 PM

Quote:

Originally Posted by Zotty (Post 1015912)
Hi bud.. yet to see anyone mount 2 GPUs Vert in the 1000d.. don't think you have the room for it on the Vert PCI mount

That's what I thought too... I think it is physically possible to mount 2 GPUs on the vertical mount but I think the GPU closer to the MB may get stuck in some of the MB components.

I may try to go with one horizontal and one vertical but I'm not too sure if a SLI bridge that will allow me to do this kind of configuration does exist?!?

jrwininger 08-30-2019 01:26 AM

Quote:

Originally Posted by Zotty (Post 1015540)
Hi buddy,,

I used the Corsair version my self.. but it is known to have issues on some z390 boards..

nice looking Riser!

http://i.imgur.com/s4CpqCnl.jpg

http://i.imgur.com/wm36bHFl.jpg

http://i.imgur.com/l49bMdJl.jpg

Vs the rest

http://i.imgur.com/kmJzxh8l.jpg

For heavier cards, should some sort of support bracket be installed?

Zotty 08-30-2019 02:54 AM

yet to see any one need a bracket in the 1000d buddy

jrwininger 08-30-2019 09:32 AM

Quote:

Originally Posted by Zotty (Post 1016113)
yet to see any one need a bracket in the 1000d buddy

So there are no issues with cards like the evga FTW3 sagging on the end?

Zone55555 08-30-2019 11:00 AM

I can't vouch for an FTW3 but my AORUS doesn't sag.

Zotty 08-30-2019 02:21 PM

i think due to it being mounted on its side it tends not to sag as it has a lot more support purely because its on its side.... if that makes sense.

jrwininger 08-30-2019 11:42 PM

Quote:

Originally Posted by Zone55555 (Post 1016162)
I can't vouch for an FTW3 but my AORUS doesn't sag.

What's the length on your GPU? After all this, I'm not sure the FTW3 will fit...it may be too long for a vertical mount.


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 04:00 AM.

Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2019, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.