Corsair Community

HX650W 5-pin modular PSU connectors

Bambleweeny57

I just purchased a used HX650W from Amazon Marketplace and 5 of the 7 supplied SATA/MOLEX cables were for different Corsair PSU's.

Only two had the straight 5 pin PSU connector required. The others had versions of the 6 pin PCI-e "like" connector.

As the 6 pin PCI-E outputs on the HX650W only supply 12v and were not supposed to connect to the Molex and SATA cables,

as these do, these cables provide either no function, partial function or worst, WRONG VOLTAGES to the SATA connectors!!!

So my question is this,...

does anybody know the part number (or a supplier) of the straight 5-pin plugs used on these modular PSU's?

I'm an Engineer an can rebuild the incorrect ones I have,... IF I CAN FIND THE 5 PIN PLUG!

Any input much appreciated.

• Corsair Employee

Well There is not a lot we can do about Ebay except suggest that you only purchase from an authorized reseller and EBAY is NOT Authorized.

However many of the cables can be purchased from our web store under PSU Parts

HX Series SATA peripheral cable with 3 connectors compatible with HX450, HX520, HX620 and HX650.

HX Series PCI-E peripheral cable with 2 connectors compatible with HX450, HX520, HX620 and HX650.

HX Series Molex peripheral cable with 4 connectors compatible with HX450, HX520, HX620 and HX650

Well There is not a lot we can do about Ebay except suggest that you only purchase from an authorized reseller and EBAY is NOT Authorized.

I know, I was just adding my experience as a warning of the dangers of buying used,....

especially seeing as the wrong cables could actually damage your equipment.

I must say however,...

Corsair's choice (for some of their product line) to use PCI-E plugs on the PSU end for distributing not only 12v

BUT 5v AND 3.3v to SATA and MOLEX cables is a very very stupid decision.

Users with multiple Corsair PSU's could EASILY MIX the cables up and end up sending 12v to a 3.3v SATA device,