Corsair Community

500r top fan mount?

supermanava

I have a set of Cooler Master 120mm Fans for the top of my 500r. I just can't figure out how I am supposed to mount them?

I see the rubber standoffs on the top that correspond to the 120mm fan, and I have these long fan screws... but they wont hold the fan in place, and they're not long enough to use some kind of nut on.

How are these supposed to be mounted?

Link to the fans I'm using: http://www.amazon.com/Cooler-Master-120mm-Silent-Value/dp/B000O8I474

Use the screws that came with the fan. The long screws that came with the case are for mounting fans to the hdd cages.

I have the exact same fans btw. I took out the lower cage for better airflow and then mounted one of the fans to the top hdd cage so it blows right on my video card. then I mounted one on the bottom next to the psu, and the other 2 up top as exhaust. I also used the the rear fan as the 2nd fan for push/pull on my h50.

That set of 4 is a super quick and easy way to fill up the case with fans. I do plan on replacing the top 2 with a set of af140's soon though as those 120s don't push a ton of air, but they are quite.

Some pics so you can see how i set them up.

http://i54.photobucket.com/albums/g97/xupthree60/IMAG0272-1.jpg

Just use the chrome screws that came with the fans.

http://i54.photobucket.com/albums/g97/xupthree60/IMAG0273.jpg

Make sure to think about how to rotate the fans so the cables line up when you mount them.

http://i54.photobucket.com/albums/g97/xupthree60/IMAG0274.jpg