Corsair Community

Is this possible??

Manticore-X

Hey, I just bought a hydrocool for a comp im building. Im new to water cooled systems so my plan was to have both an Athlon 64 FX-53 and a BFG GeForce 6800 Ultra OC with a waterblock both hooked up to it. After reading more im having doubts if this is possible. Will it be? or will i need to just put the watercooler on the GPU and leave the CPU cooled by air? If this is possible can you please tell me how. Thanks

The Hydrocool is rated to remove 200 watts of heat. The Athlon 64-FX chips are right around 100 watts with the 6800 putting out 110. That’s a little over 200 watts when they are both at full throttle. You will be pushing the limits of Hydrocool when you use the combination. My previous combination of the Hydrocool with a 2.6C @ 3.64 ghz in combination with a NB and GPU block on an ATI 9800 XT oc’d had no problems. However when I swapped to a 2.8E Prescott @ 3.5 my CPU temps were a bit high under full load @ 45C. The Hydrocool should have no problem cooling both your CPU and GPU but your temps might not be that low.

So, would it be wise to put it directly on the GPU(this is more important to me than the processor) and just use a heatsink and fans with the processor? Or should i try it on both. I could always switch it just to the GPU if I first set it up with both right? Also how would I set this up? Would i put it with Y tubing or w/e or would i set them in a line? Thanks a lot for responding SpDFre@k