Corsair Community

CM3X2048-1333C9DHX and Asus P5E3 WS Pro

netmagus

For some time now I have had infrequent intermittent issues where my system would just freeze with static noise and I would have to hit the reset button. Since it didn’t happen a lot I didn’t pay as much attention to it as I should have but I would say it has been going on for over a year. Up until recently I hadn’t made any Hardware changes. The problem originally started when I was running Vista but continues with the same symptom with a fresh install of Win7. While it did seem to happen more while in games it also happened occasionally when I was just sitting at the desktop sometimes with nothing actively running. I started having more issues with it lately when I started playing C&C Tiberian Alliances. Something about this game seemed to make it worse. A little over a week ago I upgraded my video card from a Nvidia 275 to a Radeon 7870. That increased the issue frequency as well. In addition to the humming crashes I also would get a BSOD with the Radeon card but since it was still that same humming crash I think the card was fine it just aggravated whatever the issue is. It was so bad I couldn’t go for more than an hour without it crashing just sitting at the desktop. I run CPUID hardware monitor and everything seems to be okay with my temps so I don't think that is the issue. I have downloaded memtest86 and that has not found any problems. One interesting thing I found with memtest is if I let it go for more than one pass it still runs but the program becomes non responsive and I have to either reset or power cycle the system. Not sure if that is related or not. Once I started having issues I started manually hard coding some of the memory and voltage settings in the BIOS. I also found that one of my Seagate drives needed a firmware update so I took care of that also. I removed the radeon drivers then ran a driver cleaner to remove all files for both nvidia and radeon. Then reinstalled the Ra