Corsair Community

CMX12GX3M3A2000C9 bios settings for GA-X58A-UD5 (Rev 2.0)

Bubbachubbs

Hi there,

Firstly I have no experience setting RAM profiles up in the BIOS previously but I am intelligent enough to be able to follow clear instructions.

I am purchasing a 12gb kit of CMX12GX3M3A2000C9 for my computer I was wondering which BIOS settings (manual settings) to use for a Gigabyte GA-X58A_UD5 (Rev 2.0) with an Intel i7 980X CPU?

I am not overclocking I just want stock stable settings I don't want to use the XMP profile1 as I have never had any luck with XMP settings in the past.

Is it true that X58's with 9XX chips are only designed to run RAM at 1066mhz?

Kind regards,

Bubba

All you should have tro do is load set up defaults and enable XMP in your BIOS. That should set them for you.With large capacity kits you may have to add QPI voltage

Just keep in mind that 2000mhz memory is an awful large overclock for your CPU and it may not be able to actually run at rated specs. X58 chipsets sweet spot seems to be around 1600mhz .

Firstly thank you for the reply it is appreciated

I didn't want to run it at 2000mhz as I've had problems with system instability in the past with XMP profile1 setting the RAM SPD to 1866mhz (2 kits of Corsair TR3X6G1866C9DF 6GB 3x2GB) DDR3 was used total 12Gb) I didn't OC the CPU so that may have been the problem.

I thought because the 12gb kit of CMX12GX3M3A2000C9 is only made up of three sticks it would be less load on the memory bus regardless of density so do you think the QPI voltage would still need a tweak?

You were saying 1600mhz is the sweet spot if so what speed (1600mhz), timings, voltage, 2T or 1T would be safe to start with (I want to set the RAM up manually in the BIOS and not use XMP profiles) I don't have to run it at 2000mhz right? so the timings printed on the RAM would be different if I run it at 1600mhz? any help is appreciated.

Kind regards,

Bubbachubbs