Corsair Community

Force 3 120 GB issue

YorkshireGuy

Hello, first off I've been reading these forums for a while now (sorry) and just want to say thanks to all you folks posting help and info I wouldn't have had a clue where to start if not for the methods posted in a easy to understand way here.

I am a complete novice at troubleshooting but I believe I've made some good head way in narrowing down the problem and am just looking for some guidance from people with a far greater knowledge than me about these things (pretty much everyone!)

Problem History

I began having constant system freezes at a rate of around 1 a day after obtaining the drive at the end of October using the 1.3.2 firmware that came with the device. The frequency of these freezes (by freezes I mean the system locks up, powers down my mouse and keyboard and requires a physical restart) increased and was accompanied by hangs which would garble sound before returning to normal.

An important thing to note is that I do not seem to experience BSODs just complete freezes that lock the system

What I've done about it myself so far

I didn't want to start an RMA anywhere until I was sure what the problem was that would be just taking the lazy easy route and knowledge is power after all! So I began reading through the helpful guides here and going through the steps.

Action: I installed the 1.3.3 firmware

Result: System stability improved for a few hours before beginning to freeze again

Action: I SecureErased the drive using PM as instructed here and performed a full clean install of Windows 7 64-bit. I removed the old boot from msconfig.

Result: Again I noticed improved stability for several hours before crashing resumed.

Action: As this is a new build (I've only done a few) I performed the memtest86+ and left it running to get a good sample of 7 passes (instead of just quitting after 1 like you warn about!)

Result: 0 errors were found which I assume means my RAM is all well.

Where I'm at now