Corsair Community

What is wrong with Corsair lately? 3 dead SSDs out of 3!

docholliday

For the last 10 or so years, I have used nothing but Corsair RAM in all the servers, workstations, and laptops that I own/build/service. I mean about 100 servers, about 500 wkst and laptops. As a consultant and designer, I recommend (and purchased) nothing but Corsair RAM for my customers.

Earlier this year, I put 16GB of RAM in a server, which started to BSOD randomnly...shove the DIMMs into a RAM validator and 2 of the 4 sticks show up as having bad blocks. Return them to the supplier and they replace it (luckily - no delay). Had a set of RAM put into a half dozen workstations and ended up with weird problems (randomn BSODs and lockups). Tested them and found a few strange ones. Changed over to Micron DIMMs in some of those boxes (same specs!) and they've been purring smoothly since.

Then, in the last 2 months, I have purchased 3 F60 SSDs for a set of production laptops. Fujitsu T4220s and Thinkpads. First one dies after 1 week, and gets exchanged by supplier. Second one dies about 1 month after install. Exchanged by supplier. Then, about a week ago, the third one dies but outside of the time period the supplier will do direct exchange. And, to be sure, I ordered from different suppliers to be sure it wasn't a "bad batch".

All three drives exhibited the same problem - working fine until the unit was shutdown. When the user went to restart the unit later, no BIOS detect. No detection on about a dozen other varied boxes, from servers to wksts to other laptops. About every controller that you can imagine from Intel to Adaptec to ATTO.

So now, I'm going to have to RMA - and have a useless laptop until it gets back (did I mention that these are PRODUCTION units?). The worse part - it's my personal unit, which I use on a daily basis.