Corsair Community

Experiencing slow read/write in Raid 0 (Force GT)

knaim

Hello guys, I'm fairly new to the corsair forums, but not to the computer world! I'm actually very old school, however, I'm not perfect or know everything. I love computers and hardware when they are suppose to work right! (Just a little intro).

Anyway, I recently plugged in 2 x Force GT 120GB into my EVGA 780i motherboard, which only supports SATA II;I understand, in that case, I won't see blazing read/write speeds with seeing that it's SATA II (3.0GB/s), NOT SATA III (6.0GB/s), so I figured I'd run a few tests with a few utility software (crystaldisk, ATTO, HD Tune, AS SSD Benchmark) to see the difference from 1 x Force GT to 2 x in RAID 0 on SATA II (3.0GB/s) ports.

http://i8.photobucket.com/albums/a48/karim21/a03f6978.png

These tests were taken last night, right after all of the Windows updates and such.

With 1 x Force GT 120GB SSD running last week, on a SATA II port on my 780i and I was averaging 215MB/s or so, but nothing below 200MB/s, and write at about 191MB/s; Now, that seems pretty normal and good, doesn't it? Ok...From there, I figured heck, with RAID 0 I'd be getting almost double, but definitely better performance.

Now with 2 x Force GT 120GB SSD's on Raid 0, I'm averaging what you see in the picture above, and the scores are even lower with HD Tune. I don't rely on all utility software though. Sometimes I can feel the better performance, but with SSD drives, I would also like to see the numbers.

Am I missing something here? I was pretty smooth and to the point going through RAID 0 and reformatting. Aren't the scores suppose to be exceptionally higher when you're in RAID 0, or what? I might as well use 1 x SSD drive then. What's the point of spending more money on 2 SSD's when you won't see a positive marginal difference? I figured RAID 0 would show some exciting statistics, even on SATA II, but apparently not.