Corsair Community

New Corsair SSD incoming - a little help, please

rsomazzi

I've been building boxes for many years, so I am not new to PC hardware. What I do find a little daunting is after reading about all the topics here about SSDs, I am a little concerned about setting sail properly on my incoming Force 3 series Corsair 90GB SSD (hasn't arrived yet).

I have an older Kingston 64GB SSDNow drive as secondary to a regular SATA WD boot drive (640GB) and was hoping to make this Kingston SSD the boot drive once the Corsair one arrives. The Corsair drive I plan on using for the most used apps - Adobe, Games, etc, and the SATA WD drive for all other apps.

After reading about AHCI in the BIOS and AHCI driver in W7, TRIM, Secure Erase, firmware updates, Hibernate, BSODs and other junk, I am feeling a little lost as to my first steps once the drive arrives.

Could someone give me a quick list of sh--tuff I should do to make sure my install goes properly, with the full potential from SATA III? Yes, you can assume I know how to physically mount the drive w/ SATA III cable and port on my mobo.

Much thanks...

rsom

ASRock Extreme3 Gen3 mobo

Core i5-2500k @ 4 Ghz

Sapphire Radeon HD 6970 (single)

16GB G.Skill Ripjaws DDR3 1600

Corsair HX850 modular p/s

- Make sure to connect your SSD to the very first Intel SATA3 port (gray, SATA3_0)

- Set SATA controller to AHCI mode in BIOS

- Install Windows 7 into unpartitioned space (Windows will perform quick format, never perform full format)

That's it, TRIM will be enabled by default. I would recommend to move TEMP and Internet Temp files to a mechanical HDD. Pagefile (if you need it) can be left to the SSD.

If you are using an old system atm, I would recommend to plug the SSD as secondary drive and check the firmware version. Upgrade to 1.3.3 if needed and perform a SecureErase with PartedMagic afterwards. Then plug it into your new build.

Thanks for the tips.