Corsair Community

Windows 7 64 bit Slow Loading

the_dutchable

Hi,

I am new to this and I will appologize in forhand for the questions. I believe it is best to ask too many questions than none at all.

I have just purchased a Corsair Force GT 120GB SSD. Once I received it I cloned it from my original HDD and replaced it for the cloned one in my laptop. The laptop is a Dell Vostro 3350 has 8 GB of RAM and an Intel i5 2nd gen.

After this I tweaked windows as in previous posts mentioned, resized the paging file to min 1000 and max 2000, created a RAMDrive of 1048 MB using Dataram Ramdisk and moved the TEMP and TMP folders to it for the user variables as well as the system variables, moved the IE Cache as well as the Firefox cache to this drive too.

My first few questions are in regards to tweaks:

- Would these still be needed for SSD drives? Taking into account the develpment of the SSD's over the years and potential windows adaptabillity (probably none :biggrin:).

- Is using a Ramdrive for this a good option?Is the size big enough?

- What other tweaks would be advisable? Please note this is a work laptop and is tuned on and used for about 12 hours a day, mainly using remote desktop connection to the work server and a lot of excel work.

Second lot of questions are in regards to the fact that Windows takes a fair bit of time to load after I pressed Ctrl + Alt + Delete and entered my user and password. I do not see a difference between the SSD and the HDD.

- Are there any tweaks that can resolve this?

Thanks,

the_dutchable

Hi,

first of all I would not recommend to clone a HDD to SSD. This could result in slow Windows load performance or other issues. When you do a clean installation of Windows 7 it recognizes the SSD and makes the appropriate settings (e.g. cluster alignment). I would recommend you to do the following:

- SecureErase your SSD with PartedMagic

- Do a clean Win 7 installation