Corsair Community

CMX4GX3M2A1600C9 and Asus P7P55D Deluxe - Only 4 GB usable

dimijim

I have "inherited" a 2-yr old system with 8gb (2 sets of 4gb)(see my specs) and noticed that although all 8gb are recognized by OS,4 are "hardware reserved".

Checking the mobo manual, it states that it supports only 1 DIMMs 1600 per channel.

However, checking the "Learn & Explore" section of Corsair's site, its top compatible choice is the 16gb upgrade CMX16GX3M4A1600C9 (4 x 4gb).

Doesn't that fly in the face of Asus's capability? If not, why would that work?

Is there any way I can make my current DIMMs work at the full 8gb?

Should I presume that a DDR3 - 1333 would work fine?

(I'm new to this, so pardon my basic questions!)

Thanks

Thanks for prompt response. OK, I guess my current memory is a 'sunk cost'. And I take your point: to upgrade, I'll get a new set.

Now, if I stay at 8 gb, will the DDR3-1333 work properly - e.g. CMV8GX3M2A1333C9 (2 x 4gb) (my most probable choice, to start with.)? Similarly, for 16gb upgrade, CMX16GX3M4A1333C9 (4 x 4gb)?

In other words, would the 1333 max speed overcome the 1 DIMM/channel limitation of the 1600 on this mobo?

Thanks again.

"noticed that although all 8gb are recognized by OS,4 are "hardware reserved". Is the memory remapping function enabled in your BIOS? To get some of that 4GB back this feature in the BIOS needs to be enabled so Windows can remap part of that reserve. It is under the advanced tab, then "Northbridge Chipset Configuration" Page 3-21 in your motherboard's manual:

http://www.asus.com/Motherboards/Intel_Socket_1156/P7P55D_Deluxe/#download

Relevant FYI link (skip the part about agp aperture size, only applies to systems using AGP video cards):

http://support.microsoft.com/kb/978610

If memory remapping is enabled already, then you may have a mismatched RAM kit problem. Sometimes just swapping the kits to each others channel solves it.

Thanks for response, Garvin.