Corsair Community

Force 3 120 GB - firmware level and System Mechanic Pro

Cypher871

Hi all, I have been holding off asking this in the hope of finding the information in a sticky somewhere but not having much luck.

I am totally new to SSD's, however, I installed a 120GB Force3 in my system and have been running it without issues for the past week or so.

I have Iolo's Sytem Mechanic Pro and have been using it for years with regular HDD's. They recently introduced a SSD optimization feature within the software but it fails to detect my SSD.

http://i227.photobucket.com/albums/dd132/andycoe871/smp.jpg

It does mention upgrading the drives firmware for compatability, however, this is where I am stuck.

Can anyone advise how I determine the current level of firmware. I have seen various stickies with links for the new firmware but I haven't delved into them yet.

Any help and advice to a new guy would be most welcomed.

Cy

To find what firmware your SSD is just download the firmware update package and run the SSD updater. This will tell you the firmware your SSD is running on.

Instead of System mecanic for optimization don't use it. It may only enable and disable a few settings on Windows. Not actually optimizing the SSD.

If you think yo have performance issues run ATTO.

Thanks for the advice guys.

Toasted, these are the results of my scan

http://i227.photobucket.com/albums/dd132/andycoe871/ssdresults.jpg

I am new to benchmarking drives so I don't know if the results are good, bad , or expected.

It is connected to my Asus X58 Sabertooth motherboard using the Marvell Sata 6Gb connector.

I assume that the higher the transfer rate the better.