Corsair Community

Loyal VX450W user seeking suitable replacement PSU

mikeymike

I've been building PCs with Corsair VX450W PSUs for a few years, and have been completely happy with the results. No RMAs, they're quiet, and no other issues to speak of.

However, since the VX450W has been discontinued, I've been a bit stuck for finding a decent replacement.

I tried the CX430, but out of 5, 4 have given me problems (three with an intermittent S3 standby issue, one with a screeching fan). I tried a competitor's PSU, which was completely satisfactory, but there's a question mark over whether it's going to be discontinued. I also tried the GS600 and TX650V2, but compared to the VX450W they're significantly more noisy. I have a new PC build with a TX650V2, I'm sitting just over a metre away from it and right next to my PC (same spec except with a better processor and a graphics card), and I can't hear my PC running because the TX650V2 is drowning it out. Neither the GS600 or the TX650V2 are making unhealthy sounds, just very noisy, the sort of level I would expect a rock-bottom PSU for a third of the price to make.

I don't mind paying about £60 to get a nice (quiet, reliable, 3 - 5 yr warranty) PSU, I used to pay about £55 for the VX450W, but I am somewhat disappointed by the GS600 and TX650V2. I have ran each on their own with a PSU tester, and it's definitely the PSUs that are the source of the noise.

Average PC spec that I'm building:

AMD Athlon II X2 250

ASUS M4A89GTD PRO/USB3

4GB DDR3-1333

500GB Seagate SATA HD

LiteON DVDRW SATA

Win7 HP 64.

I want a PSU that will handle a high-end AMD processor for this board (which apparently can handle AM3+ CPUs too), a nice graphics card, and say an extra hard disk.

Any suggestions would be much appreciated.

• Corsair Employees

I am sorry about the long time to reply, but you are asking for a different model of PSU that is more quiet correct?

And have you looked up your configuration on our PSU configurator?