Corsair Community

SP2500 no mid-range and crackling plug

MaDMaXX

So all the reviews suggest great mid range etc etc, but i'm having great trouble with most music and games especially. Highs are great and clear, the bass is, well, thumpy, not much there, it either sounds separate and too much or not there at all (due to trying to turn it down to stop it sounding too much)

I have to twist the sound cable (plugged into the sound card) round to stop the sound crackling.

Any ideas, i can't believe this is premium audio, my old Altec basic speakers had more mid range.

• Corsair Employees
Yes actually I do our speakers have a ton of mids; where they lack like most computer speakers in in the upper Mid area. However, they are better than any other computer speakers I have heard and for reference I am a musician and have access to all kinds of speakers and use a set of Mackie Studio monitors and Subs for my stereo which also connected to my computer, What can I say I like my Ted Nugent and A/C D/C Turned up and before we released these speakers my opinion was given to the PM based on this configuration as a reference. So I really think its either a setting on your side or the cables and since we know there is a cable issue lets try that first

Ok thanks, I submitted an RNA for the cables, have you had this kind of problem with cables before?

Thanks for the replies, I don't believe its a setting as I used to work on sfx before I had to give up nicer speakers a year ago. Looking forward to a rich sound, I'm wondering if its a bass box problem? Can this be tested using late night mode?

I've not had any response back re the RMA yet, also not had an email with the number in it.

Tried speakers again last night, other than cutting off the bass box, late nigh mode didn't make much difference.

The speakers sometimes sound ok and at other times severely miss the mid part of the sound out, leaving the bass sounding odd and over done, playing bass it shouldn't.