Corsair Community

Force3 SSD Drive Prep

tambor198

I'm still new to what's going on when it comes to SSDs. My replacement Force3 120 Gb arrives sometime today and when it does I want to install Win 7 on it ASAP. Other than setting the AHCI in the Bios and making sure that Trim support is on in Windows is there anything else that I need to do? Is it necessary to format the drive, and if so what does one use to do that?

Any help or suggestions would be greatly appreciated. :D:

One thing more I should mention is that I'm using a Asus Rampage III Formula which has the Marvell Contoller. I've been reading in some of the threads in the forums that this causing problems. Should I have any concerns?

Try the install first and if you have issues, we'll be happy to assist you.

Set the controller mode to AHCI in the BIOS.

At the page for drive options at the beginning of your OS install, load the correct Marvell driver for your controller. Make sure it is the most recent version.

Do NOT format the drive manually, let WIN 7 format it.

Try the install first and if you have issues, we'll be happy to assist you.

Set the controller mode to AHCI in the BIOS.

At the page for drive options at the beginning of your OS install, load the correct Marvell driver for your controller. Make sure it is the most recent version.

Do NOT format the drive manually, let WIN 7 format it.

Thanks, YB. Appreciate it. :D:

On Asus's website they list Intel Matrix Storage Manager Driver V8.9.7.1001 as the latest version for the Marvel Controller on my motherboard.

Will the Intel Matrix Storage Manager Driver suffice?

That would be for the ICH10R chipset, the "Marvell 9128 Controller Driver V1.0.0.1034 for 32/64bit Windows XP & Windows Vista & Windows 7.(WHQL)" that is listed is the driver for your Marvell controller.

http://usa.asus.com/Motherboards/Intel_Socket_1366/Rampage_III_Formula/#download