Corsair Community

Seemingly random BSOD's. Inconsistent memtest

Cybbe

Hello, let me first introduce myself, my background and my current system.

I'm a software bachelor student, with a fair amount of experience in overclocking and assembly of computers. I honestly don't remember the last time I bought a pre-assembled one. I think I started taking apart and reassembling my own computers when I was 12. I've gone through a lot of stuff, and generally know my way around computers.

My current system is a less than a month old i5-2400, running on an ASRock P67 Pro3 SE, powered by a fairly old 550w ######## NeoHE PSU.

I have a Radeon HD5850 video card. I have two harddrives currently (500gb and 2tb Seagate drives, Sata 2 and 3 respectively), and no optical drive.

The ram in question are 2x2gb XMS3 1600mhz ram, specced at timings 9-9-9-24 (1T, I think), at 1.65v.

That is, CMX4GX3M2A1600C9.

I have done no overclocking whatsoever on this system (Like I'd even be able to with that processor).

I'm using Win7 64bit, running on the Sata 2 drive, which is also plugged into a Sata 2 controller.

The system started off as stable, but a few weeks in, I'd get random notifications of applications that have stopped responding. After about 3-4 of those from random programs, I'd get a bluescreen, with no real definitive driver as cause. I've gotten about 50 different ones by now, so I don't remember them honestly. But I suspect my event log can help me on that matter if it comes down to it. Entertain my story for now though.

I first feared it was a harddrive issue, so I performed diagnostics on it using seagates tools, as well as windiag, with no issues reported at all. I was at that time still able to boot and run for a while before BSOD'ing again, so I proceeded to update all drivers, including mobo drivers, and purged all suspicious applications I had installed over the last few days. I even suspected ReadyBoost, and disabled it.