Corsair Community

Complete Newbie could do with some advice

leekey

Hello,

Please bear with me I am a complete newbie to SSD drives and could do with some advice.

Currently I am running a quad core cpu 8 gig ram with a 250gig WD blue which is for the OS which is windows 2003 server x64 as a web server with IIS and a 500gig WD black as the "data" drive.

IIS runs some cgi applications that reads data from databases on the "data" drive.

After reading lots about the benefits of SSD drives for read/write speed I thought that it might be a good idea to upgrade the "data" drive to a SSD drive. I have actually purchased 2x 256gig extreme drives (as i wanted to do the same on another server with same setup later).

I installed the SSD drive in to the server and let windows disk management initialize, partition and quick format the new SSD drive. All OK I can see and use the drive.

I copied the data over to the SSD drive and run the application that searches data from the databases and noticed about a 5 second increase in speed with the data being on the SSD drive.

To be honest I was not impressed as I was expecting a lot quicker results returned.

On further investigation I have been looking around and found this forum. I have been through all the posts and have picked up some usefull hints but I could do with a little more explination on how to get the best out of my 2003 server running IIS to see lighting fast results when my cgi applicaiton is run to search the data on the SSD drive.

Am I right in assuming that I would be better of using AHCI as currently the bios is set to IDE? If this is the case I assume I need to re-install the OS which is not too much of a problem. If this is the case would I still use the 250gig WD for the OS and the SSD for the data or would I be better off installing the OS on to the SSD and partioning the drive so I have the OS and the data on the same SSD drive?