Corsair Community

3xR60 RAID Strip = 64K Test results..about to rebuild with 128K strip size

turbobb

Hi all,

I just built a a brand new system and put alot of time and money into it and I am bit concerned about the performance of the SSD I have. I am new to the SSD and was wondering if these are living up to expectations.

After spending weeks researching computer parts Corsair were comming out on top for case, PSU memory etc so i went with corsair SSD thinking they would be very good. So far alls well until I tried testing the SSD R60 in RAID 0 and to be honest i was expecting bit more. I then found this forum and I am hoping you guys can help me. Attached are my results based on the above stock system i.e. no overclocking done yet. I plan to overclock the CPU / Memory etc but before i did that i wanted to baseline the SSD / CPU / Video card etc. I then notice Product Guru recomend use strip size 128K and QUICK Format select 32k Allocation, when I built the windows 7 i dont recall the option to format as 32K, i just rememeber a format button. I will watch out for the 32K option format on next build. I now plan to rebuild the system again with windows 7 64 bit with a strip size of 128K and 32K quick format in the hope of better results.

these SSD are only 3 days old, so if these results are not up to scratch I will be returning them. Can someone recommend an alternative? Attached are the results of the SSD based on the above system with strip 64K. When i redo the system with 128K strip I will repost the results again.

I also checked windows defrag schedule and the SSD's are not appearing there which is good. But I also read about prefetching in windows registry been disabled i.e. set to '0' and my registry is '3' not sure if this is correct for these SSD? Anyone know anything about the registry settings? or we just accept that nothing in the schedule of degrag is enough?

Any thoughts be great.

cheers

J.

ASSSD1.thumb.jpg.b87711b39ed61f326619145cc731712c.jpg